We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room good, staff ok, breakfast tasty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Ranked #44 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Room good, staff ok, breakfast tasty”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very big and spacious. They are very clean. Beds are compfy. Even the sofa bed is good.
Staff are ok. There was 1 cheerfull member, the rest were ignorant and it felt that if I went up to ask them something I was bothering them. They though it was more important to rearrange the lolly pops than to talk to me.
Breakfast was very tasty. Especially the waffle machine. They serve paper plates and cups which makes it feel rather cheap and would create an awful amount of waste. The breakfast area was pleasant.
Gym and pool were fantastic.
Overall a good stay and I would stay again however I do hope the hotel takes onboard my points.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlyingPhilA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    131
    30
    5
    7
See reviews for
103
68
9
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

5-10 minute walk to convention center. Modern decor, clean rooms, friendly service, great breakfast, well-appointed 24hr gym. Also has a pool & hot tub. Only critique is waiting for the parking valet can be a few minutes, but you can call the front desk to request that the valet get your car while you come down. Also pillows aren't that supportive. But would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRHCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Property opened in mid-2011 and is in great shape. Nice modern rooms, not really a suite, but a larger room with a divider and small sink/fridge/microwave area.

Plenty of plugs for your electronics. Nice 40" LCD TV with HD channels.

Location is great, my room had a view of the Alamo. Easy and safe walk to the Riverwalk.

Service was friendly.

Breakfast looked a bit better than the typical Fairfield menu, with some hot items.

I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: HIgh room, with view of Alamo
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jbarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for 7 days in January. It is a great location about 15 minutes from the airport in a small cluster of Marriott properties (Springhill, Courtyard, and Residence Inn) just two blocks from the Alamo. It is an easy walk to downtown, the Riverwalk, and the shopping mall is very close by. It is just on the fringe of respectable neighborhood, but we did not feel unsafe even at night. But valet parking at $21 for night as the only option seems excessive, especially since they just pull it around back. Breakfast was better than the usual Springhill quality and quantity, and the staff was very helpful. The breakfast area was also very clean. The pool area is shared among all three hotels, and is small but well maintained. The beds were very uncomfortable. On nights that it was full, the hallways were loud and could be heard easily from the room. One morning there at 6 am was the hotel night staff knocking loudly on the door next to ours and trying to determine why someone was staying in that room when it was supposed to be vacant. The loud altercation awoke everyone in our room. There is a pizza delivery restaurant that stuffs a flyer under your door EVERY night. When I talked to the front desk, they said they had tried to stop it but were unable. Very annoying, plus not reassuring that non guests have such easy access to the hotel that they can pass out flyers every night and not be detected.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lesnomades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights while visiting San Antonio over the Christmas holidays. I am a big fan of Marriott Springhill Suites, bright and big rooms with clean and modern furnishings, a separate sitting area, a large desk with plenty of outlets that you can charge all your electric gadgets all at once. This one is no different, and it is a brand new Marriott Springhill Suite hotel. Everything worked properly and the staff was very nice. It’s a 5 minute walk to Alamo, and a 10 minute walk to River Walk.

The only thing that I didn’t like about this hotel is the $21 dollar parking fee, but that’s more about hotels in downtown San Antonio (they all charge around that amount) than this one in particular. One helpful tip is that there is plenty of metered street parking around the hotel, at 25 cents an hour, you could easily park on the street for 2 bucks a day (meter is only enforced from 8am to 6pm).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Huskies92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a nice property. It's close to the Alamodome and the Riverwalk (Alamo right around the corner). I was in room 609 - a double queen suite. The room size was perfect, but it was facing the interstate so it was too loud for light sleepers. Also, it seems to attract traveling teenage tournament teams. Unfortunately, we had an adjoining room next to a group of teenage boys who haven't yet learned hotel etiquette. They let the front door slam repeatedly late at night and then again starting at 5 am. Not the hotel's fault, but just a warning that it could happen to you. They were also messing with the door between our rooms during the evening and mine was unlocked when we checked in.

The breakfast was excellent. Plenty of choices to satisfy any appetite. Great healthy choices!

I was prepared for the $21 valet, but I still think it's excessive...

It's close to an excellent for me except for the over-priced parking and risk of noisy neighbors. Marriott can do something about one of those and I would be willing to forgive the other.

I stayed in 3 different properties on this trip. An Omni, a Hampton and this one. Based on this trip, this was my least favorite (but still a 4 out of 5).

Room Tip: Very close to Interstate 37. A room on the west side should be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhymeswithhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a short walk from The Alamo and San Antonio River Walk, in a quiet neighbourhood. If you are lucky you can find parking in front the hotel, instead of the 25$ private parking. The room was very clean and spacious, stylish and modernised. The only negative point was the basic continental breakfast. There was coffee and tea machine at the lobby every day for free.I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoraya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Property: SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Address: 411 Bowie St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Springhill Suites by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza hotel is right next to the historic Alamo and is within walking distance to the famous San Antonio Riverwalk. It is a 6-story building, offering 118 new designed suites that delivers space, style and inspiring spaces that will enrich every guests travel. The SpringHill Suites by Marriott offers complimentary new hot breakfast daily, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, business center, 24/7 Market, on-site fitness center and outdoor heated pool. Valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing