We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #84 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I had stayed there one night a few months ago! It was very nice so we decided to take our daughter's family for a 3 day vacation. It is close to Sea World and to activities that we all wanted to do! I called ahead to ask for a room with a balcony that looks out over the pool. When we arrived and went to the room- the balcony had bird poop all over it so the grandkids or anyone could not even walk out there. Called the desk- they said they would move rooms. Which we did- then got a room overlooking the adjoining building roof. In laws were across the hall and they opened a bathroom drawer and found a water bottle that someone had been chewing and spit into. Housekeeping manager came up and was very rude- told us we couldn't move again!
Pool was so dirty we couldn't use it. They gave us one night free!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Booklady12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    385
    254
    172
    149
See reviews for
804
206
46
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent three nights in San Antonio. We spent one night by the Riverwalk and Alamo at the Hilton Homes2 Suites location (nice place, see separate review) and two nights at this location by Seaworld. I would be hard pressed to remember a better visit to any hotel I have ever stayed at.

We booked a suite. Unlike some hotels where the word "suite" is used loosely, our suite completely separated the living room/kitchenette area from the bedroom. The room was well maintained and clean. Our bathroom was roomy and contained two sinks, tub with jets, and separate shower.

There were plenty of outdoor activities to keep our family entertained. At night, a movie was projected onto a large screen outside. There was plenty of outdoor seating surrounding numerous fire pits. There were three pools (kiddie, lap, and family). There was a basketball court and playground equipment.

Many of the people who stay here probably due so because of the close proximity to Sea World (we could see the roller coaster from our window). The hotel provides complementary shuttle service back and forth to Seaworld and to nearby restaurants and stores.

We had breakfast each morning we were there. It included made to order omelets and all the usual items you would expect in a full breakfast. One morning when we arrived, the breakfast was not well stocked because a large group (hotel has convention/meeting facilities) had just finished up. The staff busted their butts to replenish the stock so this was a minor inconvenience.

We also had dinner one night in a different dining area. As always seems to be the case, hotel restaurant do not seem to have as good of a selection as other restaurants. We were all very pleased with our selections though. We were especially impressed with the hostess (the tall young lady) and the restaurant manager. They were each very personable.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely. Looking over the other reviews on TripAdvisor, it is hard for me to understand why everyone does not give this hotel five stars. Our experience was virtually perfect. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinnacle-project
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My family and I had reserved a 1 bedroom suite for the week. The hotel is very close to Seaworld which was very nice. I called the hotel while visiting the riverwalk and asked if our room would be ready and to inform the staff that we would be checking in a couple of hours after "check-in time".

Once we arrived at the hotel we found the room was not ready, (about 2 hours after check-in time). There was obviously something going on as there was another family who had been waiting for over an hour for their room and were asking the staff if they could at least get a room to change in so they could enjoy the pool while they waited. The husband was not pleased and was getting very vocal.

I was informed our room would be ready in about 15 minutes. In about 25 minutes the room was available and we went up to the room. The room size was nice but the floors were dirty, the bedding had a very large iron burn in the comforter, and the shower had a beetle in it along with the caulking was molded very bad and was in need of being redone.

My wife and I chose to leave the hotel and take our chances without reservations at another hotel nearby.

The staff was very nice and did allow us to cancel the room without being charged and seemed understanding of the situation.

The lobby is also very warm, both myself and the desk clerk were sweating while just standing still. The lobby also houses the restaurant/bar area so I could not imagine being able to enjoy myself in that room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Pros: friendly staff, nice room, fortunately our A/c worked great, close to sea world with a shuttle
Cons: dirty damp dishes daily at the breakfast buffett, a moldy english muffin on the breakfast buffett, the main pool was so cloudy I couldn't see the bottom so we swam in the hardly used lap pool instead, a clearly filthy dirty towel was included in our "fresh" towels (first noticed it was dingy, then noticed gross stuff dried on it). To top it off, we had to drag ourselves out of bed twice due to false fire alarms within our three night stay, the first night it was nearly 2Am and very rude awakening. The second time the lobby was full of other people complaining that it had happened 3-6 times during their stays. Apparently, there is an problem with the fire alarm system. The fire department didn't even respond the second time it while we have been here. Have to stay here one more night.ugggghh,
In the end, the pros do not outweigh the cons. I would not stay here again and I would not recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clute
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The air conditioning throughout the hotel did not work. It seemed like they either were very low staffed or just didn't care about their guests. The a/c in our room was minimal & when we told the hotel it was implied we might not know how to work the thermostat & they would send a technician to check it. Never saw a technician & it never worked properly. The toilet kept running after flushing and the fire alarm went off at 1:00 AM. As guests filled the lobby there was no apology or explanation. Asked for two extra pillows & had to call back 2 hours later & request again. After booking room & paying $472.00 in advance (non refundable) for 3 nights we had no choice but to stay there. My advice is to never prepay in advance!

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in room 219. It's right across from the ice machine, mechanical room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Free shuttle to Sea World. Great kids pool. S'mores and Cars 2 in the courtyard at night brings everyone outdoors to enjoy the warm San Antonio evenings with a nice breeze. They also have a grill outside with baked potato and corn on the cob until 11 pm. There is even a poolside bar for the adults. Ideal for families visiting Sea World or even San Antonio. The room is new. No mini bar but great for the price. Cisco was a helpful server. Bumpy start since our room wasn't ready at noon, but we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MathosJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te xas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The lobby and bar area of this hotel is as hot as a two dollar pistol. Turn on the air please. If your trying to save money on the bill your fixing to lose money by no guest.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jake-texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#18 of 355 in San Antonio
1,900 reviews
Far West Side
Courtyard San Antonio SeaWorldR/Westover Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lackland AFB/SeaWorld
Far West Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio Sea World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Address: 9800 Westover Hills Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78251-4125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in one of San Antonio's premier communities, Hill Country Hotel & Spa is close to San Antonio attractions such as SeaWorld, Fiesta Texas, dining and golf.Take in the views of beautiful courtyards, indigenous plants and lush landscaping at the Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa. Appreciate a hotel that fosters a relaxed atmosphere featuring a massive flagstone fireplace and cozy sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Radisson San Antonio
Radisson Hill Country Resort
San Antonio Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing