We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere”
Review of Luke - CLOSED

Luke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Soledad St.
Description: San Antonio is now home to acclaimed Chef John Besh’s restaurant, Lüke, on the city's famed Riverwalk, Besh's first restaurant outside of his home state of Louisiana. The casual chic bistro features a menu of authentic Old World cuisine, combining classic German and French cooking techniques served in a warm and inviting space of stylish vintage interior, situated in San Antonio's popular downtown district. At the helm of the kitchen of Lüke is Executive Chef John Russ, born and raised in New Orleans. At Restaurant August, Chef Russ began to form the relationship with John Besh and he learned the importance of forming relationships with farmers and fisherman, which would later be reinforced by his time working on farms in Alabama, New Hampshire, New York and Maryland. Chef Russ returned to the Besh Restaurant Group as Chef de Cuisine on the invitation of Chef Besh. To complement its cuisine, Lüke offers an extensive wine list and beer selection.
Champaign, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Comfortable atmosphere to relax and enjoy a salad or lunch. The bar was nice and fun to talk to the bartenders. It is attached to the nicest Embassy Suites I have ever been in the last 25 years.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bizman92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    184
    106
    44
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DeKalb, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went to Luke for a company dinner. The building is beautiful and the patios are really nice.
We started with a salad, and for whatever reason, it tasted completely salty. I don't know what the problem was, but it was terrible. We then had lobster bisque, which was very good.
For the main course, I had steak with potatoes, which was delicious. the bread that accompanied the meal was great-fresh out of the oven. For dessert, bread pudding, which was Fabulous!
I don't necessarily know that I would go back--maybe for the dessert. I thought the food was good, but not over the top.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alpine11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of New Orleans in Texas”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Luke is a delight to the eye--two stories of floor to ceiling windows looking out over the San Antonio River and a beautiful carved wood bar. The grilled watermelon salad was beautifully presented and was a whole medley of flavors. My dinner companions raved about the gumbo as well as the bisque. My entree was the barbecued shrimp over jalapeño grits. The shrimp were firm and well seasoned and the grits had a good bite to them. The steak frites, a tenderloin with French fries, were well cooked and delicious. Loved it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donyaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good steak”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Had the ribeye with fries. Very good flavor. Ordered medium. Came out rare. Sent it back and this time was very good.
Sat on the patio and had a very nice evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SinginJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently wonderful”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have been Luke fans for years (New Orleans location), so we wanted to try the one in San Antonio. We were not disappointed! The service was great - even with a minor mix up with a drink and timing of the entree. The manager (Justin) and our waitress handled everything top notch. I am only sad that I didn't get to meet chef John Besh who was supposed to be dining that evening. Hopefully one day!

We had the oysters, shrimp cocktail, salad, pretzel, and soft shell crab entree. The bread pudding was also divine. Can't go wrong with anything here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texanaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luke also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing