We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf course!”

More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A relative newcomer to Texas golf, this 18-hole course is a par 71 measuring more than 7,000 yards from the tips.
Brownsville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great golf course!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

On the southside but worth the trip. The golf course is very open. Fairways were phenomenal. The greens were a little sandy but thats normal this time of year. I would play here anytime and highly recommend the course to anyone and all handicappers. Rates are great.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJedi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Golf”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Located just south of downtown San Antonio, the Republic offers reasonably priced golf on an excellent course. One of my favorite places to play in the city.

Helpful?
Thank happytraveler259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. george, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“GREAT GREENS”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Course was in good shape. Greens were excellent and very big. You can spray the ball a little and not be in trouble. Would play again.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank phillytom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Will play here anytime”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Found out about this course while playing another and it turned out to be our favorite course in the San Antonio area in March 2011. Overseeded, so the fairways and greens are almost lush and very playable. Nothing made up about this course. Park-like setting. Very friendly staff. 4 hour round during spring break was welcomed. We'll go back there over and over. Excellent prices for seniors during the week. $35 includes cart.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank PatinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Course in poor shape but has potential - very good service.”
Reviewed November 13, 2009

On 11/4/09 we played the Republic Golf Course while in San Antonio and were very disappointed in the shape of the course. The course claims to be within 10 minutes of downtown San Antonio but we found it to be at least 20-30 minutes by taxi. We played in the late morning and the course was so wet from over-watering that it was like playing after a 5 inch rain. Also the greens actually had debris on them when trying to putt. The course layout is actually pretty good but it appears that the grounds work hasn't been done to keep the course at the level it once was. It seemed odd also that the course was in the shape it was when we had to manuver around grounds crew on every hole. Many times we had to wait for them to clear our landing areas to shoot our tee shots. We asked about the watering after 9 holes and were told that they had had a severe drought this summer so needed to do extra watering to keep things green. The service in the pro shop, by the ranger and by the bar/grill staff was exceptional and the bacon cheeseburgers are worth asking for should you be at the course. Should we return to the area, we will skip this course unless we hear things have improved with the shape of the course.

Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Republic Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Republic Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing