We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea World Nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel
Ranked #79 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Line to check-in was 45 min. with only one person working. No bell hop and no valet available. Sea World tickets were included in package but not available at check-in. The resort is supposed to be non-smoking but smelled of cigarette smoke. We were transferred to an alternate room but once again there was no bell hop service available. We were traveling with 2 children who were very disappointed that they did not get to Sea World on Friday night. While waiting in line for check-in the clerk took calls from other patrons who were requesting shuttle service to Sea World and were stranded. We transferred to the Hyatt where the rest of the trip was wonderful. Would not recommend the Hilton to anyone. This is not typical of the Hilton chain as they normally have excellent service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylS483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,615)
There are newer reviews for Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,366 - 1,372 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

Hilton hotel with a spa provided much needed pampering for a busy traveler. The hotel lounge around the bar in the lobby served guests both cocktails and dinner. On Tuesday nights, manicure services were made available to guests in lobby and lounge area. I was on need of a pedicure - and manicurist arranged for spa to stay open for me to get pedicure after closing 8 pm.

Room was good. Only one minor complaint - hotel front desk staff placed me in a room near ice machine & mechanics room and I could hear some noise in bathroom.

The great customer service from bar , restaurant and spa made up for some noise in bathroom!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel was very, very nice. The room was spacious, the bathroom was incredible and the staff was very friendly. The shuttle to Sea World was perfect, the driver was nice and knowledgeable, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This was our first time ever to SeaWorld so I was not sure where to go/stay so I picked the hotel closes to SeaWorld that looked good online. If you are considering this hotel keep looking. My daughter ( 2 yrs old ) ran around the room bearfoot and her feet turned black from the dirty carpet. We found a piece of dog poor and popcorn in the room.
The pool was cloudy and did not look clean. Service at the restaurant was poor because they were understaffed. My wife worked at a Resort and spa for 9 years and she said the Hilton Hill Country greaded a poor in her eyes. I paid $152.00 per night for two nights and should have paid $52.00 per night. If I had only paid $52.00 I would be writing a different review. In the future we will check out all hotels in the area and check the reviews before jumping at the first one. Our advice is do your research and stay at this hotel as a last resort.

Room Tip: Cannot think of a tip other than stay else where not here
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSanAntonio, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Thank you for the feedback you have posted, I would really like to apologize about your overall experience and perception of your recent visit with us here at the Hilton San Antonio Hill Country. During times of peak occupancy we do strive to perform at a very high output and efficiently, and I am sorry to hear that during your stay that wasn’t your perception of things. In many ways the hotel has the ability and capacity to handle high occupancy and large groups, which I will admit does take work, but there is always ways we can improve the operations of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback. I am confident that we can make sure that our guests, whether returning or their first visit time, will have an improved experience in part due to your honest opinion. Kind Regards-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

If you are looking for a true resort please keep looking. This is an average hotel not that there is anything wrong with that. Our stay consisted of 2 adults and 2 kids so the activity’s for the kids were the main focus for us. The wading pool would have been nicer if it was clean and not heated. August in Texas you do not need a heated pool the other pools were okay but needed to be cleaned as well. The nightly movie was a hit the little ones enjoyed sitting outside watching the movies. If you are going to be there more than one night purchase the stuff to make the smores elsewhere. Overall a good stay and if you can get a room under $125.00 it would be worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Despite the other bad reviews, we ended up booking this hotel because of the convenience it offered us for our adventure to Sea World and the great price I was able to get online. The hotel was booked solid with families and super noisy and crowded. The staff couldn't even keep up with all the needs of their guest. The pools (all 3) were packed with kids so tightly it was hard to get in and swim with our little girl. They ran out of ice and towels. The management wasn't at all concerned their guests. Do not stay here!! Pay a little more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSanAntonio, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your valuable feedback, and we are addressing the issues you mentioned. Kind Regards-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We booked this hotel because of the amenities offered for kids (kids' activities, s'mores at night, shuttle service to Sea World), and we were somewhat disappointed. While the rooms were nice and the rate was reasonable, the kids' activities were disappointing. Most of the activities, such as face painting and hair-braiding, included an extra charge. There were some games and coloring books provided in a conference room, but no one was really participating, and the materials were a bit damaged. The s'mores weren't an activity; someone simply handed us marshmallows and graham crackers and directed us toward the fire pits.

As for the shuttle to Sea World, service there was terrific. Shuttles left right on time and got us to the park before opening. On our return, we waited while several other shuttles arrived, and once ours did arrive, we didn't all fit. I know they returned as quickly as they could, but the wait was more than we had expected.

There are a few decent restaurants nearby, but if you want to go to another area of Sea World, traffic on 410 an I-10 can make that difficult.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasMargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSanAntonio, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are currently reviewing the "Kid's Activites" and looking at making some "new" additions. We hope you will stay with us the next time you are in San Antonio. Kind Regards-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
1,965 reviews
Far West Side
Courtyard San Antonio SeaWorldR/Westover Hills
Far West Side
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio Sea World
Far West Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel

Address: 9800 Westover Hills Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78251-4125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $114 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the views of beautiful courtyards, indigenous plants and landscaping at the Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel. Relax at our hotel near SeaWorld, and enjoy the massive flagstone fireplace and cozy chairs. Conveniently located in one of San Antonio's premier communities, our Hill Country hotel is close to San Antonio attractions including Fiesta Texas, dining, and golf.Settle into a comfy room or suite with warm, Texas ranch-style decor. Find down-filled comforters, marble bathrooms, 32-inch LCD HDTVs and WiFi access. Suites feature rainforest showers and garden tubs with spa jets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Radisson San Antonio
Radisson Hill Country Resort
San Antonio Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing