We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BBQ!”
Review of Rudy's Bar-B-Q

Rudy's Bar-B-Q
Ranked #82 of 4,629 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Far West Side
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST BBQ!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have a Rudy's Bar-B-Q down here and I love it so we went to the one in SA and it was of course as delicious and if not just as good, even a little better!! The baby back ribs, brisket and sausage is delicious!! We tried bill Millers in the past and was a BIG dissapointment!! We will keep going to Rudy's!! Don't think you can ever go wrong!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ATA777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    106
    39
    25
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ but why are the dressing items an upsell.”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

The mist brisket was great. This is the fifth Rudy's I have eaten in and the 1st to charge for pickles and onions. Borderline rip off.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“must get cream corn”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We've been here twice and the cream corn is wonderful! The meat variety is good and very tasty. You order as a group and get meat per the pound and a loaf of bread to go with it. The staff is friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Char977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We don't have a Rudy's where we live, so I was very excited to eat there after a day at Sea World. Rudy's is my absolute favorite BBQ place. Their sauce is spicy and perfect! A bit on the pricey side, but it seems like BBQ always is.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank heather l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We tried everything and we LOVED it. Took a ton home too. Great prices and speedy friendly service. The corn is to die for and the free samples don't stop!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Bar-B-Q also viewed

 
 

Been to Rudy's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing