We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown
Ranked #46 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for seven nights in January. Our executive king suite was spacious and comfortable. The front desk staff were always friendly and helpful. Our room was always clean and the housekeeping staff were very nice. The guest laundry is a nice amenity - not too nice of a room but glad it was available. The breakfast was okay but never changed during our week long stay. The trolley stop is located by the hotel and we took it downtown on the day it rained. Otherwise, the location is great - we walked everywhere - either on the streets or on the river walk which is only about 5 blocks away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hikers51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    217
    77
    30
    20
See reviews for
197
140
15
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Recently stayed here on a business and pleasure trip for six nights. Staff was always friendly and smiling. We stayed in room 405 which was very clean, spacious, and quiet our entire stay. Parking is free and the hotel is about a half mile from the riverwalk making it very convenient for food and shops. I will definitely stay here again and highly recommend for anyone looking to get their monies worth.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family of 4 spent 2 nights at this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves as the room was much larger than other rooms we had stayed at and it was very clean and comfortable. One of the bonuses was that parking was free and it was a very short walk along the glorious river walk into the middle of town. There is also a 'Hop On / Off' tour bus stop & public transport bus stop right outside the hotel. The 'Missions' are only a short drive from the hotel. Breakfast was the usual 'La Quinta' breakfast which we appreciate when travelling as a family. We stayed in several La Quinta hotels during our 5 week stay in the USA and we would recommend this chain to anyone travelling with a family as they are very economical, breakfast is good and parking usually free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank athertonwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have stayed here on and off for years for both business and pleasure. It is an older well maintained hotel, that is quiet compared to some of the newer hotels that are built cheaper and noisy between the floors. This particular LQ is in a good location, highly recommend a walk to the King William District, literally blocks from the hotel, a great old area with nice restaurants to eat. Also, walking distance to the Market, and to downtown SA, Riverwalk. The staff here is very nice and friendly. The rooms could use a little updating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank latx1houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were very happy with this hotel, even though it is an older hotel it is in a great location within walking distance to the river walk, the Alamo and any thing else you want to entertain you. There also is a bus/trolley stop right outside the hotel. The rooms are gigantic for the price and include a fridge and microwave! Nice beautiful updated bathroom and great flat screen tv with lots of dresser/storage space if you need it. Our room even had a sleeper sofa and recliner!! The grounds and interior of hotel are very clean and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenandBrad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I appreciate all La Quinta hotels for their rooms, service, and free breakfast. This one also had a trolley stop right in front of the hotel! Fare was $1.20 each way ($4 for a daily pass), and the trolley drivers were extremely helpful regarding restaurants, attractions, and stops. Hotel staff members were very helpful as well. I do wish they could sell the $4 pass as we would have to go to a less convenient spot for that. We did not expect to have a living area as well as the two beds, so that was a treat. Again, I appreciate the staff. Although it was too cold to swim and the pool was closed, it was extremely clean. There are no restaurants near the hotel, so plan to eat elsewhere, preferably the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown
Address: 100 W.Cesar Chavez Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#83 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
La Quinta Inn And Suites San Antonio Downtown
La Quinta San Antonio
San Antonio La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing