We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“San Antonio Riverwalk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Ranked #15 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, Indiana, Usa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“San Antonio Riverwalk”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The exercise romm is small, however the machines are good. I enjoyed the evening cocktail hour, however, the drink selection is limited. The complimentary breakfast has a good selection of food choices that are tasty with the exception of the taste of your coffee. Our conference area received premium coffee and when I attended the first floor breakfast, the coffee was weak. The room size, quality of materials, complimentary amenities in the room & bath, and the location in the building was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank jkwaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,183
    522
    149
    65
    36
See reviews for
775
455
24
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Grove, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was very impressed with the hotel and thought it was a beautiful place to stay. I overall enjoyed my expierience there and the evening reception was great as well as the breakfast choices. The only issue I had was it took a little long to check in and out of the hotel and the vending machines were not working on the 3rd floor. Also the housekeeper did not provide clean towels daily until late day and left the trash two days. Other than that, the stay was great. I would reccomend this motel to anyone. Beautiful place. The restaraunt was not very impressive as they had music that was too loud and table of people that were extremely loud and univiting. The drinks we had were average but the rolls were crisp. Prices also a little high.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived at the hotel way before check-in time. We had been up and traveling since 3AM and were really tired. I mentioned this at the check-in desk and unlike some other hotels we have stayed at, we were able to go to our room to unwind. It was SO appreciated as were the suggestions that were given as to where we could get a quick lunch. Likewise, at check-out, they kindly afforded us an extra 2 hours. The breakfast service was terrific with all sorts of choices. We were up and at breakfast early. We found the staff working early absolutely the friendliest group ever who seemed to enjoy their jobs and the clients. They were so efficient clearing tables. It was wonderful. The hotel restaurant was good as well with very attentive staff. This hotel is located on a quieter branch of the riverwalk. I would definitely recommend staying here mostly for the high quality of service. The rooms are quite comfortable and very clean. The pool is a bit small for such a large hotel, but very serviceable.

Room Tip: higher floors will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethRose640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

A business center without a working fax or printer. Paid Wi-Fi that is slow and doesn't work half the time. Lackadaisical front desk staff with little interest in fixing problems. NOT a hotel to stay at if you are on a business trip. The rooms themselves were decent, and room service was excellent. Not as close to the main part of the Riverwalk as they'd have you believe, though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Zsolt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay experience at the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed both our suites as well as our room service offerings. I apologize that we failed to create for you the overall experience that so many of our guests have had while staying with us. Please know that your feedback has inspired conversations with my team and a member of our staff will be reaching out to you to further discuss your concerns. I hope that should your travels bring you back to San Antonio you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Joe Melton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
123 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just finished 3 nights at this hotel for a conference, the first time this group has used a property like ES for this mtg vs. a full-service hotel. I understand this is a fairly new property which explains the size of the breakfast area-largest I have ever seen for an ES. Same w/the conference space. Guest suites, though, were actually a bit smaller than those at other, older, ES' I've stayed at, which could be an issue for those traveling w/children. Bed was very comfortable, which is my #1 requirement in any hotel. Bathroom in my suite was shower only, no tub-not sure if that is standard throughout the property. I've literally never seen a bathroom vanity as high & wide as this one-it's actually a beautiful piece of furniture on its own. There is a full-service restaurant on-site for lunch & dinner & though I didn't get a chance to try it for dinner, it seemed to be very busy in the evenings & not just from my group. Ordered room service one night which was delivered very quickly-others in my group said the same thing. A few negatives, though:

1. The light over the desk in the living room is way to big & hung way to low for where it is. It's a beautiful fixture, but simply not appropriate for where it is, especially when there is also a desk light sitting right there. The size & location of the hanging light makes it difficult to do anything at the desk if standing up without risking hitting one's head on it.

2. Desk chair is too low for the desk or desk is too high for the chair, take your pick. When I tipped the chair over, it looked like it should have been able raise up further, but I couldn't get it to move. Asked engineering to go up & take a look, but no idea whether they did-chair height certainly didn't change. Shoulders & neck were very sore after trying to work at this desk for 3 days because the chair was too low.

3. Ventilation system is noisy & though there are 3 settings on the wall thermostat for the fan, it ran at the same speed regardless of what it was set on.

I would absolutely stay there again, though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This stay was absolutely first rate in all aspects, save one, there was a $27/day charge for valet parking with no viable options available. The service and room was excellent and the breakfast was the usual high quality experience from Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalals, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed on the riverwalk at this exceptional hote. rooms were very large, clean and modern. The pool was great. You MUST eat at the hotel restaurant LUKE's. The free breakfast and the evening happy hour were surprisingly terrific. Best value for your money!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
3,457 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
3,031 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205-2247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing