We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Suite Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Ranked #56 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staffs are friendly and courteous. The room is clean, bright and airy. Bedding is very comfortable. Breakfast is delicious. Location is excellent, near the Alamo and the Riverwalk. Note: $21 valet parking. We highly recommend this sweet suite hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rosaliabanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 371 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was my second staying at this hotel on a business trip. It is worth reviewing a hotel for the second time so you can confirm or change opinions formed on the first stay.
What changed my opinion on this second revision is the reception: the staff are just polite, but not friendly (as I had found the first staying at).
The rest of my opinion I just confirmed on this second stay:
- "Brand new" facilities
- Large rooms and amazing quality of sleep
- Common areas are good (pool, gym, room for computers, etc)
- Continental breakfast
- Valet parking (21 USD daily)

Next year I will be staying again on this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RT_sam_RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very spacious, beds and pillows are very comfortable, walk-inn closet. The room also have a little area with refrigerator and microwave. Nice sitting area with a working desk.
The breakfast is ok oatmeal, scramble egs, pancakes, cereal, yogurt. Valet parking is a little expensive $21.00 a night.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Grilaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel is your typical Springhill Suites, so there are no surprises there. It is new, clean, and well run. The breakfast was especially good—lots of fruit, eggs and other healthy goodies plus delicious breads if you're into comfort.

But, this is San Antonio, and if you want that city's flavor, this hotel could be a disappointment. It is in an asphalt jungle—parking lots and old buildings line the road between it and the riverwalk. And that road has a couple of intersections that feel somewhere between plain tricky and seriously unsafe. There are no restaurants close by. And, while I generally felt safe alone in that walk at night, I was always glad when it was over.

The hotel is right behind the Alamo--about two blocks from it. Ugly blocks again, though.

And room service still needs a bit more training. They didn't refill my shampoo or makeup remover, and there was a long black hair next to my bed. I have short blond hair.

If you want the real San Antonio experience, find someplace closer to the riverwalk.

Room Tip: If you want a view at all, ask to be on the city side. Otherwise you will face a freeway. Get a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spanishpeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just spent several days at a meeting in San Antonio and stayed at this hotel - clean, fresh and modern with a very nice included breakfast buffet. Staff is very helpful and cheerful. Rooms are clean and new looking. The suite is divided with a partial wall. A desk with a glass, frosted window is against the wall, but the window slides open as desired. Very little dresser room for a suite - small two drawer box in the closet.
We had two very uncomfortable nites when the party animals returned around 2:30 AM and had zero courtesy about talking, raucous laughing, and crude remarks which lasted for almost an hour. I should have called the front desk, but suspect that it is just the type of clientele that this type of hotel is attractive. Management needs to look into this to encourage business clients to return.

Room Tip: Avoid Friday or Saturday evenings, and/or contact front desk immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBR41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I visited San Antonio in October for two weeks. The Springhill Suites hotel is located right in the downtown area and is very convenient to the mall, theaters, restaurants, Alamo, and the River Walk, all within walking distance. I celebrated my birthday on the River Walk with a ride on one of the river's boats, had lunch at an outdoor restaurant and topped it off with dessert in the adjacent mall. The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful at the Marriott. We enjoyed our stay in the Suite which had a microwave and refrigerator and a large enough desk to accommodate a computer and still have room for paperwork on it with room left over. It was nice to have it separated from the sleeping area. Unfortunately, the downsides to the hotel were the cost of parking which is $21.00 per night at the hotel and the high cost of anything purchased from the small pantry area. We would have liked a variety of more healthy foods. There was a great "Whole Foods" store within about a 15-minute ride in the Quarry Mall area, which had some excellent fresh food choices to take back to the hotel. Also, we enjoyed returning to the San Antonio Zoo which is situated in a quarry area, not even 10 minutes from the hotel. We also went to Six Flags to enjoy their Halloween activities. One of our best hi-lights was going to Sea World for their "Howl O Scream" hauntings. They were excellent and we would definitely go back and do them again during the Halloween season. We also visited "Gruene", which is a town about an hour away. It has the oldest "Dance Hall" in Texas and does have country western singers and bands periodically. We ate at the restaurant situated right near the hall, and it had delicious, moderately priced food. There are also some local country stores right down the block from the dance hall and restaurant. It definitely is a tourist haven. We have visited it three times over the years. Although maneuvering the freeways has always been a hassle, and the signage for construction is somewhat confusing, the major highways take you pretty much from point A to B. The airport area, however, could use better signage for their rental car locations. It was quite confusing. Caution is a must when going any distance because quite a few people exceed the speed limits and it adds to a hazardous driving condition certain times of the day. All and all, the hotel's location proved to be an asset in convenience to what we planned on doing and our stay there was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Because of the way the hotel is setup, you are basically looking out at the tops of buildings, so an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRANDMASANDYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to stay. It's only a few minutes walk from the Alamo and a few more minutes to the Riverwalk. The room was spacious and clean. The hotel has a good breakfast and friendly staff. I would recommend it for a family trip or anything else.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank Traveling_Milwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
2,035 reviews
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Address: 411 Bowie St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $101 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Springhill Suites by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza hotel is right next to the historic Alamo and is within walking distance to the famous San Antonio Riverwalk. It is a 6-story building, offering 118 new designed suites that delivers space, style and inspiring spaces that will enrich every guests travel. The SpringHill Suites by Marriott offers complimentary new hot breakfast daily, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, business center, 24/7 Market, on-site fitness center and outdoor heated pool. Valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing