We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great destination Steak House... Awesome for large groups for Special Occasion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barn Door

The Barn Door
Ranked #152 of 4,589 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $45
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Crownhill
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A great destination Steak House... Awesome for large groups for Special Occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Great Traditional Texas family steakhouse. Great quality food and excellent service! They do extremely well handling large groups and private parties. Also, they butcher their own meat... They have a meat counter that sells fresh steaks to go ( to cook on your own grill); the ribeye's and filet mignon's are excellent! A must-go-to destination steakhouse to visit a couple of times a year; price is reasonable too... A good value! Enjoy!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BLOODYMARY4MEPLEASE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    43
    21
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
207 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Over eating still!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

It was our first time and I know now we waited too long. It was carnivores night. We all ordered rib eyes which were tender and cooked to perfection. A large fresh salad and a baked potato with all the trimmings were the sides. I don't want you to assume this is just a steak house. The menu includes a nice selection of fish and such local favorites as chicken fried ribeye with cream gravy. When we go back I am assuming we will be ordering smaller portions so we can have room for desert.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Steak House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is one of my favorite places to go for a great steak! The service is excellent! I Love their House Garlic Dressing! Everything is Fresh! I Love this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lydia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stopped in this restaurant and never had been to one. The service was excellent and the food was amazing. You can even buy fresh cuts of steak and freshly baked pies.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank snb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lots of parking, reasonable priced steaks, service okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Lots of parking, to include handicapped, covered entrance for inclement weather drop offs, quick seating for a Father's Day. Relatively quite area. Some mix-ups initially by wait-staff concerning orders resolved. Didn't know how to 'dress' a Corona (in San Antonio?). Even waitress apologized for service/ issues. Food/steaks good, not anything to rave about. Medium was delivered medium rare, steak sticks even indicated rare (a bit bloody). Light desserts were good. Overall ok experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dewey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barn Door also viewed

 

Been to The Barn Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing