We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown
Ranked #49 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Location, location location”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

For us this was a perfect location, great parking and within easy walking distance to downtown & the river walk area. Clean large rooms with coffee making facilities. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Even managed to use the pool, which was very clean and secluded. Great stay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chefy123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    270
    96
    39
    23
See reviews for
248
176
23
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A clean hotel within walking distance of the convention center (0.9 mi). Staff was very helpful. It is also right on the Blue trolley line which takes you right to the convention center. A good bargain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moosic, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

5 day convention stay. Newer very clean hotel. Great free breakfast compared to most other hotels. Nice pool and close to convention center and tourist attractions. The pricing was very good compared to the Hyatts and Marriots next door. Very close to convention center 2 short blocks, river walk same distance and alamo was about 3 blocks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEPA0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed 9/26/2013 - 9/30/2013

Older hotel but still decent. Large room, good breakfast, & great staff.

Hotel offered a fitness room, pool, hot tub, free (good) breakfast, doesn't charge extra for parking, right beside trolley stop, & allows dogs. However, no dog clean-up station and there are a lot of irresponsible owners who do not bring baggies to clean up after the dogs. So, a cleanup station might trigger pet owners to pick up their dogs waste!

Room wasn't what I expected. It wasn't terrible, but not the “heavenly bed” I expected like many LaQuinta locations and not freshly updated with the wood floors, etc…like I expected. Position of the tv made it difficult for both people in a king bed room to watch it while drifting off to sleep.
The room had a small refrigerator and a small microwave. There was also a desk in the room which is good for your laptop. Speaking of laptop….free Wi-Fi was available but it wasn’t super-fast so if you need a fast connection, you won’t be using the free Wi-Fi.
Misc issues...Sofa, chair, & carpet were a bit dated. The furniture wasn’t the best…..the chair had a rip and the sofa had what appeared to be a bleach stain on it. I expected the furniture to be a little nicer…but, it was comfortable to sit on.

Overall, I recommend the hotel. It is a good value and any of my issues were minor!
It is a decent walk to the main part of the River walk and the Alamo. It is walkable...but further than I expected. The River walk is about 5 blocks, but the main area of the River walk is further. Plus, walking back to the hotel at night is kinda spooky. Lots of homeless people and bad lighting in some areas along the walk.

I would stay here again. The price and the location worked for me. I just wish they would do a few more upgrades…like the bed mattress & the flooring upgrades.

Room Tip: Hotel had 6 or 7 floors. I would recommend floor 3 with your window facing either Caser Chavez stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had a great experience at La Quinta downtown. Nicely located to the River Walk and nicely priced. The valets there were also extremely helpful and friendly, I found myself talking with several of them all the time during my stay there. Rene Martinez was exceptionally helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank para84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#14 of 355 in San Antonio
1,096 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown
Address: 100 W Cesar E Chavez Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78204-1125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#83 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
La Quinta Inn And Suites San Antonio Downtown
La Quinta San Antonio
San Antonio La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing