We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good week in Texas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #111 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very good week in Texas”
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I was the planner for a reunion of Air Force guys from the 1950's that wanted to visit San Antonio. After reviewing many proposals I selected the El Tropicano because they could fill all of our requirements, and offered a reasonable rate. About 80 attened the 5 day event. Two were initially not happy with their room; the hotel corrected the problem as soon as it was voiced. The catering and meeting requirements were all carried out with few problems. They did good.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbardjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    402
    271
    181
    155
See reviews for
393
414
59
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2010

This hotel was recommended to my daughter by a friend. I am glad we stayed there. It is an older hotel but the hotel is great! The room was very nice. It wasn't the largest room but it wasn't the smallest. The beds were comfortable. The room was very cool. No problems with the AC. The pool was very refreshing after a long, hot day at Seaworld.
The staff was wonderful! From the valet to the housekeeping staff and everyone in between. We had the breakfast buffet in the restaurant the next morning to start our day. Our waiter, Cesar, was right there when we needed more orange juice or coffee. And the kids enjoyed making their own waffles.
I will recommend the El Tropicano to friends and family. And I will stay there again on my next trip to San Antonio!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leidyhawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I wanted a reasonably priced hotel near where my friend lived and El Tropicana Holiday Inn was it. It is on the River Walk but not close to where the "action" is. You'd have to walk it or a short cab ride ( I wouldn't recommend walking at night). My room was just OK. It had a musty smell to it which I deduced was coming from the A/C. The only chair in the room had a tear in it and wasn't near the desk but on the other side of my bed (No one is checking the maid service?) Wall paper too was tearing off part of the wall. There's a great coffee maker in the room but the maid service didn't clean the cups or give me new coffee pads on one of my four days. Oh, and the bathroom TP role was way too close to the toilet seat. If I was a larger person I'd have to sit side-saddled lol.
That said, the place was clean and the restaurant was good on the night it rained heavily and I didn't want to venture out. Would I go back? Not really. I'd find a closer hotel to that "action" I mentioned earlier.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Stayed there over the weekend and it was the worst expeierence ever. Ice machines were out and asked desk to send some over and never got it and asked gentlemen that was working there my complain and just blew me off. Rooms were full of crickets and just old better to stay some where else and avoid the 18.00 charge for parking.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ndee76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnaudville, louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2010

The staff was very friendly. Our two bed room was small. They have no complimentary micro fridge nor microwave. No ice bucket in our room either. You can pay $10 for a refrigerator and another $10 the microwave. The ice machine on our floor is broken. The toilet is too close to the wall (one side). The restaurant is nice and the mango margarita was very good. The air conditioner is a wall mounted job. One thing that saves this is the vane control. Parking is $18 per night. You would think it would be a part of the room fee. This place is no five minute walk from the Alamo either. My 9 yr old son found a coffee mug under the bed. We won't be using hotwire.com again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popeye_the_Cajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We had a problem with our room at first, so we went to the front desk. They immediately moved us to the top floor in a very nice suite. They also gave us coupons for a free breakfast the next day. The new room was beautiful, spacious, with an incredible view. I was nervous after reading the reviews, but the staff is definitely customer-service oriented. Sure, you have to pay for parking, but you have to pay for it everywhere in that area. You'll understand when you get there. Buy a trolley ticket for $4/day and just ride it anywhere. It's a nice hotel and an unbeatable value.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staceysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This isn't a bad hotel for the price if you're just looking for a place to sleep & bathe. Paid about $129 per day plus an extra $18 per day to park. A little ridiculous but that's par for San Antonio.
Friendly and helpful staff. Hotel was quiet. Our room was small but clean. Not many amenities. Had balcony with view of downtown in the distance. Long walk to major attractions or main area of Riverwalk and a little pricey to catch a cab or trolley (when there's 4 of you). Pool area was okay and free breakfast was okay but nothing to write home about.
If you want to be in the center of everything and want more amenities, you'll have to pay the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewboard2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#18 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Property: El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 110 Lexington Ave, San Antonio, TX 78205-1313
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing