We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible customer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auden's Kitchen - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Auden's Kitchen
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sigma
Description: New restaurant in SA owned by renowned chef Bruce Auden
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
“Horrible customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Horrible customer service, rude management, refused to use a valid Groupon after making a reservation a week before. If you want to go somewhere and be treated like dirt, go to Auden's Kitchen. Groupon has had MANY complaints about this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overprice & Food is Nothing Special !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

It's way over price for what you get. The flavor of the food was nothing special just average. I don't get it how the Fried Chicken is the Critic Choice because it seemed dry & overcooked almost like they re-fried it because it was dark & not golden + the lemon pepper was overwhelming. I ask the waitress if the lemon pepper was overwhelming & she said no but it was for me. For 2 pcs with so so mashed potatoes was $17, I can get better at Church's definitely at Earl Abel's. My husband had the Fish & Chip's & said it was average nothing special & he's had lot better & it was $15.
We felt it was way overprice for the average food & small portions. I would not recommend this place unless you like to overpay for average food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pruske25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantabulous homegourmet cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Everything is good, classy, and unpretentious. Bistro-like atmosphere.
Start with the Cinco martini, try one of their great and nice priced wines.
Don't miss the: beet salad, fried chicken, egg sandwich, and anything else that looks, sounds good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 09foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
416 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Disappointing food and worse service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The recommendation by the concierge stated that the owner was a four time nominee for the James Beard Award. All five of us were very disappointed. Decor is interesting, but minimalist. Menu purports to be American comfort food. I ordered a bottle of wine. The wait person was new and obviously uncomfortable with wine and the menu. She attempted to open the bottle without presenting it; cork broke; the individual responsible for assisting/training her opened the bottle. Vintage did not match that on the list.
I ordered the shrimp bowl with noodles. The shrimp were deep-fat fried!
Chicken marsala with pasta was just average. Very disappointing evening.
Unfortunately, I could not recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The food was good, but the service was slow!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

There were several of us in a private room. I do not know if that made the service slower. Several of us had the shrimp tempura, and it was good. The salads and pizza were reported to be very good. I was torn in the rating between average and very good. The service was pleasant but was unbelievably slow. We waited forever for the check. Finally, several people had to leave and went to get their checks. Some of us remained, and the check still did not arrive. We did have to find someone to bring us a check. Unpleasant ending to a fun lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auden's Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing