We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Ranked #119 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I did a blind bid on priceline.com and wound up with this hotel. I would never stay here again due to cleanliness.

Positives:
Good location (close to freeways, on riverwalk, close to alamo)
Friendly staff
Cheap/affordable
They use "green" products (environmentally friendly) for their coffee cups in the room

Negatives:
Very dirty!
Parking is expensive ($18/day)
Not super close main attractions of riverwalk

Our room was very dirty. When we walked in I noticed stains on the headboard. I used a wet washcloth to clean them off but we still made sure not to touch the headboard at all. The sheets were stained and when we called to complain and get new sheets the front desk sounded worried but didn't offer any apologies nor did we hear any apologies from the manager. We were given two sets of sheets when we complained and of those two sets, one of them had more stains on them. It was really unsettling. The carpet in the room had lots of stains them as well.

As for parking, we managed to avoid the parking fee by driving wherever we wanted to go and parking across the street. There is a lot across the street where you can park for $10 (no in/out privileges) during the weekend and $2/day for weekdays. There are also meters, that's where we parked the car the most. The meters are $1.50/hour, Monday - Saturday from 8AM - 6PM. We stayed at the hotel Friday night, all day Saturday, all day Sunday and left on Monday. Friday night was free parking, we left Saturday morning at 9AM and came back round 4PM so we only paid for 3 hours on the meter. Saturday night was free, Sunday was free and we parked in the lot for $2 on Monday until noon when we left to head back to Dallas.

Overall I liked the location and staff but was really put off by how dirty everything in the room was and how unapologetic they seemed to be about our situation. I will not stay here again and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,529)
There are newer reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,076 - 1,082 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

This refurbished 1960's hotel is a great place to stay in San Antonio. Very clean, helpful staff and comfortable rooms, our stay there last week was a very enjoyable one! Make sure you request a fridge for your room as they are not standard and this was a surprise for hotel such as this? But it is the hotel that the airlines use for their pilots and cabin crew and that is always a good indication that a hotel is a good one! The river-walk is next to the hotel but it is a 15 minute walk to the downtown area where the restaurants and nightlife are. Not a problem but if do not like walking back after a hearty meal, then it may be a negative. The hotel has a buffet for breakfast which is good but hey do not offer dinner. This is a little misleading as their website gives you the impression that you could enjoy dinner there? But this is a hotel to consider if your looking to stay in San Antonio!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drawn4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This place has a cool, Cuban vibe, and is in a perfect location right on the Riverwalk. They have computers easily accessible in the lobby (for those of us who don't bring our own), WiFi throughout the hotel, and a sweet pool & fitness center. I was initially displeased with the level of service I received at this hotel. I simply spoke with the gentleman who emailed me when I made my reservation....he was very friendly and remedied the situation immediately. I got a great night's sleep, and will be going back soon. Fun stay overall...thanks again Michael!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Room was clean, bed was comfy, service was pleasant, but for the money I would have liked a room fridge, a safe, a roomier bathroom (hardly any shelf space) and faster Internet. Hotel is on river walk but not near attractions. Coffee bar was expensive. At our conference the water containers were not kept full. So, fine for basic amenities but not as good as expected from the advertising.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyMAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great location to catch the river taxi. Not much action at this end of the riverwalk. So, if you like quiet, this the place. Staff was very friendly. Let us check in very early because room was available, but A/C wasn't working. They immediately gave us another room. Lobby area was beautiful. Pool was too cold to swim. Bathroom needed updating. (Tub was old and stained.) Other than that, room was okay. Got great deal on it.

Room Tip: Ask for updated room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladysmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I'm on my fourth day of a five day stay and am writing this review on my phone because the Internet connection here is SLOW! SLOW! SLOW! To the point of aggravation!
There are no mini fridges or microwaves in room. The TV is from the last century, and the coffee maker only makes one cup at a time. None of which adds up to 3-stars!
The hotel is clean, comfortable, and the staff is VERY polite.
Skip the $10 breakfast buffet of greasy, chewy bacon, biscuits (no gravy), and cold pancakes. You're better off going out for fast food breakfast.
The location is great but 3-stars? I think not.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I thought the hotel was in the perfect location along the Riverwalk. The staff at the front desk as well as the restaurant were polite, pleasant and very helpful. The service was top notch. Our room was fairly standard. We travel alot and thought that the value for money here was very good. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to San Antonio.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
1,979 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
1,965 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 110 Lexington Ave, San Antonio, TX 78205-1313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $87 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing