We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied with this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Ranked #34 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised how clean, roomy, and modern this place was. The saline pool is small but perfect for a few adults as long as no kids are splashing around.
We enjoyed 4 nights here and will certainly return the next time we're in town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Houston-Navarro corner have decent view of the New Year's Day fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonb1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

983 - 989 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed here in December 2011, when the place had just opened, and returned again December 2012 for a second stay. The desk staff seems improved in experience, and the lobby and common areas of the place still appear to be in great shape. Unfortunately the rooms are already starting to show some general wear, likely due to the limited housekeeping services. The posted sign in the bathroom indicates clearly a list of services housekeeping provides on a daily basis (that includes some attention to floors), and additional features to be provided on a less frequent basis.

After 6 PM on my second night, still no sign of housekeeping services whatsoever. When I phoned the front desk, they seemed genuinely surprised by that and sent someone around very promptly, however she did not do many of the things on the posted list, just a very quick straightening of towels and made the bed and left.

In particular the room floors are not getting cleaned very often, and the carpeted area in the room was very dirty. Had a look to see if there was any vacuum on the housekeeping cart the following day, and didn't see one. Would suggest they add a vacuum. Would also suggest they invest in a Bissell Little Green machine which would easily and get the dirt marks out of the small carpeted areas in the rooms. The dirty carpet is a real turnoff. The walls and doors are getting a lot of little scuffs and marks, and it didn't appear anyone had cleaned the tiny strip of floor behind the toilet in a long long time. Only noticed as I dropped something on the floor...

With regards to the air conditioning/fan it works very well, but seems to be programmed with a very low range, so it turns on and off very frequently when the temperature changes by just one degree. Great for keeping the temperature constant, but had to turn it off completely in order to sleep as it is loud when it comes on and off.

They were having some problems with the elevators being quite squeaky, but they did manage to get one of them fixed and still keep them in service during most of my stay, so again will give points for effort to remedy problems.

It was an excellent price even during a large convention week, and quite handy to everything. It was nice to have the fridge and kitchenette. The staff were quite friendly. I will probably stay there again and just keep my socks on.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuefromBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The room was nice and large and it looked fairly nice. The room itself was filthy with a dirty sock in the corner of the room and lots of dirt and hair in the bathroom. The bathtub plug was broken so I put a fork under it just to make it work. I was in the room one of the days the cleaning lady came in and she didn't even ask about the fork. The food in the breakfast area was really bad too. Another big issues was all of the downtown noise. I kept getting woken up around 4am with leaf blowers cleaning the streets and big trash trucks knocking and banging around.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruiz1, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room and will work with our housekeeping team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Enjoyed the stay in this hotel. The double room suites were very spacious and had a very modern and contemporary look. And most importantly, it is right on the river walk. So cannot beat the location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjeev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I wanted to take a short trip to San Antonio to escape somewhere warmer during Thanksgiving. We're both around 30 and like to be very active during vacations. This hotel served as a great base for us during our trip.

Location
We felt that the location was really nice. We had to do a couple circles on the way in but I don't feel like the hotel was hard to find. We pulled up to the valet, but the attendant gave us a really nice tip. He directed us to the parking ramp across Houston St. from the hotel. The ramp was $9 a day versus the $20+ for valet. A great tip! It was easy to walk to lots of locations: Riverwalk, Alamo, theatres and the market square.

Amenities
Had many of the expected amenities of an extended stay hotel. Free wifi, business center, pool and exercise center. The pool seemed a bit small, but we didn't use it. Breakfast was ok, not a ton of options, but they had these little breakfast pizza things that were pretty good. One of the biggest annoyances of our stay was a lady in the lobby that was posted by the front desk every morning. At first we thought that she was a concierge, but after a while we figured out she was a travel agent of sorts not affiliated with Hilton. While eating breakfast she kept insisting that we come see her and kept asking us if we had made plans for the day. I tend to plan a lot ahead of time, so we didn't really need any help. It would just suggest that the hotel ask her to leave or at least not be so bothersome in the morning during breakfast.

Room
We found the rooms very pleasant and modern. We enjoyed crashing there in the evening and using the fridge and available dishes for some leftovers. The room we were in only had a shower, but that was just fine with us. We were fairly high up so didn't have too much street noise, but better insulated windows might have helped. Also if you're not used to extended stays they don't fully clean the room, just tidy up.

All in all we'd stay again. The rate was overall decent (we used some points for the stay) compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is relatively inexpensive, particularly for properties downtown and close to the Riverwalk. That factor, plus the good valet service, plus the charm of a restored early-20th century office building, are all pluses.

But there are negatives. Perhaps because of the lower cost, the place was overrun by families with kids. Lots of kids. Add to that the fact that only one of the two guest elevators appeared to be working during our stay, and getting up and down was a trial at times.

Because this is a restored building, the lobby was an odd, narrow space. But the front desk people were helpful enough.

"Breakfast" was included, but it wasn't particularly inviting. Even less inviting were a couple of guests wandering around the breakfast area barefoot. That definitely added to the yuck factor.

Our room was large, and the 12th floor view was very pleasant. But the ventilation system was an adventure. The exhaust fan in the bathroom ran continuously. I asked the front desk about it, and they said it was a conscious design factor because the building was a restoration. (Note that the windows are sealed, so they can't be opened for fresh air. That's probably to prevent guests from flinging themselves out the window because of all the kids running around the place.) But the air conditioning was the real problem. I can say without hesitation that it was the noisiest A/C I'd ever experienced. It sounded like the rear end of a Boeing 767.

I'll recommend the place, but with qualifications.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jackcatscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This Hilton concept is interesting. There is a good selection of water, soft drinks, snacks near the check-in desk available for guests to buy. The hotel itself seems to be focused on "green" cleaning, lighting, HVAC, etc. We reserved a room for a family of (4), but the room layout was awkward . . . there was a brief entry and kitchenette and rather large "office," but the sleeping area was tiny and that's were the pullout sofa and bed was located. This would have been perfect for a business traveler, but the layout was not good for (4) people. The bathroom was SPARSE and the giant soap dispenser for shower gel was empty. I just got the impression that very little goes on in the way of actual cleaning and/or attention to detail, but with that said, the hotel is in a very convenient spot and the price point was good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mis_Adventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Address: 603 Navarro St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#61 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $117 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Antonio, the Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, TX hotel features an environmentally friendly renovation with a contemporary loft design. Nestled in a vibrant, urban neighborhood, our downtown San Antonio hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo, the River Walk, Hemisfair Park and the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. Six Flags Fiesta Texas, SeaWorld and San Antonio Zoo are a short drive away. Plan an extended stay at our San Antonio Riverwalk hotel when visiting the HEB Corporate Headquarters, AT&T, Deloitte and other San Antonio companies. Feel at home in a studio or one-bedroom suite with a living area, fully equipped kitchen and movable furniture. Connect to free WiFi and an iHome clock radio with iPod and MP3 docks, or watch a movie on the 42-inch HDTV. Hang out at the Oasis, enjoy a free Inspired Table™ breakfast, watch television, or surf the web on your laptop or a business center computer. Swim in our indoor saline pool or multitask at Spin2 Cycle, where you can run on a treadmill while you run a load of wash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home2 Suites By Hilton San Antonio-Downtown/Near The River Walk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing