We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet stay in a clean, new room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station
Ranked #8 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“A quiet stay in a clean, new room”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for a few days on business. It's a bit removed from the main hub of hotels surrounding River Walk and the Convention Center, but that's actually a good thing. It was quiet, clean, comfortable and overall everything I could have wanted. I did have to walk 15ish minutes to the River Walk area, but that's not bad at all.The staff were very thorough and everything was kept very tidy. I would stay there again easily.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pugsby_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javera1961, Revenue Manager at City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments, I will be sure to pass them along to the entire team! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit. Please let your friends know that we're here for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
18
24
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We found City View Inn & Suites to be a perfect fit for our budget. It was far less expensive than the large chain hotels nearby, yet just as close to all of the amenities and sights (e.g. The Alamo, San Antonio RiverWalk, Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center, etc.). It provided us a high quality, pleasant, comfortable, and relaxing environment during our 6-night stay in May 2013. The 33rd National Orthopedic Nurses Association conference was the reason for our visit to San Antonio, Texas. After checking in with Ernesto, the night manager, late on a Thursday evening, we asked where we might still be able to get dinner. He recommended "Denny's" and "Mi Tierra" (a 24-hour Mexican restaurant). We chose the latter and ate our hearts out. We highly recommend City View Inn and Suites and would consider a repeat stay upon a future visit.
---Allen & Shih-Lin, Brownsville, OR

Room Tip: All 3rd floor rooms offer views of Sunset Station and downtown San Antonio plus they're quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This property appears to be new and is very clean. We were very happy with the size of our room (king bed) and bathroom. It has free parking and free wi-fi and is a couple of blocks from the Alamodome and Sunset Station. It is within walking distance (about a mile) of downtown, but you cross railroad tracks and go under an interstate. Walking it daytime is no problem, but I wouldn't walk it at night.
It is quite small (one room wide by 3 floors) and is missing a lot of what some travelers seem to expect such as free breakfast, lobby area, and a shuttle van. However, we paid half the price we would have paid staying at a place that offers those. (We were in town for a large convention and all the hotels had greatly increased their prices from normal.) The neighborhood is less than stellar, but we had no problems and I didn't feel unsafe walking from where the convention shuttle bus dropped us off 1/2 a block away at night.

If you want a good, clean basic hotel and want to spend most of your tourist dollar on seeing San Antonio as opposed to your hotel, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 57txtraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the start/finish line of the Herothon. We were within very comfortable walking distance to the River Walk, Henry Gonzalez Convention Center, and the Alamo Dome! Each member of the staff was friendly. The hotel is very clean and most comfortable!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank onanadventurelost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a basic hotel, but was great for our family trip to San Antonio. The 5 stars are based on the level of hotel - it is NOT a luxury property, but it is very good value and has free parking. It is easy walking distance to the Riverwalk, the Tower of the Americas, and anywhere downtown. Our room was very clean, front desk service and maid service was good, and having a refrigerator and a microwave in the room made breakfast easy (the hotel does not serve breakfast). The rooms are on the small side.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Conwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My friend and I were in San Antonio for 2 nights, and stayed here one night and then shortly decided to spend the money to stay at a nicer hotel. This hotel was just a lot less than we expected, it just lacked a lot of the amenities I expect from a hotel. It was much smaller than I expected, and the room was very tiny. There was also no morning breakfast (or lobby really, it is just a small entrance way with a desk- no real congregation area) and that is just one of those basic things I expect from a hotel.

There was also a musty smell when you entered the hotel in the lobby, it goes away when you go upstairs but it was just something that made me feel a little on edge about the cleanliness of it if you could not get the smell out.

I also misunderstood the distance this was from the River Walk. It says it is a mile away, but it is across some railroad tracks and seems like it is in a rough neighborhood. I definitely would not want to walk back from the River Walk at night in this area, it seems like night and day crossing the railroad tracks.

If you will not be in your room much and do not mind the rough neighborhood, this hotel would be fine. But you can get a nicer hotel on the River Walk that offers breakfast and dinner and probably end up spending about the same amount of money since you will not have to eat out as much. For a place to crash, this place will work if you are in a fix.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeslieLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityviewinnandsuites, Webmaster at City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the City View Inn during your recent visit to our area.

We have taken note of your suggestions and have taken adequate steps to ensure that the rooms and amenities are in the finest condition. We assure that we shall further do the very best to make our hotel a more comfortable place.

The next time you visit our area, please choose to stay at the City View Inn and you shall be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My friends and I stayed here when we came to San Antonio for an event at the AT&T center (two couples). Since the price was so great on this hotel we decided to make a weekend of it and stay two nights here instead of one night at a hotel on the river walk. The hotel was new and clean. We walked to and from the river walk twice (about a 10-15 minute walk) and we drove there a few times paying $10 for parking each time. There was public transportation near the hotel also. There were lots of people out walking between river walk and hotel so we were never concerned about our safety (Sat night). We found no restaurants except Ruth Chris Steakhouse ($$$$) near the hotel. There were some neighborhood type sports bars about a block down across the street. We passed a Denny's on our way to the river walk. We did hear a few trains during the night - and the hotel is located right on the street- but it was not a busy street, so the traffic noise did not bother us at night. We never had a problem finding a parking place in the hotel parking lot (free parking!!!) The bed was not a "heavenly bed" - but it was not bad either. The only thing that we found unusual was that there was not plastic curtain behind the fabric shower curtain- so the fabric curtain got pretty wet sometimes. Also, the blackout curtains did let a little light in at the bottom. We had a nice view of the Tower of the Americas from our window. There is a cute, old decorated train at the Sunset Train Station- great photo opportunity.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spicy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
La Hacienda Inn Alamodome/Riverwalk
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 357 in San Antonio
1,112 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station

Property: City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station
Address: 1306 E Commerce St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3320
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just steps from Sunset Station and the Alamodome, our new hotel is the perfect starting place to experience all San Antonio has to offer. Our 100 percent nonsmoking hotel offers exemplary service and amenities to accompany our sophisticated comfortable accommodations. Relax in our contemporary luxurious rooms and enjoy the view of the downtown skyline while planning what to see and do. While you are here, take advantage of our free wireless high speed internet access and free in-room coffee service.If you’re traveling for fun, our new hotel will be a highlight of your trip. City View Inn & Suites is located in the heart of Downtown San Antonio, just steps from Sunset Station and the Alamodome and near all the local dining and shopping. You’ll be less than a mile from attractions including the San Antonio Riverwalk, The Alamo and the Texas Institute of Culture and Tower of the America’s. Six Flags Fiesta Texas, the San Antonio Zoo, Seaworld, the Botanical Gardens and the AT&T center are just minutes away. If you’re traveling on business, you’ll appreciate our easy access to HEB, the Convention Center, Boeing and Lockheed Martin. And you can still enjoy our sophisticated contemporary luxury; making your stay both enjoyable and profitable.The City View Inn & Suites at Sunset Station offers exceptional value and luxurious accommodations at a great price. Come experience the best San Antonio has to offer. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station Hotel San Antonio
City View Inn And Suites Sunset Station

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing