We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Ranked #47 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The value this hotel offers can't be beat! Though not on the River Walk, the location was great. Easy 1-2 block walk to the Alamo, RiverCenter Mall, IMAX, and River Walk. The two connecting rooms we rented were much larger than we expected. The decor was modern and relaxing with spa like colors. Loved the little reading lamps on the headboard. Kitchenette and lounge area in room were very nice. The staff was helpful and the valet parking prompt, This was our second stay in a SpringHill Suites (Las Vegas was our 1st), My husband and I agree this hotel chain was designed just for us and is now our first choice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AzaleaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    124
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
98
63
8
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for a quick two-night trip to visit the River Walk, the Alamo, and Sea World. The location is excellent and within easy walking distance of the River Walk and the Alamo. We qualify for the government discount, so the rates were very reasonable. The hotel, like many located downtown, is situated in a very tight space making parking a bit of an issue. The only option offered by the hotel is valet parking at $21 per night. We are not big fans of turning our car over to a hotel valet, but we didn't have any major problems. The drop-off area is rather cramped; so it doesn't take many cars for things to get uncomfortably crowded. (There is metered parking available with a 10-hour limit for those who want to avoid the valet, if you can find an open space.) Our arrival at the hotel included a few negatives. One was the crowded drop-off area. Another issue involved a couple of requests we made during the reservation process. The Marriot/Springhill website prompts you for a few preferences. One is, would you prefer a higher floor or a lower floor? We requested a higher floor. Upon arrival, we were told no higher-floor rooms were available. (No big deal; but why give me the option if you can't deliver?) Another question on the website was, would you like extra towels? Since we were traveling with children, I selected "yes," we would like extra towels. Our room didn't have extra towels when we arrived, nor were any ever offered. (I'm sure we could have called the front desk and been accommodated; but again, why does the website ask questions that the hotel doesn't deliver on?) One final "negative" about our stay... When we first went to our room, we could barely get off the elevator due to housekeeping carts, supplies, and employees being spread out right in front of the elevators. Apparently there is a supply closet next to the elevators and the area there is used as somewhat of a staging area for preparing the cleaning carts. It was an odd welcome. However, once in our room, we found that it was quite nice... very clean and comfortable. Everything worked(!), which is saying a lot based on many of our other hotel experiences. The bathroom was extremely clean. The tub/shower was perhaps the cleanest I've ever seen in a hotel. Everything, from the tile, to the grout, to the caulk, to the fixtures, was absolutely spotless. (Perhaps the bathroom had recently been remodeled; I don't know.) Our room was also extremely quiet. I don't know if this is due to the design of the hotel or the courteousness of other guests; but it was very nice! We found that the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, particularly the front desk staff and the staff working at the breakfast area. Overall, this is a very nice hotel which we would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank txgrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I researched my stay for a Marriott property for weeks and I kept coming back to this hotel. Not only is the value great, the overall experience for my wife and I's weekend getaway was simply perfect.

I'd like to point out Ray and Jacqueline and their excellent customer service. I was able to check in early and our room in the corner on the top floor had an excellent view of the city and was great. The hotel itself is very modern and so are the rooms. Their is a breakfast every morning but we did not partake because we decided to sleep in but if you read other reviews, you will get an idea of what you get. The pool is nice but it is small but for quick relief of the Texas heat, it will do.

The hotel is very clean and our room was impeccable. The fact about the parking ($21 per night) is true but for us it was a non-issue because we were fortunate to find a space directly in front of the hotel and we just fed the feeder for the few hours it was turned on. I think it's like .25 per hour. Just make sure it's fed between 8-6 and you are fine. If you don't find one, there are other car parking lots in the area that may be cheaper.

The location is great too. You are right behind the Alamo and just a few blocks away from the Riverwalk. My wife and I walked so that we didn't have to move our car and just took a $5 cab ride after a late night of dancing and drinks just to be on the safe side. My only complaint (if any) was that there was no ice machine on our floor but either than that, everything else was top notch.

If you are looking for a great hotel with a great location, this is the place for you. We will definitely stay again !!!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor facing the city. It's worth it. Room 622 is top choice (corner and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank txact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

My family and I were in town for vacation. The location of this hotel was PERFECT! We were literally across the street from Alamo Plaza and within walking distance from the Riverwalk, La Villita, the mall, etc. When we arrived, at check-in time, we were informed that the rooms were not ready because "it was a full house the night before and some people didn't leave on time." My family and I were forced to wait in a lobby full of people while they finished cleaning rooms. After a long drive, this was not the way we wanted to start our vacation. When we finally got checked-in, the room was big enough for my entire family and provided an adequate place to stay after a long, hot day in Texas. The breakfast wasn't spectacular, but served our needs and it was free. The staff was a bit unresponsive to our needs, though. We informed them on the second day of our stay that our TV didn't work properly and it was never fixed. We also went a few times to the Market to buy items that were out and never restocked. My husband even asked if there was any more bottles of wine and the clerk told him, "Yes, but it's in a room way in the back." No effort was made to ever get that bottle for us. Overall, this hotel suited our needs and I probably would stay here again, but you really need to keep on top of the staff if you want anything resolved.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
epenasales, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for choosing the SpringHill Suites Alamo Plaza for your recent stay. We appreciate your comments and letting us know how we can improve our service. We look forward to having you stay with us again during your next visit to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was a very nice Springhill Suites. Newly remodeled like most of them. This one had valet service which was 21.00 per night, but car was parked in attached lot and we could see our car from our window. The valet attendants were friendly and efficient. The hotel and cleaning staff were awesome. The breakfast was pretty good, eggs, ham, potatoes, and the usual pastries and cereal. They also had a couple of waffle makers which made great waffles. the room was beautiful and well equipped with the microwave, mini fridge and wet bar. (very nice to have a sink to use other than the bathroom/vanity sink) This room had a sectional in the sitting area and tables you could pull up to the sofa to eat. Very nice desk area with plenty of places to plug in all your tech stuff! Bedding was beautiful, clean and cozy. very nice room, great staff. Small outdoor sitting area with sofa, chairs and table. Just a quick walk right to the Alamo and the Riverwalk. GREAT location! Plan to visit San Antonio again next year and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed one night with my wife while visiting San Antonio. Rooms are clean, breakfast is standard fare, location is good. Short walk to the Alamo/Riverwalk attractions and easy access to the highway. Rate was quite affordable, but you must deal with the valet charges if you bring a car ($21 in this case). That's pretty much standard downtown SA.. Hotel shares a block with Fairfield Inn (also a Marriott property) and the entrances to both hotels are quite similar.

But while it was quite fine for that one night, I wouldn't stay for longer because of the room design. The rooms (or at least the one we had) are a bit small to be a "suite" and therefore there are some compromises. No safe and no dresser. Toilet right next to bathtub/shower (I mean RIGHT next to). So while its no biggie to use the sofa/sitting area for arranging luggage and clothes, it kind of defeats the purpose.
I've been to other Springhills and they have been roomier.
Wifi was available and free, which I had not expected from reading the hotel description.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oneupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
216 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

wanted a nice downtown hotel without paying a premium price - this one works - very close to the riverwalk mall (one block) access to freeways without the extra noise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Property: SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Address: 411 Bowie St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Springhill Suites by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza hotel is right next to the historic Alamo and is within walking distance to the famous San Antonio Riverwalk. It is a 6-story building, offering 118 new designed suites that delivers space, style and inspiring spaces that will enrich every guests travel. The SpringHill Suites by Marriott offers complimentary new hot breakfast daily, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, business center, 24/7 Market, on-site fitness center and outdoor heated pool. Valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing