We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Love this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #130 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Jacksonville, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stumbled upon this hotel on my third trip to San Antonio last year. I loved it. Walked out the front door and down to to the river level to catch the Rio Taxi or the Trolley (bought tickets for the trolley at the front desk). The hotel itself is obviously older, the rooms were well maintained, the lobby beautiful, the cost reasonable. I always check this hotel first when I am returning to San Antonio.

Room Tip: Our room was located facing Lexington. We could easily look out the window and see the river walk. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    328
    209
    140
    127
See reviews for
311
325
48
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A little off the beaten path but easily walkable to the main attractions on the Riverwalk and the Alamo. Room was very comfortable and clean. Poolside rooms available. Dining facities were available as well, so if you needed a bite to eat. Breakfast was a full breakfast and we received ours free. There was a major issue with the water while we were there but we were compensated fully after the fact. Just be insistent with issues and you should get your problems resolved! The decor follows its name, Tropics.

Room Tip: Poolside, easy access to the interior of the hotel as well as the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had been wanting to take wife to San Antonio too the river walk for a long time. This was a last min. trip for up an we did no planing.

We had lots of fun. The staff were great an our room was first rate.

This is an older hotel but it has been taken care of from what i saw while staying there. It's a bit of an walk to down town but in all me an the wife liked the time it took us to walk.

The wife an I don't like the big hotels an we were talking about going back to the El Tropicano this summer or for the X'mas time of this year as a quick get away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel lends itself to a wide variety of venues: it is on the River, on the Trolley Line, close to restaurants, downtown etc. It is an excellent hotel for groups, family reunions, business meetings etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

To far to walk downtown. The hallways were stuffy and the ac in our room would not shut off. Would never stay their again. Did have view of the river. But only one elevator going to the 3rd floor and had to go almost in a full circle to get to room. Staff was great and housekeeping was nice too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mongoose8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel. We felt it was WAY overpriced. The lobby looks nice but the rooms are disguisting. The showers were old and dirty and the rooms were not impressive. Our shower head was broke and so was the stopper. Then when I turned the shower on the water came out of the wall and started to flood the floor. We called to the front desk and asked to be moved immediatly. They said they would have nothing until 4 and acted like they really didnt care. I went on to tell them that it was only 1130am and that would be a entire wasted day if we could not shower. They sent a engineer to to the room who basicaly couldnt beleive they even put someone in the room since it was broke so bad. He then was the one that was able to get us the room. He was the only positive part of our stay. Like I said before this hotel was disguisting and dirty and overpriced. I thought they would have at least offered to pay for my hotel parking to make up for the issues we had, but nothing. I talked to the front desk when I left and they acted like it was no big deal. Do not stay here. Nothing is nice about this place.

Room Tip: Both rooms they put us in were nasty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purple0914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. An older hotel similar to the cabana hotels in the old Elvis movies. But what it may lack in glitz, it more than makes up for with character. Interesting and spacious tropical / retro decor. Right on the riverwalk. Minutes from any activity downtown. Very good option for anyone and competitively priced.

Room Tip: Can't answer for other areas but our rooms were on the top floor and were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#138 of 357 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk
#96 of 357 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#22 of 357 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 1,406 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Property: El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 110 Lexington Ave, San Antonio, TX 78205-1313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing