We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Trolley - don't waste your time or money!”

San Antonio Trolley Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 60 minute Grand Trolley Tours of Historic San Antonio. Hop on Hop off Passes available. Over 50 Points of Interest and Attractions. Live Narration by Professional Tour Guides w/ air conditioned Trolleys. Hop on a Trolley Tour of San Antonio today!
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Grand Trolley - don't waste your time or money!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The ''hopper'' tour for two people was almost $80. Unfortunately that price included a terrible tour guide that continually spoke about his ex-wives and favorite bars and waiting for hours in the cold! We had the hopper tour and chose to get off the trolley at two different stops, it was a cold rainy day and the trolley was almost 45 minutes late both times. When we called to find out what the cause of the delay was, we were told "He is stuck in traffic'' and then hung up on! Unfortunately another trolley that runs on almost the same schedule at the same stopping points drove by us on time. We finally gave up and walked, by the time we got back to the office they were closed because they close at 3:30PM. Complete waste of money and a miserable day!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BJElectric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward t, Owner at San Antonio Trolley Tours, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
i am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your tour. i would have appreciated correspondence made directly to our management team to address your concerns. we dont have any specific information as to what day you took the tour, who the guide was etc. we do not charge $80 for two passengers to ride our service the rate with tax is $56.30. i have looked at our schedule over the past week and we have not ran 45 minutes late at any time. perhaps you were not at the scheduled stop. unfortunatley we cannot address any of these issues without direct correspondence. feel free to email me at etorres@citytoursinc.com. i noticed this is your first and ony frip advisor rating.

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    8
    15
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good way to get to see the town”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

One day we took the river taxi and the other we took the trolley. we enjoyed both. The trolly has a red and a blue line. The one takes you to the local spots and the other one takes you to the outskirts of town. I got a good feel of the city. It's a big city with a home town feel.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Empathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
1 review
“Do not use this Company, not worth time or money”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

There was only one trolley for the whole day and we had to wait for an hour at one of the stops because there was no room for more passengers. When the trolley finally came, there was no sitting room and we had to stand. On one of the stops I almost fell forward. My parents who are older didn't like that there was no room to sit so we ended up not using the trolley anymore and we didn't see much of San Antonio. Other tour companies had more than one trolley and none of the passengers we standing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward t, Owner at San Antonio Trolley Tours, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I am sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the tour. if you had any issues with the tour perhaps you should have contacted the local office. Your comments are somewhat vague, no information on date our time of tour. you mentioned another company offering more trolleys. we operated a trolley on an hourly route, we provide a schedule at the time of purchase. Our trolley had working air conditioning and was narrated by a professional guide. I don't have the opportunity to address your issue with the trolley being full due to the lack of communication with our office, however I do know we were steady this weekend. I wish you would have contacted us directly to attempt to resolve your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good tour”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Took this tour to see a little more of San Antonio than just the Alamo and the Riverwalk. Tour driver did a good job. Saw a lot, learned a lot. Worth your time, especially if you are new to the city.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnandJaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward t, Owner at San Antonio Trolley Tours, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your business and for the response. We appreciate you visiting our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't use this Company”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Their website said they ran trolleys from 9:30 until 4:30 and that trolleys ran every half hour. After we bought our tickets we were told the last trolley left at 3:30 and only ran every hour. For a hop on hop off service, that is VERY inconvenient. Since we didn't want to wait a long time for the next trolley, we walked from one stop to the next and figured we'd catch the trolley there. Their map showed the trolley at one spot and when we called becausecitbhadnt shown, we were told that the stop was at a different location. We ended up walking the whole time and never were able to figure out where to catch it. My advise, use a different company b

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karyn_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward t, Owner at San Antonio Trolley Tours, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
I am sorry the tour did not work out for you. i understand your frustration trying to find our stop. unfortunately the map on the brochure is printed in bulk and due to construction we have had to make changes to our routes. at the time of purchase we did supply a tour schedule with the route, stops and times of pick up service.

Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Antonio Trolley Tours also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Trolley Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing