We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ask for Dishes WithOUT Jalapena!”

Ostra at Mokara Hotel and Spa
Reserve with OpenTable
Ostra at Mokara Hotel and Spa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 4,597 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: West Crockett Street
Description: At Ostra we proudly present the finest selection of fresh fish, locally sourced produce and organic product flown in from around the world. Our Chef uniquely imaginative cuisine delights diners as they stroll in from the River Walk to enjoy fine fare and one of our famous margaritas. Ostra features exclusive river front terrace dining, a dramatic stone and glass oyster bar and two private rooms to accommodate any guest request. Here, you can expect quality ingredients, an extensive wine selection, specialty vintage tequilas and the highest levels of service in a relaxed contemporary atmosphere.
Princeton, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ask for Dishes WithOUT Jalapena!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

LOVED the food here. We stayed at the Mokara hotel where this restaurant is located, so ate here at least 5 times. Breakfast and lunch prices are reasonable. If jalapena pepper juice burns you, be SURE to ask which lunch dishes are NOT spicy, because almost all of them are and there's NO mention of that on the menu! We ate here 3 times for breakfast with two friends and twice for lunch: once with 4 friends and once just the two of us. Breakfast buffet on Sun. was very nice. Loved the beautiful royal BLUE beverage glasses = really a refreshing color when it's 103 degrees outside every day!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludovic P, General Manager at Ostra at Mokara Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for the review regarding your recent visit at Ostra and stay at Mokara Hotel&Spa!
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. In regards to the Jalapeno, I will pass it on to the Chef. Again thank you for your feedback!
With kind regards,
Ludovic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    207
    72
    30
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced; horrible service!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I couldn't believe how small the portions were for the prices! I ordered a Caesar salad for $9 and it was so tiny! The menu was very limited for a vegetarian. Also, the service was horrible! Our waitress was slow and inattentive. Our food took forever to arrive and our water glasses were only refilled once. Spend your money elsewhere and get a "real" meal that will satisfy!

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludovic P, General Manager at Ostra at Mokara Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. The experience you described are not characteristic of the level of service we provide.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the unsatisfactory experience. Your feedback will be shared with our team and hopefully you will give us an opportunity to re-establish your faith in us.
Sincerely,
Ludovic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not the experience I was hoping for.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Not a pleasurable experience, our waiter seemed kind of rude and snotty. We waited an hour for our food, in less than half filled restaurant. Weird sauces on the food. I got the sea bass which was cooked perfectly but it came with potatoes and capers in a really unappetizing red ketchupy sauce. i would not go back to this place, incredibly overpriced and the food was not that great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mel60956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludovic P, General Manager at Ostra at Mokara Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, they are important to us. We are sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations when it comes to the quality of food and service and will be shared to Chef and Management.
Please accept our sincere apologies and hopefully you will give us an opportunity to re-establish your faith in us.
Sincerely,
Ludovic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great people, great food and drink”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hi. I was there over the weekend with friends. We stayed at the Mokara which is where the Ostra is located. It's a beautiful place with a great bar and outside riverwalk dining. The bartenders were so pleasant and talked to you as if they knew you for years. The cold appetizers are made right at the bar and it's kind of like watching something on the Food network. Outstanding presentation, quality.....get the crab Louis, it's awesome and a lot for 15 bucks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim9995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludovic P, General Manager at Ostra at Mokara Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for sending along such kind and enthusiastic comments...we certainly appreciate hearing them and look forward to your return for more Crab Louie!!! Great food and excellent service are key at Ostra!
With kind regards,
Ludovic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
241 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Ostra is a romantic and elegant restaurant, but with a cool vibe. The oysters on the half shell were excellent....so fresh. The seafood dinner we had was fresh and flavorful. It's as if our table was on the beach and the fishermen caught and cooked our fish. The wine that our server recommended was perfect with our meal. My wife and I had a perfect night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludovic P, General Manager at Ostra at Mokara Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the great feedback regarding your recent dining experience at Ostra. I am pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the oysters, they are fantastic. Come back soon for another great meal.
With kind regards,
Ludovic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ostra at Mokara Hotel and Spa also viewed

 

Been to Ostra at Mokara Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing