We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station
Ranked #8 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Kingstown, St. Vincent
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a few days in April for a conference and found the hotel better than I'd expected. The taxi driver who brought me there was even commenting that I'd made a good choice as the place is quite new. It is not a luxury hotel so don't go there looking for an expansive lobby etc, there is none of that. It is small and basic, but the accommodations are very well put together. Everything in the room is very well maintained and clean. The design of the bathroom is very nice with very nice materials used for the surfaces etc. The Wi-fi was pretty good as well. There is no laundry on site so if you're expecting that as I was...don't.
There is no food facility on site so you will definitely have to go out to eat. The neighbourhood is quite unremarkable which means no charm, and nothing close by of note really. It was very quiet when I was there. I walked a few blocks to Fatty's Burgers which will give you burgers that justify the name, but their cake was bloody tasty! The residences that I saw as I walked to and from the hotel seemed rather run down, and the whole route was so quiet that it was eery. I had the feeling that I was on the outskirts of civilisation.
From my window I had a great view of the Tower of the Americas where I went to have a delicious dinner one day. Some Texan friends and I walked to the Alamo which must have taken about 20 minutes if I recall well, but it was an easy walk anyway. From there we went down to the riverwalk, and after a nice meal and margaritas walked back to the hotel. My friends who were very accustomed to staying in upscale hotels were also pleasantly surprised at the 'niceness' of the hotel...they'd wondered before they arrived what sort of mess I'd gotten them in to.
There were two front desk personnel while I was there, one per shift. One of them was pleasant, the other was a bit indifferent but not 'unpleasant'. The cleaning staff were nice and professional as well. The hotel was so quiet that it may as well have been empty. I slept really well.
Would I stay there again? Absolutely. I think it is a real gem for the budget traveller. Nothing shady, nothing to complain about for me. Budget travellers get some before it runs down!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colly392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
18
23
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Jackson, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We had the BEST experience at this place last year for our Honeymoon in the room with the hottub!! The people were SUPER nice and friendly and VERY helpful!!!! :)) We may just be going again for our Anniversary!! Cant wait!! :))

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed there on May 2012 and were impressed the modern amenities along with the friendliness of the staff. It's a small hotel and is new having only been open for a little over a year from what we were told. We were able to walk to the Riverwalk/Alamo (it's about 5 blocks) from there both days along with walking to the tower of the Americas. The Alamodome is right next door only a couple blocks as well if you have something going on there. If you don't want to walk to the Riverwalk there is a city bus stop right across the street literally a hundred feet from the hotel and will take you to the Riverwalk area if you don't want to walk it which I know not everyone can or will.

For a couple on vacation this place suited our needs and was reasonably priced. If you're traveling to San Antonio this place deserves a look.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenfan_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2012

They wouldn't let me have a room!

I attended a conference in San Antonio March 8-10. I drove into San Antonio the morning of the 8th. I parked in the hotel parking lot and stopped in at the front desk to ask if it was okay if I parked. I mentioned I had a reservation for that evening but hadn't checked in (since it was only 8:00 am). The man at the front desk asked for my name and checked reservations. He said that he didn't have a reservation for me. I told him I made the reservation through Travelocity on March 6, just 2 days prior. He told me he'd check into it and it was okay to park.

I walked back to the hotel around 6:30 pm and went to the front desk to check in. The man at the front desk did not have a reservation for me or any information provided to him about the conversation I had earlier in the morning. I called Travelocity to check on the situation and expected things to be resolved quickly. The Travelocity customer service agent told me that my reservations were made for the 6-8th instead of the 8-10th. He offered no solution until I specifically asked. This was disconcerting since I had already informed him that I was in the hotel lobby trying to check in. He called the hotel. The front desk clerk called his supervisor. Then the front desk clerk talked to the Travelocity customer service agent and told him that they didn't have any rooms available. I have a difficult time believing this is the case, since the parking lot was empty besides my car and another car.

They absolutely refused to work with me and told me it wasn't their fault my reservation didn't go through correctly. Maybe it wasn't their fault. But given the opportunity to solve a problem and do the right thing, they failed. I was absolutely flabbergasted.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityviewinnandsuites, Webmaster at City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Rachael W.,

Thank you for your recent attempt to stay at City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station during your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Front desk staff received additional training in proper communication between their members concerning registrations etc.

• Front desk staff received additional training in the courteous manner in which you, our valued guest, are to be treated.

• Management was approached about having a system that would properly show registrations made online.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to attempt to stay at City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovemyfood86
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Very impressed with this hotel especially for the low price of $70 I would recommend this hotel to anybody because they offer very good amenities such as plasma TVs modern furniture new and very comfortable beds clean linen the hotel smelled nice and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovemyfood86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed here when went to Women of Faith Conference at Alamodome. Able to just walk over to Alamodome and Sunset Station. Staff was friendly and security cameras covered hallways, parking lot, etc. Parking is very limited. Felt very secure here. Planning on staying next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phyllis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Short walk to the Riverwalk and was very close to the Alamodome! Staff was very polite and took care of our every need. My daughter did find a empty beer bottle behind the drapes but other than that it was clean, and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r0xymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javera1961, Guest Relations Manager at City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thanks for your nice review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay. We've shared your comments with our staff and made checking the windowsills behind the drapes part of the daily cleaning routine.
We hope you'll choose us next time you're in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 355 in San Antonio
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
East Side
La Hacienda Inn Alamodome/Riverwalk
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station

Property: City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station
Address: 1306 E Commerce St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3320
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just steps from Sunset Station and the Alamodome, our new hotel is the perfect starting place to experience all San Antonio has to offer. Our 100 percent nonsmoking hotel offers exemplary service and amenities to accompany our sophisticated comfortable accommodations. Relax in our contemporary luxurious rooms and enjoy the view of the downtown skyline while planning what to see and do. While you are here, take advantage of our free wireless high speed internet access and free in-room coffee service.If you’re traveling for fun, our new hotel will be a highlight of your trip. City View Inn & Suites is located in the heart of Downtown San Antonio, just steps from Sunset Station and the Alamodome and near all the local dining and shopping. You’ll be less than a mile from attractions including the San Antonio Riverwalk, The Alamo and the Texas Institute of Culture and Tower of the America’s. Six Flags Fiesta Texas, the San Antonio Zoo, Seaworld, the Botanical Gardens and the AT&T center are just minutes away. If you’re traveling on business, you’ll appreciate our easy access to HEB, the Convention Center, Boeing and Lockheed Martin. And you can still enjoy our sophisticated contemporary luxury; making your stay both enjoyable and profitable.The City View Inn & Suites at Sunset Station offers exceptional value and luxurious accommodations at a great price. Come experience the best San Antonio has to offer. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City View Inn & Suites Sunset Station Hotel San Antonio
City View Inn And Suites Sunset Station

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing