We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak salad I've ever had, tremendous menu, doing everything right”
Review of Esquire Tavern

Esquire Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Esquire Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 4,628 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Gastropub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: St. Mary
Transit: Conveniently located in downtown on the San Antonio River, The Esquire Tavern is within walking distance from most major hotels. In addition, The Esquire is serviced by the Yellow Line Downtown Trolley conveniently located at the corner of Commerce and St. Mary’s fifty feet from our front door.
Description: One of the Top 25 Bars in America, The Esquire Tavern opened in 1933 to celebrate the end of Prohibition - a beloved San Antonio watering hole ever since. When it comes to choosing the best Riverwalk bars to spend your time, atmosphere certainly matters. Our legendary establishment is the quintessential downtown bar: dark, cool, redolent with history, and serving cold beer, swanky cocktails, and excellent food. Don't believe us? Step right up and sink your teeth into some handmade SA comfort food including Organic Sirloin Burgers, Crispy Chile Salted Fries, Big Red Empanadas, and Fried Apple Pie with Bourbon Carmel Sauce made from scratch! Now that you trust us a bit more....feel free to stay a while and enjoy hand crafted cocktails using the best of spirits and freshest of juices from the Margarita to the Moscow Mule. Beer lovers, indulge with over 10 Texas/regional brews on tap and enjoy the ice cold bottled beers you love.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best steak salad I've ever had, tremendous menu, doing everything right”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I love this place, and not just for the idea of it, which involves reinventing a historic property (verrrry long wooden bar), infusing it with creativity and ingenuity, improving it with a contemporary menu and fresh approach, and finishing off the idea with great food expertly prepared by an inventive and skilled chef. All in a historic setting. I won't say what the place looks like from outside, with its red neon lettering, but I almost didn't go in. Don't be scared off: this is one of a hundred reasons San Antonio can be P-R-O-U-D. Skip the RiverWalk restaurant chaos and settle into a nice booth in this welcoming dark room. Order a great cocktail or carefully chosen wine and be prepared to have a good meal. I'm a complete fan. The hanger steak salad was the best I've ever had.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PigsFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry B, General Manager at Esquire Tavern, responded to this review, June 19, 2015
We love that you and your family appreciated your meal here at the Tavern, and that you found a Texas brew you can say you really enjoyed. Even better to read was that our staff was courteous and prompt; both are ideals we value greatly, and it's always a pleasure to discover that a guest has experienced both while visiting.

Do let us know when you make your way back to San Antonio; we can reserve the table under the buffalo for you!

Cheers,
Garry Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    364
    104
    37
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Ferrisburgh, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
140 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Place!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Went here because of the reviews- it was great. Service was excellent- very helpful. Wide variety of beers and the food was great- spicy but great flavors. Sat outside above the river- very relaxing

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
“Steak Sandwich/Beer List”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great beer list, mostly local brews. Delicious IPA. Cool vibe. Perfect steak sandwich. My dining companion got a burger and said it was great. Both sandwiches were served with a side of pickled carrots - top notch!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank comet4183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Steak Sandwich Masterpiece”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

One of the best steak sandwiches I have ever consumed. Also tried the fried pickles which were tasty and the french fries were delicious, although I was not a fan of the homemade ketchup. In short, better than your average bar food by a wide margin. Not a very extensive menu but cmon its a bar. Sat outside on the river walk which was nice enough and they had live music inside.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardeeville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique Bar- with craft cocktails, excellent beer.”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Food was out of this world. Some might consider the craft cocktails expensive, but if you do, you've probably never had one this good before. Great local beer. Wonderful place for someone who appreciates good food, good beer and good cocktails. Gets crowded fast, though!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esquire Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Esquire Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing