We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Ranked #59 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would never stay here again”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was our first trip to the USA and after booking and paying for our room 6 months in advance, when we arrived after our train was delayed, we found our room had been booked out, This certainly was not what we wanted to hear at 10:45 pm. It then took another half hour to try and find us a room. They admitted that they had overbooked. We stayed 2 nights here, breakfast was nothing out of the ordinary, had to go down to reception every time I wanted a cup of tea (No facilities in the room, and nothing available), Housekeeping wasn't done on first morning, so nothing replenished (got sick of going to Reception). Only plus is that it was only a couple of blocks from the Alamo and 3 blocks from the Riverwalk.
We would NEVER stay here or at Fairfield Suites again!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mezandgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    108
    35
    10
    7
See reviews for
87
85
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This place is close to the Riverwalk and all the neat places that are around that area. It is walking distance to the Tower of the Americas (think Space Needle). The grounds and the building was very neat & clean. The bedding seemed to be a little old - but that was minor compared to the total experience at this hotel. The breakfast bar was excellent with plenty of overflow seating in the bar area. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
276 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have stayed in several of the overpriced downtown San Antonio hotels before, and this one favorable compares with the best of them. The hotel is a new property, right next to the Alamo. It is easy walking distance to all the downtown attractions. The room was clean and comfortable, with one of the best beds I have ever slept on in a hotel. We were on the top floor, and heard no noise. The front desk personnel were friendly and knowledgeable. A hot breakfast is part of the deal, and was adequate, but nothing special. Parking is valet only, and was $21 per night. To find a hotel like this for under $100 in downtown San Antonio is unheard of. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genelary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Decided to stay at this hotel which was less expensive than along the Riverwalk. Only 1-1/2 blocks from the Alamo and 3 blocks from the river. For the difference in price, the walk did not hurt one bit. Clean and friendly staff. The morning breakfast is nothing to cheer about and the space was crowded the first day we were there. Other than that, no problems.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor. No issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdssr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great service and the most comfortable beds and super soft pillows. Very clean, excellent choices for breakfast, waffles, bagels, coffee and water in lobby all day. Apples, bananas, yogurt, eggs.
Friendly staff bringing out the food.

Location is very close to the Alamo and loved walking to the River Walk. Night Club across the street was not to noisy but you may want to stay on opposite side if you want quiet if on a business trip.
Pool was clean but smaller, but I still enjoyed the sun. Fiesta was on so super busy, would like to go back another time.
Would stay again and the price is very good considering the location of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siggy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night on the way to Houston. They has construction going on so it's hard to critique them fairly. Elevators were so slow. Good location though. Staff very nice. Rooms fair. Probably would opt for the courtyard next door next time but they were sold out. Free parking is nice in this area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtotravel2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Liverpool, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Arrived a little early asked for an early check in our room was ready so no problem. You have to have your car valet parked, they don't rush you while you load and unload. The front desk clerk was very friendly and said if we need anything thing call the front desk. Our room was clean and nice sized. You can see the Alamo walls from the front of the hotel, easy walking distance as well as the Riverwalk. After site seeing we enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Breakfast was very good, hot food, cereal, waffles, fruit, pastries, bagels, muffins and juice, milk, coffee and tea. Would stay here again, loved it!

Room Tip: we were on the 4th floor and it was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
1,855 reviews
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Address: 422 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2063
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing