We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool and room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel
Ranked #77 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice pool and room”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice pool area but service and amenities not up to standard of Marriott or Hyatt. Would prefer to pay more & stay at those places.
The room was clean and fresh but the corridor smelt really bad on our level.
The gym had broken equipment and dirty towels.
The pool towels were old and poor quality.
Food was ok.
Had to pay $5 per person for s'mores!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and I hope you had a great time. Our maintenance department will surely look into the issue in the hallway & gym and correct any problems that may exist. We do charge for s’mores and believe this to be a normal part of doing business. Many of our competitors charge a “Resort” fee of up to $35 per day for these “extras” – we do not. Thank you for being our guest and I hope you can see the great value that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    392
    256
    172
    150
See reviews for
814
211
46
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We frequently travel to San Antonio and usually we stay downtown, but this time we decided to stay at this hotel for 2 nights over spring break because they have heated pools. Since it had been fairly cold so far this spring, the heated pools were great. The kids were able to go swimming and I enjoyed the hot tub. They also have a small playground area(just a slide really), but right next to it was a basketball goal, which kept my son occupied. The spring break activities were great. In the evening, they set up a room with games and had someone who did face painting and crafts. They also had an outdoor movie, where you could sit fireside and roast Smores, as well as sit outside and enjoy a grilled meal for a very reasonable price.

The hotel itself is clean and comfortable. All the amenities you would expect at a Hilton. The spa had a sauna and steamroom available free to guests. I would have liked to try one of the services, but time did not allow. They also offer a complimentary shuttle to Sea World, which came in handy. There are 2 restaurants on premises, but we did not try either. We did have the grilled fare from the poolside bar and it was very good, except for the baked potatoes which were very undercooked. They had come from the kitchen, not the grill, and it seemed that inside the staff was struggling to keep up with the spring break crowd. I heard several people complain of inadequate service. While it was busy and the staff was definitely overwhelmed with the crowd, we had no issues.

Overall this is a very nice hotel, and definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I decided to bring the family to a Hilton property based on the excellent track they have with me while traveling for business worldwide, however having to wait for more than one hour to be served the wrong food for dinner at their restaurant, having to wait for more than 45 minutes to be seated for breakfast and not being able to ever talk to a room service person... was not on my plan. Our next door neighboor decided to bring along a dog which would not stop barking until midnight despite my plea for help at the front desk... very disappointed! This hotel does not live to the Hilton standard I have come to appreciate all over the world. I'm not coming back to this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdekoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family & I stayed one night at this Hilton after a wonderful day at SeaWorld. I chose the hotel based on location and a misguided perception that it would provide a little more luxury than other nearby hotels (charging the same $$), but wound up disappointed. The room, although put together, was dirty. There was dust on the furniture and scraps of tissue on the bathroom floor. Only one of the two pools was heated, and the smoky smell from the fire pits in the courtyard permeated our room. The AC ran incessantly and loudly, and the tub had standing water at the bottom during our showers. Finally, our room service breakfast took close to an hour to get to our room, and not only did they fail to bring one of the items ordered, the other orders had missing or wrong items. We did get a discount on the breakfast upon checkout & retelling our tale. The location was definitely the best thing, but the rest of our stay will keep us from ever coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J. A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor, your remarks on areas where we could've done better are invaluable to our success as a hotel. I will be taking a closer look into these areas to ensure that these issues are dealt with. We will look forward to you return and for second opportunity to really wow you with our guest service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great place for the area. Not as nice amenities like pool and hiking as the nearby Hyatt but it is also 1/3 of the cost! Will def go back again for Seaworld. The evening smores by the fire was really nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Brian B, it was a pleasure to read how you enjoyed your stay here at the Hilton Hill Country Hotel & Spa! Thank you for your wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Although I only stayed for one night, the location was great and the property was impeccable. I made a reservation for a twin room and was given a complimentary upgrade to a one-bedroom suite. The room was extremely comfortable. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Armando A, thank you for taking the time to provide your kind comments regarding the Hilton Hill Country! We will definitely look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

After staying a couple of nights with no issues whatsoever, I left San Antonio and 4 days after I realized that I forgot a folder with important paperwork and documents in the safe box. I called the hotel and within minutes the manager Katie called me and I arranged to pick it up (I wasn't too far away gladly). She gave high priority to this and handled it super professionally.

Reconforting to see that things are done right when things go wrong. My special thanks to the staff in the hotel, specially Katie.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for you review on TripAdvisor, we love to hear about going above and beyond your expectations! I'm also happy to hear that we were able to return your items to you safe and sound. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 358 in San Antonio
1,932 reviews
Far West Side
Courtyard San Antonio SeaWorldR/Westover Hills
Far West Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio Sea World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel

Property: Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel
Address: 9800 Westover Hills Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78251-4125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the views of beautiful courtyards, indigenous plants and landscaping at the Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel. Relax at our hotel near SeaWorld, and enjoy the massive flagstone fireplace and cozy chairs. Conveniently located in one of San Antonio's premier communities, our Hill Country hotel is close to San Antonio attractions including Fiesta Texas, dining, and golf.Settle into a comfy room or suite with warm, Texas ranch-style decor. Find down-filled comforters, marble bathrooms, 32-inch LCD HDTVs and WiFi access. Suites feature rainforest showers and garden tubs with spa jets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Radisson San Antonio
Radisson Hill Country Resort
San Antonio Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing