We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Value, friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   110 Lexington Ave, San Antonio, TX 78205-1313 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Savings + Breakfast for 2
Ranked #130 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I thought the hotel was in the perfect location along the Riverwalk. The staff at the front desk as well as the restaurant were polite, pleasant and very helpful. The service was top notch. Our room was fairly standard. We travel alot and thought that the value for money here was very good. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to San Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    322
    203
    138
    126
See reviews for
303
321
46
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My review of this hotel is mixed. I found the lobby and restaurant area very attriactive and well maintained. The restaurant and deli staff were terrific. They were courteous and professional and the food was good. There was a meal as part of our business meeting and again the food was well prepared and tasty.
My room was on the VIP floor and it was a mess. Stains on the carpet, either too hot or too cold, two items not working as they should. I had to call at 3 pm to get the room cleaned. Others in our group complained about the size of the rooms and the condition of the rooms. The rates were low for our group, but couldn't they clean the carpet at least?

Room Tip: Don't waste money on the VIP floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spartan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Round Rock, Texas, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We booked here 2 months ago through Price
Line for the Rockn'Roll marathon just to be told our reservations were cancelled the day of check.

El Tropicano doesn't guarantee room bookings if bought through Priceline ...
Tried to speak to a manager and was told they are too busy so said we would wait on hold. After 30 minutes we just gave up.

Saying their customer service was awful would be a huge understatement :(

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I reserved a room through Hotwire for this hotel. The Hotwire site said that it was a 3 and a half class hotel. It is closer to a 2 star hotel. The hotel is VERY old with tiny rooms and almost no bathroom. The carpet was badly worn and the bathroom was dirty. You could here the people in the other rooms televisions and people that were in the hallway getting to their rooms. The only plus was that our rooms air conditioner worked really good. This may have been a 3 and a half star 15 years ago but not anymore. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEWES
Level Contributor
208 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at El Tropicana in the middle of October. The hotel is dated: furniture, furnishings and exterior. It was probably a top notch hotel at one point. The staff was very polite and professional, although it took a long time to get service at the bar. It is located a good distance from the attractions and restaurants along the river walk and the water taxis arrive at 30-minute intervals. I suggest a different hotel when staying in San Antonio..

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor and the room was good sized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ontheroadagain09_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for my birthday weekend. Location was nice right on Riverwalk but not at really noisy part which was good. Building is older but veranda overlooking Riverwalk was very relaxing and nicely landscaped. We got a great price on our room and their breakfast buffet at Mangos was fantastic which was also free with our booking. All the people we interacted with we're super friendly and service orientated. Espresso coffee (their coffee shop) heated our leftovers with no problem. Bars drinks were fantastic and bartender was nice, she came out and checked on us often. Check in staff and housekeeping were both great. Parking is 18$ a day and on site. We will surely stay here again in the future and were pleased with every part of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belue79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

VERY FAR from Riverwalk restaurants and bars. Rooms are old and dingy. I found a personal hair on my soap dish! Hotel is understaffed. Nice patio bar area but furniture looks like it is 50 years old along with the rest of the hotel. Many other great options much closer to main Riverwalk area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank slickjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
Wyndham San Antonio Riverwalk
#92 of 357 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 1,587 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#138 of 357 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#27 of 357 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Property: El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Address: 110 Lexington Ave, San Antonio, TX 78205-1313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier hotel on the San Antonio Riverwalk boasts premium amenities. Indulge yourself at the Holiday Inn El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel in downtown San Antonio. Our tropical hotel is conveniently located near many downtown entertainment and business destinations. As your family arrives at this downtown San Antonio hotel, you will be welcomed by a gleaming mosaic of over 300,000 gorgeous glass tiles, as well as beautiful Mexican art. Situated at the start of the Museum Reach of the San Antonio Riverwalk, our hotel is convenient to local attractions including the Alamo, Tower of the Americas, Market Square, San Antonio Zoo and the Alamodome. You can catch the trolley from our hotel to your destination. Corporate travelers can appreciate the convenience of our San Antonio Riverwalk accommodations with easy access to the San Antonio International Airport, Henry B. Gonzales Center and companies such as Bank of America, AT & T, American Payroll, USAA, Valero Energy and Kinetic Concepts. We also provide business services including faxing, copying, printing and free high-speed Internet access. While lodging at our hotel in downtown San Antonio, see toucans in our aviary, visit our on-call massage therapist, exercise in the 3,000 square foot STRIVE Fitness Studio, swim in the out door heated pool or dine at our full-service restaurant and bar, where kids eat for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing