We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tour”

San Antonio Trolley Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 60 minute Grand Trolley Tours of Historic San Antonio. Hop on Hop off Passes available. Over 50 Points of Interest and Attractions. Live Narration by Professional Tour Guides w/ air conditioned Trolleys. Hop on a Trolley Tour of San Antonio today!
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Took this tour to see a little more of San Antonio than just the Alamo and the Riverwalk. Tour driver did a good job. Saw a lot, learned a lot. Worth your time, especially if you are new to the city.

Thank JohnandJaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward t, Owner at San Antonio Trolley Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for your business and for the response. We appreciate you visiting our beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 63 of 98 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Their website said they ran trolleys from 9:30 until 4:30 and that trolleys ran every half hour. After we bought our tickets we were told the last trolley left at 3:30 and only ran every hour. For a hop on hop off service, that is VERY inconvenient. Since we didn't want to wait a long time for the next trolley, we walked from one stop to the next and figured we'd catch the trolley there. Their map showed the trolley at one spot and when we called becausecitbhadnt shown, we were told that the stop was at a different location. We ended up walking the whole time and never were able to figure out where to catch it. My advise, use a different company b

Thank Karyn_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward t, Owner at San Antonio Trolley Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

I am sorry the tour did not work out for you. i understand your frustration trying to find our stop. unfortunately the map on the brochure is printed in bulk and due to construction we have had to make changes to our routes. at the time of purchase we did supply a tour schedule with the route, stops and times of pick up service.

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Driver, TC, was 15 minutes late and his response to obvious displeasure from customers was..."come on, you're on vacation. Relax" That didn't seem to go over to well and he should realize people may be on vacation but most have limited time to see things and so wasting it is not a good thing. He was personable enough and he tried to be funny. Enjoyed some of his commentary, but some annoying. Plus think he was trying to make up for lost time cause he sped through residential neighborhoods. We left the tour at Mission San Jose. We were supposed to get one full hour but we finished early and went back to pickup point. He arrived about 15 minutes early! Now what if we figured we had the full hour? We would have been stuck there for another hour as it seemed only one trolley running that day. Really poor time management and didn't care for some of his commentary. He started off at the Alamo saying, "there's two stories about the Alamo, the one they tell you in there and the real story." He went on to say there was a list of Masons who fought inside the walls but there was one outside. But he never explained what he meant and we ended up hearing it twice that day! I know he's trying but would definitely recommend skipping this tour.

Thank Ohcaltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward t, Owner at San Antonio Trolley Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for the feedback, this is the first I have heard of your experience with our tour guide. we strive to provide the best product and the best price possible. I am a bit confused by your comment as it states you left the trolley at Mission San jose, and then you state that the trolley arrived back 15 minutes early, not sure how that occurred if you left tour midway through. we will pass on your comments to TC and review your comments. Thank you for visiting San Antonio and if you wish to contact me my email is etorres@citytoursinc.com.

thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

GRAND TROLLEY TOURS: Where do I start? The man who led us to the trolley said not one word. Didn't smile. Nothing. That should have been our first clue of what we were in for. The brochure's first bullet point is "Narrated Tours by Professional Guides". Our guide got the history of the Alamo screwed up, and then just talked about himself the rest of the time (60 minute 'tour'). The comment that stands out? How he wet the bed on purpose to keep his brothers from sharing the bed. There are 8 places featured on the brochure. We stopped at one for 15 minutes - so that he could eat his lunch. Wish I had that $40 bucks back -- I could have given a better tour!!

Thank DebiBGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edward t, Owner at San Antonio Trolley Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

In response to this comment,as General Manager of First Net Learning I assume that you believe in due diligence and a persons history when comments are made. it is also important to discuss that this is not our first correspondence, you sent me an email on 10/10/13 at 1:43 pm. in this email you talk about how our ticket center was the size of a closet, when in fact it is 420 sq feet located directly in front of the Alamo, you also make disparaging remarks about our city and the neighborhood where many fine San Antonians reside and where i grew up calling them sketchy neighborhoods. i responded then and now by stating that i am proud of our city, take your remarks as disparaging and will defend our guide David as one of the best guides the city has ever seen. Unfortunately due to the Government shut down the Missions are closed and we are making the best of the situation. lastly we appreciate feedback from our customers and is an important tools in improving service levels. in this case i will talk to the owner of the store next door to us that has his college interns walk our customer to the trolley to ensure they get on right trolley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had "chartered" a trolley for our group almost a YEAR IN ADVANCE - was to pick us up at the hotel at 9:15 am -hotel is 1/2 block from their office.) It is a long, long story - won't bore you with all the detail - but one thing to note they dropped some of us off and never returned to pick us up - we had to take a taxi back to the hotel. Those who stayed on the BUS (we never did get our "trolley") got back to the hotel a little before 2!!! Driver (TC) was RUDE - talking on his phone while driving- going over curbs - don't think he had ever driven a bus before....SCARY!!!!

SAVE YOUR MONEY - DO NOT GO ON "GRAND TROLLEY TOURS" I called Management everyday since this, of course they never have called back.

Thank Zabieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Antonio Trolley Tours also viewed

 

Been to San Antonio Trolley Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing