We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REALLY Comfortable Beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Ranked #29 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here twice in November for events at the Alamodome. We were very last-minute in booking a hotel so everything close to the Dome was full. We wound up here, and it's an excellent location for good restaurants and access to the Riverwalk. If you are in town for an event at the convention center or the Dome, you need to be aware that it's a pretty healthy walk to those venues. It's not impossible--my husband and I are in our early 60s and we managed just fine. One advantage of the walk is that you get a good look at some of downtown San Antonio The hotel has a very modern, cosmopolitan décor that's nicely done. Our check-in for both stays was effortless. The young lady who checked us in the second time was especially helpful and pleasant. The rooms are large since they are suites. The beds had absolutely the best mattresses I've slept on in any hotel. We didn't need to take advantage of the kitchens, but they were equipped with everything you would need to cook and serve a meal. The indoor pool is small, but very attractive with lights that change colors under the water. This was November and it was pretty chilly outside, but the water was nice and warm. We intended to have breakfast in their dining area on one morning, but it was noisy, crowded, messy, and cluttered. They seemed to be having trouble keeping up with clearing away dishes and cleaning tables. If you're staying here, take some time to read the literature in the room about their "green" policy. This was a plus for me. The rooms have recycling containers, and Hilton has used products made with recycled materials throughout the hotel. It's good to be aware that their green policy also means they don't do a full-scale clean-up in your room every day of your stay. I don't know if we were staying her at an off-peak time, but the room rate was very reasonable for a downtown hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. The first time we stayed here, our room overlooked an alley. When we che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishaHMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruiz1, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. It is very much appreciated. I can assure you I will revisit the set up in breakfast to ensure a more enjoyable experience for you and other future guests.

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city.

Thank you and have a wonderful day, we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Wonderful breakfast area, clean rooms and comfortable beds. Nice staff and close to downtown Riverwalk (2 blocks) in San Antonio. Would definitely stay here again. Pool area small, but the kids still had fun.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruiz1, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review. It is very much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the pool area as well. And I am also happy to hear you had a pleasant experience with our staff.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The room was MUCH larger than I anticipated. From pictures I expected a small work area, instead it was as big if not bigger than the sleeping area. I knew it would be close to the Riverwalk and it was. There are some very nice restaurants in easy walking distance -- if you don't like the hotel's continental breakfast the Original Blanco Café is a block away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruiz1, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you so much for your positive feedback, it is much appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed our rooms and also our local Blanco Café restaurant.

Again, thank you and I hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The lobby area is bright and well appointed. The front desk is so informal I walked past it. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions. The common areas are quite intimate and have a bed and breakfast feel. The design colors are a tranquil eggshell, green, and yellow. There are architectual drawings of the building used as art on many of the floors which detail the renovations. The room was spacious enough for two large boys not to trip over each other. The kitchen counter space was sufficient for preparing a family meal and a dining table was hidden under the desk. The room was complete with dishes, a dishwasher, and a fridge for the leftovers. The pool is heated, although it is an indoor pool which made it nice for my boys to take a dip. The pool area is quite tranquil with comfortable lounge chairs, music, and a sliver of sunlight as the windows are frosted to allow for privacy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton
Thank HalfspeedTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruiz1, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. It is very much appreciated. I hope that when you are in San Antonio, you will choose Home2 Suites by Hilton for your Home away from home!

Have a wonderful day and safe travels always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Location and room was fantastic. A few short blocks to Alamo and Riverwalk. Room was quite large, with a large desk and very modern look. Nice to drink out of full-sized waterglasses in the kitchen and to have a floor to ceiling curtain if one wants privacy between the bed and the sofa/TV area. Like all Hilton chain hotels, very comfortable bedding. Only drawback was breakfast, and unfortunately it's the last impression one gets before checking out. There were limited choices, made worse by the fact that the young lady overseeing the breakfast counter was not service-oriented, letting the main hot entree, utensils and even the coffee run out. Having just come from the Hampton Inn in Boerne where the room cost significantly less and breakfast was fantastic, the Home2 Suites experience was worsened by comparison. Sharpen up the service, and Home2 Suites will be 5 star.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwellenNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruiz1, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. It is very much appreciated.

I have addressed your concerns with the breakfast staff to ensure we do all we can to improve in this area and work more efficiently. I thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Again, thank you and have a wonderful day and safe travels always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We booked this hotel for its location near the riverwalk. We were only staying for one (1) night. This hotel is meant for the traveler who needs an extended stay or wants to economize and by food at a store and cook at the hotel. A lot of room in the hotel is for cooking and preparing food as well as using an office. The kitchen and office areas are spacious.

This hotel was fine for us but I do not like hotels whose theme is to cut their costs by cutting your services and then telling you that you are helping save the environment but not cutting your costs. Cleaning services are not daily nor is towel services and there is no service on weekends unless requested.

The shower is a walk in shower rather than a tub which I view as a big positive. unfortunately that benefit was reduced by very low water pressure.

It is good for those who fit their service model. It is just not for me.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammieh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruiz1, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. It is very much appreciated.

In the future should you choose to stay with us again, we do have housekeeping service available everyday upon request. We would be happy to have you back as a guest and hope that you give us another opportunity to service you in the future.

Again, thank you and have a wonderful day and safe travels always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Liked the location very much. Staff very friendly good value. Only down side was cost of parking did read reviews said to park in garage across the street. Only problem when I tried to park some event was going on wanted to charge 18 overnight parking. Decided to park valet at hotel

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jimik859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruiz1, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. It is very much appreciated.

I also appreciate your feedback in regards to the parking, we do our best to be competitive in this market with the fee and are successful in maintaining both service and safe parking for our guests. I am glad to hear you utilized valet.

Again, thank you and have a wonderful day and safe travels always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Address: 603 Navarro St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#61 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $126 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Antonio, the Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, TX hotel features an environmentally friendly renovation with a contemporary loft design. Nestled in a vibrant, urban neighborhood, our downtown San Antonio hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo, the River Walk, Hemisfair Park and the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. Six Flags Fiesta Texas, SeaWorld and San Antonio Zoo are a short drive away. Plan an extended stay at our San Antonio Riverwalk hotel when visiting the HEB Corporate Headquarters, AT&T, Deloitte and other San Antonio companies. Feel at home in a studio or one-bedroom suite with a living area, fully equipped kitchen and movable furniture. Connect to free WiFi and an iHome clock radio with iPod and MP3 docks, or watch a movie on the 42-inch HDTV. Hang out at the Oasis, enjoy a free Inspired Table™ breakfast, watch television, or surf the web on your laptop or a business center computer. Swim in our indoor saline pool or multitask at Spin2 Cycle, where you can run on a treadmill while you run a load of wash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home2 Suites By Hilton San Antonio-Downtown/Near The River Walk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing