We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #128 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Stayed at The EL TOPICANO a couple of weeks ago. Had a great time. The staff was very frendly and helpfull. The room was clean and very comfortable. Had a great steak at the resturant. The bar with the 2 man band was fantastic. These guys can play anything. For the money & location this is one of the best values in San Antonio.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWWACO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    328
    209
    140
    127
See reviews for
311
325
48
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

My husband and I were at the El Tropicano in early August. We were in town for a golf outing. We had the best time! Our room was great and the service was excellent. The ladies enjoyed sitting around the pool and enjoyed the bar outside. We had delicious food in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. There was no reason to leave the hotel on the night the duo was in the bar playing Santanna and Stevie Ray!! They were awesome.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

I booked this hotel for 2 rooms - 3 nights on priceline - name your own price and paid $50/night so we saved about $300-400! Nice hotel, friendly staff, not close to the main riverwalk area of San Antonio, but about 5 min drive. No frills and not 5 stars but then again, we only used the room for changing and sleeping, so no big deal.

Parking is $15/night per car. We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katengohouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

This hotel was well worth the price. I think the bad reviews are from very picky people. The staff was great and changed my room to a lower floor due to my fear of heights. It was nice and clean. THe pool was nice. The restaurant was not overpriced, in fact the food was better there than at an expensive eating place on the Riverwalk. ( Take the fish with the salsa. ) You can sit out and eat on the patio in the evening. The kids ate free at least one meal a day. And yes, you do have to walk about 20 minutes to get to the main Riverwalk area, but it was scenic and peaceful. It was not a strenuous ordeal, and I had 3 kids with me. Take the boat ride back if you don't like excercise. I would definitely stay here again.

J. Soileau

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flattowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

As a Priority Club member, I booked a three-night stay. Upon arrival, around 10:00 pm, I was assigned the requested king room. I told the night desk clerk I needed a quiet room, and she assured me I had one. Not possible, given that the room was immediately adjacent to the elevator shaft, a fact she must have known.

When I walked into the room, the smell of mildew blowing from the antiquated ceiling-mounted air conditioner was overpowering. And the headboard of the bed was attached to the elevator shaft common wall. I immediately called the night desk clerk, advised her as to why the room was not satisfactory, and was told that it was the only room available in the hotel. Between the mildew smell, the cough it induced and the elevator noise, I got little sleep.

Tthe next morning, the day desk clerk asked why I was checking out two days early and had not even used my breakfast coupon. I told her. She apologized profusely for the condition of the room and the conduct of the night desk clerk, wondered aloud why I had not been assigned another room because one was apparently available, and said I would not be charged. I thanked her. Nevertheless, upon arrival home, I found the full charge for the wretched night's stay posted to my credit card account.

I can't believe this hotel is rated 12 out of over 300 in the San Antonio area. There are a lot of good hotels in downtown San Antonio. This, however, is not one of them.

I moved over to the Omni La Mansion for the last two nights, and a had a great stay. Right on the Riverwalk, extraordinarily courteous staff, and quiet as a tomb.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Aarpskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Waco,TX.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Recently spent a 3 day weekend in San Antonio. Had a great time and the hotel was a big part of a pleasant stay. Good location, good food, great band in the bar, and friendly staff. Jim B

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeItUpWaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

My mom and I went for Spring Break for 5 days. I must say I am the one that booked it and my mom was a little worried because the price to stay was so cheap. You do have to pay for parking at the hotel...but we didn't mind at all. We abolutely loved our stay at this hotel. Great service! The staff is SO nice, welcoming, friendly, at your service at all times. Any questions about walking directions or sight seeing they are there for you....such a help! The rooms were a nice size, clean, comfortable! The pool was very nice, on top of the roof so you can catch some sun if your there in a sunny season! This hotel is very family oriented...very nice. They showed movies almost every night at the pool. You can even watch the movies from your room! (Disney movies, etc.) There restraunt in the hotel is pretty good. Location I'd say was perfect for us...yes we had to walk a possible 5-8 minutes to get to the River Walk...but the staff really helped give us faster walking directions. It didn't feel like it took long at all to get to the River Walk. Also if you would like to keep a work out while your on vaction there fitness room is very nice!!!

When we go back to SA we are staying here! =]

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#137 of 357 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk
#95 of 357 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#22 of 357 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Property: El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 110 Lexington Ave, San Antonio, TX 78205-1313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing