We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Two nights in San Antonio” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #125 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two nights in San Antonio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while visiting San Antonio. We booked the hotel through Hotwire and received a very good price. Overall, it is a good hotel for the price we paid. The front desk personnel were friendly and the room was very clean. The hotel was older but was recently remodeled. The bathroom was small by today's standard but it suited our needs. The hotel is right on the Riverwalk but it takes about 10 minutes to get to the nightlife. We felt very safe walking along the river but we were home by 9 pm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank airforcefinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElTropicanoHotel, Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we are glad that everything went well. We look forward to your return visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    345
    229
    151
    132
See reviews for
327
344
52
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Firestone, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had to find a place to stay for my daughter visiting her sister, who lives on base in San Antonio. After reading reviews of El Tropicano online, and although usually relying on a 'mainstream hotel', and seeing they offer GREAT RATES, and reading some reviews, I booked the hotel for my daughter for one night. She says "IT IS THE BEST! Nicely updated, beautifully decorated, new decor blending well with original architecture. Pool was nice, but would have liked a hot tub. Breakfast was great...a bit crowded, with such wonderful fare, at a reasonable price, it was worth the wait! Thanks for the military discount, btw. All in all...A+ HOTEL. Will stay there, the next time in San Antonio.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AwayIGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was large and comfortable . Location was great, trolley stop out front, and river taxis a short walk. A lot of good food, drinks and entertainment. Be sure and go to Rosario's for excellent food!

Room Tip: Room 358 had a separate room with desk, fridge and coffee maker. Corner room, not a good view, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyE0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I was told the hotel had personality. I think this was their way of saying tired. The renovated room was nice, but cheaply updated. The unrenovated room they wanted to put us in was awful. The mattress was so worn out and saggy that the floor would have been better. I am glad I had seen a previous review saying to ask for an updated room. To set the record straight, the hotel is on the Riverwalk. However, it is a 15 to 20 minute walk to the downtown area where all of the action is. The housekeepers were nice but most of the front desk obviously didn't enjoy their jobs. Maybe it is because they have to deal with customer complaints, but friendliness would be a benefit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Born-on-Rt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

auburn
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Filthy hotel
stains on carpet and bedding
Very small rooms
Filthy bathroom with very concerning stains on back of bathroom door
Spiders and what appeared to be pubic hair in tub
no place to eat except breakfast
horrible customer service lying about not being able to get out of reservation
we called hotels.com and tbey said we could absolutely get out of reservation sincce the "deal"
was through hotel.
gross grosd grodd

Room Tip: Do not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is my second time reviewing this place -- apparently my curt review previously was not sufficient for Trip Advisor. So here's a more thorough review...

Firstly let me say that the hotel is well situated - not quite downtown but still on the river walk. It's actually nicely away from the downtown traffic and hustle and bustle. The Exterior and lobby are very mid-century modern and well maintained. The rooms are clean and nice enough - but quite sterile and a bit "90's La Quinta Inn" for my tastes. Since I wasn't able to actually STAY at the El Trop, this is about all I can say about that.

This weekend a friend from grade-school was getting married so I hopped a flight from Phoenix to San Antonio. I knew I was on a late flight - so when making the booking on Hotels.com, I noted late check-in. My flight was going to be coming in later than originally expected so we called ahead to notify them of the arrival time. Originally we were told this was not a problem and to keep them abreast of any changes. We called again, later in the day, to remind them and again were told this would not be an issue and the room would be ready for us upon our late arrival (2am) but that we should call when we land so that the night crew doesn't cancel our reservation.

We did as we were told, however, the overnight agent informed us that we made an "expedia.com" reservation (nope) and that they don't honor those if they are busy. I explained that no, in fact we had a Hotels.com reservation and that we had pre-paid and as such I expected a room. I was again told no, regardless, we have one room available and there are multiple people vying for this room and that they would give it away to the first customer who arrived. I explained we were told that our room would be held and that we were at the airport. I got a snippy response that we had better book it over there if we expected to have a room. I responded if they gave it away they had better be arranging a new room at another hotel, and they had better provide transportation.

We arrived and are immediately told "sorry, we gave it away" as someone was able to get to the hotel before us. So here is my first concern - regardless of the booking agency, why the heck did you give away a PAID room? We paid for it. We informed them of the lateness of our arrival that was beyond our control SEVERAL times and then they still gave it away. I don't care if you might have gotten a slightly better rate from the new customer - you don't give away paid rooms.

My second issue was the way that they handled our restrained response. They did not say "I'm sorry but it's hotel policy and we are working to get you something better, have a drink at the bar on the house while we make this right" etc... Nope. She refused to make eye contact and gave us snotty responses the entire time. No real apology just, "this is the way things are, deal with it" sort of attitude. We had to ask for a GM before she started making phone calls to find us a place to stay. It took her nearly an hour to get us a room and a cab. It was well past 3am by the time we arrived at our hotel.

From what I can tell - this is not an isolated incident either. It would seem that this is, overall, how the staff have been trained to treat guests. My guess is this is a management issue since the problems didn't stop at service. The bar was understaffed, and not just under-stocked; it was UN-stocked. They were completely out of a number of standard libations (Tequila?) by 10pm on Saturday. The bad customer service did not end with us either. Two other parties, including the bride and groom had incidents with staff. Firstly, they refused again to honor an Expedia.com booking for a king size room and instead issued a room of their choosing, and argued that they did not have to honor any of their selection choices since they did not book direct. Secondly, the groom called to retrieve his "romance" package that he paid for since it had not been delivered to the room. He was met with indignation that there was no such thing, and that he had in fact only paid for two drinks at the bar. The next morning when he complained, the staff retrieved a warm bottle of champagne and a mug full of Ferrero-Roche chocolates (how 'romantic'). Thirdly, the hotel at which I was put up (which was beautiful and has great staff -- the Riverwalk Vista) had problems with the El Trop not wanting to remit payment to them AFTER they sent us over with a signed letter that said "Please accept our guests we will cover the charges etc...)

It was all just too disorganized and full of rude people... I get that our party was minor in the scheme of things but it wasn't minor to us. I haven't seen most of these people in years and it was almost a reunion of sorts and their staff put a real dent in our attitude a number of times. It was pretty disappointing. I think that El Trop's biggest problem is that they were NOT prepared or trained properly for a busy weekend. It was Spring Break AND St. Patty's day weekend, and everyone seemed completely harried by this.

Moral of the story: book direct, and stay somewhere else if it's a busy weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreePeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Picked this hotel because it was walking distance to the venue where we were going to see a concert. The lobby of the hotel is nice and the staff is very friendly. The tiki bar in the lobby makes a great margarita. The room was sort of clean, with the bathroom being most questionable. The tub probably was due to be replaced and the shower head was pulling out of the wall. The faucet in the tub dripped the entire time we were there. Bathroom was too small and lacked adequate counter space and was not stocked with extra toilet paper or wash clothes to use in the shower. We had a king size bed but the pillows seemed smaller than even standard size; they were almost little squares which made sleeping a bit uncomfortable. It is on the Riverwalk, but it is quite a distance to walk to the part where the actual restaurants and attractions are. Not really an issue for us though since that was not what we were there for. There aren't many restaurants near by though, so it was quite a walk to get to food as well. Overall, it served the purpose we needed it to, though I feel like we paid far too much for what we actually got.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AHFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk
#97 of 357 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#20 of 357 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Property: El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing