We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel....but, Housekeeping Needs to Get Its Act Together!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Ranked #15 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have gold status with Hilton Honors and utilized the eCheck-in functionality to select my room the day before my family and I arrived. We arrived approximately 2.5 hours before the normal check-in time of 3:00p.m. The Valet was friendly and helpful. I proceeded to the front-desk to see if my room was ready and it was not. The front-desk associate attempted to place us in another room; however, it was near the pool (noisy) and terrible view. So, we decided to wait for the room we selected with eCheck-in to be readied. We were advised that they would make it priority to get the room ready. After eating lunch, we returned to hotel two hours later - approximately 2:30p.m. The room still had not been readied at that point. Needless to say I was disappointed at that point and waited for another 40 minutes for our to be ready. The room was clean and in good order when we finally got in.

The complimentary breakfast was fine and the staff attentive. The staff during the complimentary evening "happy hour" was friendly enough. The crudité and cheese plate was a bit boring after the first night and dreaded by my third day. Stay away from the margaritas as they taste like margarita Kool-Aid. Some pasta with an alfredo sauce and/or marina sauce is just as inexpensive and would have been a welcome addition.

The hotel does have great proximity the River Walk and it associated fare - restaurants, etc. as well the ability to head in the opposite direction for a peaceful walk.

On our last full day we left the hotel at 9:00a.m. and did not return till approximately 2:00p.m. Tired and ready to relax after walking around in the 100 degree weather - we were welcomed with an untidy room that had not been refreshed. I called the front desk and they were unable to tell me why our room had been missed. However, they promised to have it addressed immediately. We returned two hours later to the same untidy room. This time I asked to speak to the manger on-duty and was assured that housekeeping was on their way and that the housekeeping supervisor would be coming by as well. Housekeeping did finally show 15 minutes later (4:15p.m.) and cleaned the room. The housekeeping supervisor never came to the room as promised. Which was disappointing, but confirms the lack of leadership in this very important area of hotel management.

Nice Hotel....but, Housekeeping Needs to Get Its Act Together!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay experience with us. I sincerely apologize for the challenges that you encountered during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us and has been shared with our housekeeping staff to ensure issues of this nature do not arise in the future. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us again.

Joe Melton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,644 - 1,650 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our suite was fantastic; we loved the way it was arranged. Everything was very clean and decorated well. The breakfasts and happy hours were wonderful. Especially liked the fact that John Besh's restaurant, Luke, had a spot in the hotel. Great food! Would definitely stay here again, as well as recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Pros- great location, great breakfast, great complementary drinks during happy hour.great freindly service.
cons- stayed three days and the room smelled dirty like sweat, the sofa was worn out and looked dirty and smelled. I could not get another room because the hotel was sold out.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discretionary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Loved it. They have the biggest free breakfast and happy hour feast I've ever enjoyed. It is a large hotel and the weekend was packed but they handled everyone very efficiently. There is an elevator at the back of the restaurant that will take you right down to the riverwalk. The water taxis come by and for $10 you can ride the taxi for 24 hours, getting off and on as often as you wish. The room (suite) was very nice and we ordered room service for one meal which was excellent and very reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkyGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The room was beautiful and clean. The view was amazing looking out over the river. The Complimentary Breakfast was wonderful. I couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable stay. I would recommend the Embassy Suites on the San Antonio River Walk to all of my current and future friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Excellent location and value on the River Walk and close to the Old Market. Very relaxing. Service was excellent from car service to coffee. Front desk very helpful. I would enjoy to stay here again when the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank bafergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was all we hoped for: great rooms, great service, exceptional staff, and excellent food. The location gave us easy access to the restaurants and other entertainment on the Riverwalk and was only a couple of blocks from the Alamo. We would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,204 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,982 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown

Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205-2247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $161 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing