We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #111 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good value for the price.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The front desk staff was very accommodating when there was an issue with my reservation. The rooms were smaller than most hotels, as it is an older property, but not tiny. The direct access to the riverwalk is nice but you have to walk over a half mile to the restaurant area. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glutz2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    414
    277
    183
    160
See reviews for
402
427
61
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I just returned from a 3 day stay at this hotel. After reading previous reviews I was expecting the worst. To my surprise the hotel is very nice. We had 3 rooms total and all were nice and clean including the bathrooms. The rooms were the same size as any other hotel in my opinion. The staff were all nice and accommodating. The breakfast buffet is a little pricey at 9.95 but kids 6 and under eat free. The pool area is nice as well.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mrsblake06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We recently stayed here while attending a trade show. The rooms are nice, comfortable and clean, but the halls need to be refreshed. The area around the hotel seems safe and quiet. Since the hotel was on the Riverwalk, I expected it to be close to restaurants and bars. It's actually about a 10-15 min walk down the Riverwalk to get to the restaurant area. We walked down to eat and took a $7 cab ride back to the hotel. If you are going to a conference, don't plan on walking. This hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from the convention center. Luckily for me the hotel was on our conference's bus route. One nice feature of the hotel is the breakfast buffet. It's not fancy, but the food is good. For the buffet including your drink it's $11.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

True it's an old hotel. Room had a strange odor had to turn off ac when realized that's where the smell was coming from. Very noisy family in next room. None of this out weighs the incredible staff. We checked in after midnight and Steve at front desk was happy, accommodating and extremely helpful. Valet was quick and very pleasant as well and the lady in housekeeping.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed at the property for several nights while in San Antonio for a convention and chose the El Tropicano because of the reasonable room rate and location on the Riverwalk. The location on the Riverwalk is a special treat and I enjoyed taking the river taxis to and from the hotel and the 'action' downtown.

The property is older, but the owners have put a lot of effort and thought into renovating the public areas of the property to its Havana nights, 1950's theme. The staff was excellent--I didn't run into one person that wasn't cordial or helpful. I ate at the hotel's breakfast buffet twice and found it reasonably priced (about $10) for the selection--everything from cereal and yogurt to sausage, bacon, eggs, pancakes and potatoes. The hotel also has a lounge and coffee bar. I also received a great recommendation from the hotel staff for an early breakfast one morning--Pete's Tako House--one of the culinary highlights of the trip!

My room was small but well appointed and comfortable with a lovely flat screen TV with HD service and a very robust air conditioner. Although the rooms on either side of me were occupied, I never heard my neighbors. The weather was very hot while I was in town, so the A/C was on 24-7, but I smiled when I saw a real window that could have been opened to let in fresh air at night. A rare treat in these days of sealed hotel rooms.

The area around the hotel is quiet and in a bit of transition with a new performing arts center being built nearby. The hotel charges nightly for parking, and although I didn't have trouble finding a spot, the lot did fill near to capacity on Friday and Saturday night. Access to the parking lot is a bit tight, so if you have a larger vehicle (trailer or truck) you might need to park on the street or at one of the nearby private lots. I didn't keep the rental car for my entire trip but had no trouble getting to or from the hotel on either the local shuttles or river taxis.

Staying at this hotel was a treat and I would recommend it to others visiting the San Antonio area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAHeadHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We recently held a long weekend reunion and birthday party/banquet at the El Tropicano hotel. We had excellent service and the banquet department was great. They decorated for us and had everything in place when we arrived. The food was awesome and every detail had been taken care of. The staff was super friendly and attentive which, as one of the party givers, made our time there enjoyable and stress free. I would recommend their facility to anyone looking to host an event. Thank you to JoAnn and Yvette for their hard work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is older and they have keep the sixty feel to the hotel. The rooms are small but nice. We had a view of the River Walk. Woke up to ducks and turtles everyday. The bar downstairs was a nice place to cool out after a day out in the heat before dinner. The staff were friendly and helpful. The trolley stopped in front of the hotel which is so nice. The pool is a nice way to cool off in the afternoon. It was not full any of the times we swam. The breakfast buffet was excellent but expense as was the parking. I have never stayed at a place that had some many people working to keep it fresh and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 355 in San Antonio
1,099 reviews
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
1,862 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Property: El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 110 Lexington Ave, San Antonio, TX 78205-1313
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing