We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family Sea World hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #70 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great family Sea World hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here with our 3 younger children (6, 4, and 2) from June 1-5. The location of the hotel is great, very close to Sea World as well as lots of restaurants and convenience shopping. The hotel was very nice (I agree, the public areas were a little warm). The staff were all very friendly and helpful. They have a convenient shuttle that runs throughout the day to Sea World and will take you anywhere within a 5-mile radius of the hotel. The pools were nice, a small beach type kiddie pool, a lap pool and an activity type pool, all with lots of lounge chairs. They show a kid friendly movie outdoors every night and there are 3 fire pits to make s'mores around. They sell s'mores kits for $5 that includes 2 pks of graham crackers (4 crackers), 4 large marshmallows, and a hershey's bar. We ended up buying more s'mores supplies at the Dollar Tree. If you ask for their activity schedule, you can complete the word search for a free bag :) The breakfast was good (mainly bc we had free vouchers). Other than that, at $10 a person it wasn't really worth it. They put out fresh muffins and coffee out in front of the restaurant every morning that are complimentary. Since they aren't in the lobby they usually lasted a while. We grabbed a few one morning before heading out on the shuttle. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone doing a Sea World centered get away-great place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oktravelfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    378
    243
    166
    137
See reviews for
767
203
44
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was really a super find for a trip to Sea World. We could not have been more pleased with the experience here....especially given the price, which was lower than the other nearby properties by a good amount. We had a package that included breakfast (so $15 more for breakfast buffet for 2 adults/2kids) and the hotel had a shuttle to the park that was super reliable and saved us parking at Sea World. We were there a day of horrible rain at the park and they came and got us within 10 minutes of a call to the hotel.

Rooms are clean, beds were very comfortable, 2 pools--not particularly special but kids didn't care, they were just happy to swim. Add in smores and kids movies in the evening, kid-friendly newsletters...they really couldn't have done much more to make my kids (3 and 8) happier. Every one who we encountered at the hotel was also incredibly friendly and gave us wonderful service. If you are looking for a very family-friendly place to stay near Sea World, this is a great place. We didn't talk to one other guest during our 2 days there that wasn't equally satisfied.

The only thing that I can't rave about is the food....but it isn't bad. Just not upscale or fancy if that's what you want. Breakfast is comparable to the Hampton Inn breakfast buffet (except they offer a few more things at this Hilton) and dinner options looked overpriced for what they were, but there are so many restaurants within the area (mostly chains, which is disappointing, but it is what it is) and a giant HEB less than 2 miles away. So the food certainly wouldn't deter me from staying there and I'd absolutely do the breakfast again if it were part of a package. Oh and for a hotel, the bar is reasonably priced--$6 for a glass of wine...often I pay more than double at a hotel for a glass of wine at a property like a Hilton or Marriott.

In sum...if you are looking for a good deal for your family that will make your kids super happy and is close to Sea World...this is your place. I'd happily stay there again. I'd probably look elsewhere for something romantic or for a girls weekend unless swarms of kids is your thing, though (but then that's what the downtown hotels like Hotel Contessa and La Mansion del Rio are for...but that's a different review!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetheOcean16803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope< AL, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This entire facility was too hot to endure! The hallways, the lobby, the restaurant and my room was entirely too hot! TURN ON THE AC!!!!!The temperature in the lobby and restaurant had to be in excess of 85 degrees. It was too hot to enjoy a meal in the restaurant and it was so hot in the lobby, you wanted to rush through your business at the front desk and get out of there as fast as possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We check our public area tempertures 3 times per day and have the temperture set to 78 degrees. It may be possible that your room had an issue and I have sent you a private message so that I can look into the matter. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this Hilton and it was extremely close to SeaWorld! When we arrived, we were given sticks and marshmallows for my kids so that they could roast them on an outdoor fire. We dined in the restaurant at the hotel. Food was good but our waiter was missing most of the time. Ordered room service the next morning for breakfast and they forgot our coffee but brought it up a little later. Breakfast food was great! Otherwise, everything else was good!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo Heights, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a beautiful, urban hill country property tucked into the northwest quadrant of San Antonio within a stone's throw of Sea World. The staff were attentive from check-in to check-out, and our room was well-appointed, clean, comfortable, and spacious. Most importantly, the property management has dedicated no small amount of time and effort in cultivating a family-friendly setting with poolside kids' movies, smores and fire pits that serve as intimate gathering sites for family fun. Room service was prompt and courteous, as were the restaurant staff. We truly enjoyed the steaks and seafood at dinner, and sweated off the calories the next morning in the gym. I highly recommend this property for family or business-class travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkRS09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments! We work hard at providing an exceptional family experience, I'm so glan you noticed! Be sure to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I ended up staying here because I was attending a conference at the Hyatt and it was full. I'm glad I did. This was a good hotel with quick check-in and a staff that cares about providing good customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Right down the street from Sea World and the Hyatt Hill Country, the location is great for a family vacation.

The rooms at the hotel were very nice. The vent in the shower had some lint hanging out of it, but that was all. the rooms were clean and tidy after each service and the linens, towels and in room amenities were all very nice.

The service at the hotel shows that they want to check all of the boxes... smores, pools, kids movies etc, but the outdoor service just isn't there. The staff is very friendly and helpful, there just are not enough of them. Used towels lie all around the pool area and trash quickly fills the fire pits where on makes smores. The pools, well... they are just your regular pools. There is a kiddie pool, but the other two are nothing special.

The breakfast is what you would expect from a Hampton Inn, but at least it is free if you are HHonors. None of the food is over priced either, which is nice for a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMMMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Far West Side
Courtyard San Antonio SeaWorldR/Westover Hills
Far West Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lackland AFB/SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio Sea World
Far West Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Address: 9800 Westover Hills Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78251-4125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in one of San Antonio's premier communities, Hill Country Hotel & Spa is close to San Antonio attractions such as SeaWorld, Fiesta Texas, dining and golf.Take in the views of beautiful courtyards, indigenous plants and lush landscaping at the Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa. Appreciate a hotel that fosters a relaxed atmosphere featuring a massive flagstone fireplace and cozy sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Radisson San Antonio
Radisson Hill Country Resort
San Antonio Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing