We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful Place To Stay And Well Worth The Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North Stone Oak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North Stone Oak
Ranked #3 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
TX
1 review
“Wonderful Place To Stay And Well Worth The Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Drury Plaza Hotel while attending a casting call in the San Antonio area. The location seems like it was well placed in the middle of San Antonio so everything was about a 10-30 minute drive, depending on where we were going. The staff was very helpful and they were all so kind, one of the ladies even gave us a coupon for 50% off Fiesta TX tickets, which we used during our stay! Our room was also very spacious and clean. We loved the free parking (which seemed hard to find at most other SA hotels) as well as the free breakfast and 5pm kick-back meals which both offered such a wonderful variety of foods for all types of eaters! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and in the area so much that we ended up staying an extra night more than planned! We look forward to returning soon and will definitely make plenty more trips to this hotel as well as other Drury hotels in other locations!

Room Tip: I doubt you will find any issues at this hotel because the way the elevators are set up away from wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    96
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
298
140
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were determined to find a place not too far from the riverwalk and Sea World but wanted it to be clean and modern and within our budget. This was perfect! The area around the riverwalk is okay but after reviews on cars being broken into we chose to stay a short drive away. Here we received a modern, clean (I'm very picky), nice area to stay and budget friendly. After a breakfast of waffles, sausage, eggs, biscuits, cereal, pancakes (made fresh) etc. we went to Sea World and got back at 6 p.m. to find hot dogs, mac and cheese, nachos, etc. Add in 3 drinks a piece (NOT watered down either) and we finished the night watching the kids swim but not before some free popcorn to snack on.There are 2 hot tubs. Only downfall the pool is small but the kids LOVED it. Staff is friendly. Nick at the front desk has a great sense of humor. You get the feeling here that they really appreciate your business. Oh and the eating area is large so you don't feel confined (open with glass windows). The pics you see online ARE what you get. Will not disappoint. Manager Saturday morning was running around cleaning windows etc. making sure everyone was happy. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is our favorite hotel of the Drury Inn's! New, clean, trendy, reasonably priced, and outstanding customer service. My spouse and I have stayed here twice and absolutely love it. This time my mother-in-law came with us and she loves it too (and she's pickier than I am!) Great place-always our 1st choice in San Antonio.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loudguyrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I agree with the other reviewer I was a little skeptical at first but it is wonderful. Employees are always smiling polite and helpful. The food at breakfast and for dinner is pretty good. And wait 3 free drinks per person at night. Now you can't get better than this. The room are big nice and very clean. Unfortunately my only problem is that we had people running back and forth in the hallway and slamming doors all night. But that's not the hotel's fault. Great place and it will be my place of choice from nnow on.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Our family enjoyed this hotel! Great location. Breakfast was the same each morning but was hot and plentiful: Eggs, toast, cereal, coffee, fountain drinks, sausage patties, biscuits and white gravy, pancakes, yogurt and bananas. Pool is on the fifth floor and not too big. There are communal patios just outside the dining area with tables and chairs. Great for coffee in the morning or relaxing in the evenings. Free popcorn and soda every afternoon and a free hot meal at 5:30 PM! Very good if you're with children and on a budget.
Parking garage is attached and private. It can only be gotten into with a key card so we felt an added layer of security.
Just down the road are some high end restaurants with amazing food. Further down are more reasonably priced barbeque restaurants, fast food, etc. Walmart isn't too far away either.

We loved the service and care the hotel took with us. Upon arriving, we found a screw and some kind of bolt covered in sheet rock dust on the floor in our room. Once notified, the front desk called maintenance to make sure nothing on the walls was about to fall on our heads when we were sleeping. They concluded that work had been done in our room and the screw/bolt must have been left behind by accident. Someone came by soon after to collect the forgotten items. Our entire stay was stellar. We would highly recommend this hotel and are so happy with our first experience with the Drury brand that we will be seeking them out again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurquoiseCoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I had originally planned to stay at another Drury Hotel in San Antonio until I read the reivews for the Plaza North on tripadvisor. I found it hard to believe that a hotel could be as great as everyone said. Look guys, it's all true! This place is awesome! When you walk in the door, it's classy and clean. Every employee you meet anywhere in the hotel during your stay says hello and are very friendly. They have a great breakfast buffet every single day. And, the kickback in the afternoon is equally as good. Is it fine dining? No, it is not, but it is good quality food that will keep you from going to the restaurant every day, and they give each adult three adult drinks each day. We took our family of three young kids 13 and under and stayed a full week at this hotel ( we liked it so much, we stayed an extra night!). We only ate a light lunch each day and made it to the hotel for breakfast and dinner. And, yes, it's true that the manager Mike Bazar is wandering around each morning at breakfast cleaning tables and greeting everyone that he possibly can. He was gone to a meeting one day, and the assistant manager took up the slack for him! We were there one morning and they were out of eggs when we got there for breakfast. When they got some ready, he brought a whole plate over to our table....he was paying close attention and making sure everyone was happy! And, I saw him multiple times walking the hallways of the rooms and picking up after the mindless idiots that leave thier messes laying around. They also have a bar that is open after the kickback and you can purchase a six pack, get a beer on tap, or a good mixed drink. Jorge was a great bartender and had a really great personality. And I didn't mention that they have popcorn and the soda fountain open from 3pm to 10pm every day! The place was kept immaculate and it always smelled and looked clean during our entire stay. They have three elevators that are lightning fast and gated, indoor parking that made us feel totally secure. Check-in was fast and the desk help were always nice and helpful. If you need towels, pillows, blankets, or anything else....just call the desk and they will quickly bring it right up to your door! We especially liked the soap dispenser in the shower instead of the small bottles of shampoo and the small soap bar that you normally get. The only real drawback is that the pool is outdoors. Now, it is up on the 5th floor and has a nice view of the city, two hot tubs, pool, and spacious lounge area. It was always kept as nice and clean as the hotel, and of course, there were plenty of roudy kids out there just like all other places, and plenty of mindless parents letting them run amuck! Our room was a double room with two queens in one and a sliding door seperating another room with foldout couch, chair etc. Two TV's which was very conveinent, a small bar area with micro,fridge, and an extra sink and mirror which was conveinent when everyone was trying to get dressed and ready. The beds were very comfortable and good and plentiful pillows on the beds. The A/C system is central and quiet, not like most places with the old unit in the window churning all night while one person freezes by the window! The hotel is on the north end of the loop, but it's only 15-20 mins from downtown, 10 mins from Six Flags, and 20 mins from Sea World. We got a discounted six flags rate, so, it was about $50 a night cheaper than staying right next to all the attractions. It's also not that far from San Marcos and New Braunfels if you were planning to try to to do a bit of everything. There is plenty of shopping, theaters, restaurants, Wal-Mart, HEB, mini golf, ice skating....all within 5 mins of the hotel. We will never stay at another hotel in San Antonio. This is home away from home for us! If I had to rate it 1-5.....I'd give them a perfect 10. You other hotel managers beware.....Mike Bazar is setting the standard at this property!

Room Tip: The laundry, workout room, and pool is on the 5th floor. It was suprisingly quiet on that floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you don't mind staying in accommodations off the river walk but are still a quick drive to everything this is Drury hotels at their finest. Beautiful accommodations, great staff, and and the extras that don't cost extra love Drury hotels!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamionBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Far West Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Atrea Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North Stone Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North Stone Oak

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North Stone Oak
Address: 823 North Loop 1604 East, San Antonio, TX 78232-1343
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North Stone Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North Stone Oak in north central San Antonio is a relaxing getaway close to the San Antonio International Airport and The Shops at La Cantera. The rooftop pool and hot tub overlooks the city skyline. The energy-efficient hotel offers free hot breakfast every morning and free hot food and cold beverages every evening at the 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio North Stone Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing