We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Antonio, Texas-Holiday Inn El Tropicano**A Very Poor Choice” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #131 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Byrdstown, Tennessee
1 review
“San Antonio, Texas-Holiday Inn El Tropicano**A Very Poor Choice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Check in on 8/12/2009 for a three night stay overlooking the Riverwalk for the purpose of sightseeing the Riverwalk and surrounding area. Our room was the size of a very small hospital room which was located 150 steps (150 yds) from the nearest elevator on the 3rd floor. Since my wife had had hip replacement surgery it was necessary for me to use a wheel chair from the motel to initially get her to the room. Upon my complaining, the staff offered two other rooms which I checked. They both contained old furniture with either a view of the front street or pool area and rooftops! One half of our first day in San Antonio was spent looking for other suitable accomodations. We subsequently checked into the Holiday Inn, on St. Mary's Street on 8/13/2009 which provided excellent accomodations for the remainder of our stay. As a Priority Club member, this was a very unsatisfactory reservation!!!

bkreed.1@multipro.com

Helpful?
Thank Willieamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    322
    203
    138
    125
See reviews for
302
321
46
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco,Tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Nineteen of us, along with our wives, did a golf outing in San Antonio and stayed at the Tropicana. Their rooms and service were impecable and the manager helped us with local golf courses and directions and the bar was fantastic that night...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wcross647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pigskinplayer01
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

The Holiday Inn El Tropicano is a great place to stay anytime I'm in San Antonio. They have a great staff and the admenities you need. Best part of staying at the El Tropicano it is right on the riverwalk! If you need a place to stay I would strongly recomend staying at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano on the riverwalk.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pigskinplayer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

I live in Houston and we visit San Antonio ever summer to visit Riverwalk and Sea World. I have stayed at this location before it was El Tropicano and did not realize it until I pulled up in the parking lot and thought uh-oh. But let me tell you - they have really cleaned this place up..super friendly staff, polished chic hotl lobby with bar and restaurant. Even thought the pool is nice and clean it could use a little pizazz like their rooms have. We stayed on the pool level and the room was nice, clean and cold just like I like it. The bathrooms are a tad bit small, but they were up to date and nice.Even thought it was on the Riverwalk it is still a little bit of a walk to get to the Restaurant area, but not terribly bad and if you want you can drive or call a cab to get there. Definetly, well worth every penny. i will be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMellinaFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamesa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

This is the worst hotel that we have ever stayed at. When we made reservations they told us that we were next to everything on the riverwalk and that is not so. We checked in and the room that we got is not what we were promised and we told the front desk and they said that we shouldnt have made reservation on line. We went to leave after seeing our room and talking to staff but they would not give us our money back until my husband had to get the Manger involved. The staff was rude the rooms were small. I would not recommand this hotel to anyone, AND they are not close to a lot of things that are on the riverwalk like promised. This is not a hotel that WE would stay at just for the way that we were treated.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beerfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Hewitt, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Has a great stay at the El Tropicano Hotel, in San Antonio. The staff; front dest, dinning room, bar and room were helpful and pleasant. Food was great. Service was great. Had a wonderful time. San Antonio and the El Tropicano Hotel is our vacation spot in Texas. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rudmorassoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

This was one of the best trips we've had to San Antonio with our grandson. The Hotel was reasonable, easy access to the Riverwalk (water taxi right there), clean rooms, great outside pool, excellent food (Restaurant right there in Hotel) and a staff that couldn't do enough for you. It was really refreshing to get to a Hotel and see that we didn't have to deal with anything but have fun! You have to pay extra for parking but it was well worth it as we just took the water taxi where we wanted to go. We can't afford to spend alot on a place to stay so I researched and through trip advisor we found this one. It's not fancy but tropical and easy. It was well worth it. Highly recommend it. And no pets allowed which we always look for because of allergies.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjsnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk
#90 of 357 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 1,587 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#139 of 357 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#27 of 357 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Property: El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 110 Lexington Ave, San Antonio, TX 78205-1313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing