We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in the Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown
Ranked #46 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond,VA, United States
1 review
“Good Hotel in the Downtown”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Good hotel in the downtown of San Antonio, walkable from all important places in the downtown,worth the money spent, breakfast is complimentary and refreshing, staff are good Con: the Corporate price kept rising each time i booked here!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Kaviraj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    265
    95
    37
    23
See reviews for
243
174
23
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The hotel itself is very attractive but there are some areas that need improvement. We stayed for three nights. The second day we came back from sightseeing and our room had not been cleaned. The front desk claims that the maid said that we had a "Do Not Disturb" sign up which was not true. They sent up a night porter to freshen up the room. Not great when we needed to rest and clean up before going out for the evening.

The next day the key cards wouldn't work. Was told at the desk that it was our fault for keeping them near our credit cards in wallets! Never heard of this and we travel a lot!! Problems, problems.

They also need more informational signs up in the hallways. For example: Where is the pool? Where are the ice machines? Signage can be improved.

The breakfast was nice with hard boiled eggs, waffles, and various muffins and cereals.

Might try another place next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth NH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Inattentive staff, terrible breakfast with days old overcooked hard boiled eggs and stale bread, leaky roof, lots of inoperative items in room, rude front desk, inattentive maids....but it is located 3 blocks from Mi Tierra, an excellent Mexican restaurant and HB'S DELI, 304 S. Flores, just a 10 min walk away open M-F 7AM-1:45 PM tel 227-5560

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Looks are deceiving! Room was dirty, front desk staff were very rude. Never smiled, Short, curt answers, but noticed that other guests were treated extremely differently. Breakfast was minimal at best. Management allowed toddlers to ride their trikes throughout the lobby and in the breakfast room - knocking into the other guests, dropping and spilling food. Most of the food was gone an hour before breakfast was over. Most of the other guests came to breakfast, really loud, still dressed in pajamas, sloppy and didn't watch their own children. They had parties in the pool until 3 am. Our room was down the hall and we could hear them plain as day. Wanted to use the hot tub, but apparently there were some "bowel" issues from the party, so we obviously didn't use the facilities. Our own bathroom was a filthy mess when we checked in, but no one from housekeeping was around. Hair all over the floors, and crumbs on the floor. Just a fiasco. Should have slept in our car - would have been more peaceful and comfortable. Will never return here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2x2ontheroad4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Very nice hotel. Room was bigger than expected. Very clean. Good continental breakfast. Located 2 blocks from the Mercado area. About a mile walk to the River Walk. But we like to walk. Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Francisco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Was happy with my choice, only complaint with La Quinta was they should stop using instant coffee. Hotel was easy to get around to all the attractions. We used the trolley system and it stopped out front so you didn't have to walk if you weren't up to it. I would stay here again I think it was a good price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dez4587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#122 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown
Address: 100 W Cesar E Chavez Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78204-1125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#83 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
La Quinta Inn And Suites San Antonio Downtown
La Quinta San Antonio
San Antonio La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing