We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location--too many misses for non smokers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Ranked #30 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location--too many misses for non smokers”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Traveled here on business in November for a two night stay. The location is awesome, and the price is definitely right, but as they say, you get what you pay for. First, when we checked in, two in our party were given smoking rooms. At the time we made our reservation, we specified non- smoking rooms, and we were told that all the rooms were non-smoking. I was lucky enough to get the last non-smoking room in the hotel. The best they could do for my travel companion was to offer a free item from the market to make up for the inconvenience. The rooms are clean and well maintained, but the stench of the smoking rooms was just too much. Secondly, there is no safe in the room. I don't typically carry a lot of valuables, but we were visiting a plant site, so I would have liked to store my personal items in a secure location in my room. The hotel has some safes behind the desk, but they don't sound particularly functional (long and thin). This hotel supposedly caters to business travelers, but apparently is only interested in making a buck and not generating repeat customers. In short, on our next trip to SA, we'll find a different place to stay even if we have to pay a little more.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    309
    115
    39
    39
See reviews for
391
225
31
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

At first I was very confused - Home2 by Hilton. What does that mean? "Home2"! But I quickly figured out that they were telling me, "It's home too". The staff was just the nicest and very friendly. I was there for a wedding and were concerned with walking distance between the church at La Villita, the reception and the hotels were the other guest were staying. All the locations were on Riverwalk and this hotel was not on the river! What to do!!

Well, it was by far the best location on the entire Riverwalk!! Sure, it's not on the river but that was the best part - it was strategically located so that we were in the center of everything! The rooms were big and clean and our room had a full fridge (great cause the meals are huge everywhere in Texas!) with a microwave and dishwasher - YES, we had real dishes hence the dishwasher!

Oh and the breakfast! Loved the breakfast!! They had these bagels with cheese, eggs and bacon on them that I fell in love with!!

Really a great experience and we even got a great email from the General Manager Gina Ruiz after our stay to make sure we had a great time. I'm a huge fan on Home2 now and I want the world to know.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeyben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We just completed a 5-day stay here and loved it. Great location close to the Riverwalk, the Alamo and other downtown attractions. The decor is fun and hip, yet the suites are well-laid-out and very comfortable. Public parking across the street truly is easy and a bargain at $10 a day. We would definitely choose a Home2 again based on our stay in San Antonio.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Home2 has all the amenities you need with excellent service. Public parking garage across the street is very convenient. Located in historic downtown San Antonio, so you get a good feel for the historic architecture of the buildings at this location. Very close to Riverwalk. I have stayed in hotels on the Riverwalk in the past, and the nighttime activities can be noisy. We stayed on the 2nd floor of this hotel and did not experience that. So we would prefer staying here than directly on the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruiz1, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. It is very much appreciated. We are committed to delivering the best guest experience to all of our guests and I am happy to hear we delivered for you!

Again, thank you and have a wonderful day and safe travels always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Hotel was beautiful, clean and in a great location. We loved that it was only a block from the river walk. Lots of places to eat and things to see around there. Hotel was beautifully decorated. Only drawback was the breakfast area was set up terribly and very inefficiently. You have to reach under the food area to get plates, bowls, utensils, etc. and they are scattered all across the area under the food...so you have to reach between people's legs to get them. On a brighter note, the food was great and the drink selection was excellent. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel is in a good location downtown. We could walk to the Alamo, the Riverwalk and the Mexican Market. Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was just ok, but the hotel was a good value overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Darrell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Overall, this hotel was a great choice for my husband and I. We stayed here for three nights as part of a vacation at the end of Sept. '13. I'll start at the beginning... Since reading reviews before leaving, we planned to park in the garage across the street for $10/day. This worked out really well for us. Valet is $25/day or somewhere in that ballpark. Check-in was easy, the front desk staff was very nice. As a Hilton honors gold member, I sometimes get a snack/water at check-in, but here they gave us tickets for one each day. I thought that was a nice little extra. The layout of the room is GREAT. There is a kitchen area with fridge/sink/dishwasher/microwave/dishes etc. Cooktops can be checked out from the front desk. We didn't use those, but we used everything else and it was such a nice plus to have! Bathroom was fine, shower only-no tub. May be an issue for some. The room had a couch which we enjoy because it's annoying to have to feel like you have sit in bed all the time. Very comfortable bed/pillows etc. We needed extra pillows and they were brought to our room in less than 5 minutes. Also, this is a "green" hotel, so they have incorporated all kinds of things to waste less and for me, that is a HUGE benefit. Lots of recycling, happy to see all that. Nice views too. Staff was awesome...there was a fellow names George (I'm pretty sure) who sort of did it all and he was great. Used the laundry room once, no issues. There is a small pool, but it is nice for a little dip. Great fitness room. Yes, the location is downtown San Antonio, so there are some homeless people around at night...it's downtown in a City...that's the way it goes. You need a key to get in at night, so we felt secure. Breakfast was good. Oatmeal bar, open faced bfast sandwiches, waffles, toast/muffins, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, etc. Plenty for us. Really busy on the Sunday we were there, but almost empty on weekdays. The location is super convenient. We walked all over downtown and could come back here easily if needed. The one issue we had....the first night we had a roach in the room. I get it...older building, the climate, hard to keep them out...but it's not what you want to see in your hotel room, so I had to knock it down a little.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hydroxero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Crockett Hotel
#22 of 356 in San Antonio
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Property: Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Address: 603 Navarro St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#61 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Antonio, the Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, TX hotel features an environmentally friendly renovation with a contemporary loft design. Nestled in a vibrant, urban neighborhood, our downtown San Antonio hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo, the River Walk, Hemisfair Park and the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. Six Flags Fiesta Texas, SeaWorld and San Antonio Zoo are a short drive away. Plan an extended stay at our San Antonio Riverwalk hotel when visiting the HEB Corporate Headquarters, AT&T, Deloitte and other San Antonio companies. Feel at home in a studio or one-bedroom suite with a living area, fully equipped kitchen and movable furniture. Connect to free WiFi and an iHome clock radio with iPod and MP3 docks, or watch a movie on the 42-inch HDTV. Hang out at the Oasis, enjoy a free Inspired Table™ breakfast, watch television, or surf the web on your laptop or a business center computer. Swim in our indoor saline pool or multitask at Spin2 Cycle, where you can run on a treadmill while you run a load of wash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home2 Suites By Hilton San Antonio-Downtown/Near The River Walk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing