We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Clean, Quiet with Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Ranked #15 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Clean, Quiet with Great Service”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here on a busy weekend when we visited San Antonio for the Texas All State Choir/Band/Orchestra event. The hotel is conveniently located on the Riverwalk and walking distance to many of the city's attractions including the Alamo and the Market. Our suite was spacious with a balcony and a beautiful view of the Riverwalk and surrounding area. The staff was very accommodating to our special requests. We frequently stay at Embassy Suites hotels and found this one to be exceptional. The dining area with the complimentary cooked to order breakfast was laid out well with little congestion and, again, great service. I was pleasantly surprised that the Manager's Reception was held on weekend nights at this locations as most Embassy Suites only hve them on week nights. We will definitely stay here again if we return to San Antonio.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for view of the river but enjoyed it quite a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for the feedback regarding your stay at the Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown last weekend during the Texas Music Educators Association Conference. Our goal is to create guests-for-life and I am very happy that it sounds like we exceeded your expectations in all facets of your stay. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Antonio.

Joe Melton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,231
    540
    156
    68
    39
See reviews for
809
476
24
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

As a diamond member of Hilton Honors we are fortunate to stay a lot of Hilton properties for both business and pleasure. This stay was for pleasure. The rooms at this Embassy Suites do not disappoint. They are well furnished, beautiful and clean. The location on the RiverWalk is terrific. The only disappointment was the food. We love Embassy Suites for the breakfast and managers reception. Both of these were terrible - so much so that we ended up eating breakfast on day two down the street. As an example, the made to order omlett was cooked by putting the ingredients into a folded egg patty. Nothin was well heated nor cooked very well. The managers reception was a mess. People spilled food everywhere and the selection was terrible. I'd like to see something other than gummy worms at a reception. Go for the propery, not the food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe M, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown. I appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback both positive and constructive. I am thrilled that you enjoyed both the location of the hotel and the quality of the guestroom experience. I certainly apologize that we failed to meet your expectations with our complimentary offerings as these are areas where we typically excel. I have shared your comments with our culinary team for follow-up to address your concerns. I hope that should your travels bring you back to San Antonio that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff and helpful with suggestions as to dining and points of interest. Complimentary breakfast includes made to order omelets and complimentary managers reception with alcoholic beverages was an added plus. The suites were huge and very clean and cheerful.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

A great hotel was well placed to get around the city on foot and was just near the Riverwalk.
great breakfast as i do not do breakfast in hotels but this was great. A free happy hour every night for two hours I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIchaelEMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a beautiful lobby area. The rooms are nicely-sized rooms, and the staff is very friendly.
Quality breakfast -- cold, hot breakfast items & made-to-order omelet bar. Happy hour in the evenings.
The location is a little bit of a trek to the river walk activities & convention center.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank StaceyH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
581 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

This Embassy suites is quite nice. It's located on the quiet end of the river walk just a short walk from all the action. The front desk staff were friendly and quick with the check in process. I'd stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jski529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at this Embassy Suites for 1 night in Jan 2013.
When we arrived we thought we'd park in the lot across from the hotel instead of the valet parking the hotel provided. Then we reconsidered thinking the car would be more secure if we let the hotel valets park the car in their underground parking, so that's what we did. We were there for several minutes before anyone noticed us. Once we got valet service it was fast and friendly. Check in was crowded but I don't think it was due to the staff. We were checked in quickly once we got to the desk.

We had a king room on the river view side. The room was spacious and very comfortable. One of the nicest Embassy's we've stayed at and very clean. In addition to the standard dresser, the bedroom had a vanity/dressing table, very nice touch! The balcony was a little disappointing. Yes we had a river view (per say) but we also had a rooftop view blocking the river view. The noise from the units on the rooftop was awful. The balcony had two patio chairs and a side table. We did enjoy sitting on the balcony and the view we had of what we could see of the river and downtown. The bathroom was large with a large sink/vanity area and a large tiled shower. The only issue I had with our room is the shower. Water goes under the glass shower door and puddles on the floor. I dont enjoy stepping onto a soaked floor rug or maneuvering around puddles on a tile floor after my shower. I also was thrilled that we had to use the towels to clean up the mess. Seems like a hotel liability to me.
We didnt attend the Managers reception or have the free breakfast so I cant comment on those. The area where both were held looked nice though.

We enjoyed the short walk to the Riverwalk and we didnt mind that we were off the "main" walk. We had a nice leisurely stroll to the restaurant we wanted to eat at and a nice quiet walk back to the hotel later.

Aside from the shower issue we enjoyed our stay and we would stay here again if in the area. But we'll ask for a lot of extra towels at check-in *wink*

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AutumnJoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,008 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,663 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,140 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205-2247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing