We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good way to get to see the town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Antonio Trolley Tours

San Antonio Trolley Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 60 minute Grand Trolley Tours of Historic San Antonio. Hop on Hop off Passes available. Over 50 Points of Interest and Attractions. Live Narration by Professional Tour Guides w/ air conditioned Trolleys. Hop on a Trolley Tour of San Antonio today!
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good way to get to see the town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

One day we took the river taxi and the other we took the trolley. we enjoyed both. The trolly has a red and a blue line. The one takes you to the local spots and the other one takes you to the outskirts of town. I got a good feel of the city. It's a big city with a home town feel.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Empathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    8
    15
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Texas
1 review
“Do not use this Company, not worth time or money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

There was only one trolley for the whole day and we had to wait for an hour at one of the stops because there was no room for more passengers. When the trolley finally came, there was no sitting room and we had to stand. On one of the stops I almost fell forward. My parents who are older didn't like that there was no room to sit so we ended up not using the trolley anymore and we didn't see much of San Antonio. Other tour companies had more than one trolley and none of the passengers we standing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward t, Owner at San Antonio Trolley Tours, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I am sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the tour. if you had any issues with the tour perhaps you should have contacted the local office. Your comments are somewhat vague, no information on date our time of tour. you mentioned another company offering more trolleys. we operated a trolley on an hourly route, we provide a schedule at the time of purchase. Our trolley had working air conditioning and was narrated by a professional guide. I don't have the opportunity to address your issue with the trolley being full due to the lack of communication with our office, however I do know we were steady this weekend. I wish you would have contacted us directly to attempt to resolve your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Took this tour to see a little more of San Antonio than just the Alamo and the Riverwalk. Tour driver did a good job. Saw a lot, learned a lot. Worth your time, especially if you are new to the city.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnandJaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward t, Owner at San Antonio Trolley Tours, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your business and for the response. We appreciate you visiting our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't use this Company”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Their website said they ran trolleys from 9:30 until 4:30 and that trolleys ran every half hour. After we bought our tickets we were told the last trolley left at 3:30 and only ran every hour. For a hop on hop off service, that is VERY inconvenient. Since we didn't want to wait a long time for the next trolley, we walked from one stop to the next and figured we'd catch the trolley there. Their map showed the trolley at one spot and when we called becausecitbhadnt shown, we were told that the stop was at a different location. We ended up walking the whole time and never were able to figure out where to catch it. My advise, use a different company b

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karyn_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward t, Owner at San Antonio Trolley Tours, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
I am sorry the tour did not work out for you. i understand your frustration trying to find our stop. unfortunately the map on the brochure is printed in bulk and due to construction we have had to make changes to our routes. at the time of purchase we did supply a tour schedule with the route, stops and times of pick up service.

Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the time or money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Driver, TC, was 15 minutes late and his response to obvious displeasure from customers was..."come on, you're on vacation. Relax" That didn't seem to go over to well and he should realize people may be on vacation but most have limited time to see things and so wasting it is not a good thing. He was personable enough and he tried to be funny. Enjoyed some of his commentary, but some annoying. Plus think he was trying to make up for lost time cause he sped through residential neighborhoods. We left the tour at Mission San Jose. We were supposed to get one full hour but we finished early and went back to pickup point. He arrived about 15 minutes early! Now what if we figured we had the full hour? We would have been stuck there for another hour as it seemed only one trolley running that day. Really poor time management and didn't care for some of his commentary. He started off at the Alamo saying, "there's two stories about the Alamo, the one they tell you in there and the real story." He went on to say there was a list of Masons who fought inside the walls but there was one outside. But he never explained what he meant and we ended up hearing it twice that day! I know he's trying but would definitely recommend skipping this tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ohcaltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward t, Owner at San Antonio Trolley Tours, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, this is the first I have heard of your experience with our tour guide. we strive to provide the best product and the best price possible. I am a bit confused by your comment as it states you left the trolley at Mission San jose, and then you state that the trolley arrived back 15 minutes early, not sure how that occurred if you left tour midway through. we will pass on your comments to TC and review your comments. Thank you for visiting San Antonio and if you wish to contact me my email is etorres@citytoursinc.com.

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Antonio Trolley Tours also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Trolley Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing