We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the first poor Marriot experiance. STAY AWAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites San Antonio Medical Center/Northwest
Ranked #120 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Geoargia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This is the first poor Marriot experiance. STAY AWAY”
Reviewed June 11, 2007

This is the first poor Marriot experiance. STAY AWAY...
The only thing nice about this hotel is the lobby. The bathroom tiles were dirty, the sink and floors had not been cleaned. The elevator floors are so trashed that they reaked of a foul odor. The hallway floors needed some serious cleaning. We reported our concerns and the manager told us nothing could be done.

Bootom Line:
The Marriot chain screwed this one up..poor service, leaking faucets & smelly room for $140/night. I think I could have gotten a better room on the riverwalk for that much money.

  • Liked — Lobby
  • Disliked — Not Clean
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank team_fletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    53
    29
    18
    10
See reviews for
71
23
6
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2006

I am suprisingly amazed by the amenities at this hotel. You get suite accommodations with a good size refrigerator, microwave, plates/utinsels, and FREE high speed internet for about $100. This is a great value. San Antonio is very easy to get around and the Springhill Suites is central location if you're exploring more than just the Riverwalk.

This hotel is a great place to stay if you have small kids or a baby. The convenient refrigerator/microwave make it easy to store and warm up baby milk or baby foods. Although, I didn't eat the free breakfast, I noticed that the selection was quite impressive - hot eggs, sausages, biscuits, waffles, oatmeal, fruit, milk, juice, etc etc. This is a great value of a hote.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank MillionMilr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2006

My famliy and I booked our rooms for this hotel through the Sea World website. I was not disappointed. The continetal breakfast was awesome (free too), make your own huge waffle,milk,oj,apple juice,fruit,bagels,muffins,toast ,cereal. Excellant breakfast. We stayed for a week and not once were we disappointed with the service, room was clean..as was the hotel areas we visited, elevators were a little slow but nothing to get upset about. The employees were friendly and helpful, they gave us written directions to The alamo,sea world,zoo,schlitterbahn. Those directions were on the money. They are doing alot of construction around the 410 loop and without those directions it was easy to get lost. Super Target and several restuarants within walking distance. We will definately book with this place again. Very quiet and relaxing. We had 2 queen beds as well as a queen sofa sleeper, refrig,microwave,desk. Sea World is only 15 minutes away, as well as the Zoo and the Alamo. 45 minutes to Schlitterbahn and Natural Bridge Caverns.

  • Liked — Location to area attractions
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for the directions to the attractions
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sskessler401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2004

We go to San Antonio every year and, most years, we stay here (except for one year when it was sold out and we stayed at the Amerisuites Northwest a short distance away).
Note, as of late July, the hotel is now a Springhill Suites by Marriott.
That being said, the hotel itself is very pretty, with a marble-accented lobby. The exterior was undergoing a renovation when we left.
The pool needs a little work, but is perfectly adequate for taking a quick dip and our kids always love it.
The continental breakfast is first rate, with a good selection of breads, pastries, cereal, yogurt and make your own waffles. There is always hot coffee in the lobby.
For $85 a night (we've gotten it for as low as $79 during peak season), you get two doubles and a sofa bed, perfect for our party of six, along with a refrigerator and microwave. While no palacial mansion, the rooms have always been clean and room service has been wonderful.
Now for the best part, the hotel's location. It sits right next to Crossroads Mall, a smaller mall with a movie theater. There is a Jack-in-the-Box in the parking lot for quick meals and a Super Target right next door. Several restaurants, including Luby's and Dave and Busters, are within walking distance.
Sea World and Fiesta Texas are minutes away in opposite directions.
The only downside to the location is the fact that they are still working on the I-10, Loop 410 interchange, where the hotel sits, and it can be confusing the first time you want to head north or west.
We plan to stay here again.

Helpful?
7 Thank GreenvilleTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 29, 2004

were the other revierwers expecting a hilton for $65 a night ? we paid 65 dollars, and there were 5 of us in one room for one week. there were two double beds and a sleeper sofa, plus half a wall dividing the sleeper sofa and beds, and a television which was viewable from all beds. It also included a desk, microwave, and small fridge. The only things I didnt like about this place was this rude lady who i had to cuss out at the continental breakfast, cus she thought she was the chair police and wanted our chairs ( she didn't work there). the weight room had a treadmill, a bench and some weights, and thats about it , but i didnt even use it , so who cares. Plus if you did want to work out thats all you need. There was also a small heated pool, which i didnt use either, although my little sister did and she met a friend. The rooms were fine, except for no fitted sheet, but i paid 200 $ a night at a place in panama city and they didnt have fitted sheets either, and it was a very small matter in my opinion. The refridgerator was also overly cold, and froze half our drinks, but whatever, no biggie. I had a good night sleep, plus we could easily walk to jack in the box everynight, or the mall and target and dave and busters everyday. My favorite part of this hotel is the continental breakfast. It is huge. It is all carbs, but thats why its called continental...they have huge gourmet muffins, streudels, bagels, cream cheese, cottage cheese, french toast, makeyourown waffles, oj and apple juice, sausage and biscuits on weekends, and cereal, and oatmeal, and yogurt, and fruit...yep all of that !!..AWESOME. althouugh if i stayed there any longer i would have come back home 10 pounds heavier. Overall this hotel was great, and I thought the price was awesome. I'd rank this hotel a 3 star hotel, but i'd say for the money and all i give it 5 stars

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2004

We were given a "non-smoking" room that had been smoked in A LOT. The manager simply sprayed a perfume in the room and we were told nothing could be done. We had to take a trip to the ER so my husband could get an inhaler and a steroid since it disturbed his asthma which he has little problems with normally. Our bathroom tiles were covered in mildew and the shower head had only half the holes trickling. The only thing nice about this hotel is the lobby. I even e-mailed the Amerisuites company and got no response. This trip taught me to never stay at another Amerisuites and to share my experience with others so that they too may avoid a ruined trip.

Helpful?
8 Thank burger4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 15, 2004

I agree with the previous reviewer. The hotel was not great- poor service, leaking faucets & smelly room for $81/night. I think I could have gotten a better room on the riverwalk for that much money.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
San Antonio Marriott Northwest
San Antonio Marriott Northwest
#199 of 354 in San Antonio
22 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn - Medica...
#189 of 354 in San Antonio
18 reviews
Northwest Side
Courtyard San Antonio Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Medical Center
Northwest Side
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Medical Center, TX
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio Medical Center North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites San Antonio Medical Center/Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Antonio Medical Center/Northwest

Property: SpringHill Suites San Antonio Medical Center/Northwest
Address: 3636 Northwest Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites San Antonio Medical Center/Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly re-designed in 2011. Located right where you want to be, the SpringHill Suites is just minutes from the San Antonio International Airport, South Texas Medical Center, SeaWorld, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Norris Conference Centers and the famous Downtown Riverwalk and Alamo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Antonio Medical Center/Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites San Antonio Medical Center/Crossroads Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing