We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Ranked #15 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

A great hotel was well placed to get around the city on foot and was just near the Riverwalk.
great breakfast as i do not do breakfast in hotels but this was great. A free happy hour every night for two hours I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIchaelEMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,797 - 1,803 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel has a beautiful lobby area. The rooms are nicely-sized rooms, and the staff is very friendly.
Quality breakfast -- cold, hot breakfast items & made-to-order omelet bar. Happy hour in the evenings.
The location is a little bit of a trek to the river walk activities & convention center.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank StaceyH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This Embassy suites is quite nice. It's located on the quiet end of the river walk just a short walk from all the action. The front desk staff were friendly and quick with the check in process. I'd stay here again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jski529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at this Embassy Suites for 1 night in Jan 2013.
When we arrived we thought we'd park in the lot across from the hotel instead of the valet parking the hotel provided. Then we reconsidered thinking the car would be more secure if we let the hotel valets park the car in their underground parking, so that's what we did. We were there for several minutes before anyone noticed us. Once we got valet service it was fast and friendly. Check in was crowded but I don't think it was due to the staff. We were checked in quickly once we got to the desk.

We had a king room on the river view side. The room was spacious and very comfortable. One of the nicest Embassy's we've stayed at and very clean. In addition to the standard dresser, the bedroom had a vanity/dressing table, very nice touch! The balcony was a little disappointing. Yes we had a river view (per say) but we also had a rooftop view blocking the river view. The noise from the units on the rooftop was awful. The balcony had two patio chairs and a side table. We did enjoy sitting on the balcony and the view we had of what we could see of the river and downtown. The bathroom was large with a large sink/vanity area and a large tiled shower. The only issue I had with our room is the shower. Water goes under the glass shower door and puddles on the floor. I dont enjoy stepping onto a soaked floor rug or maneuvering around puddles on a tile floor after my shower. I also was thrilled that we had to use the towels to clean up the mess. Seems like a hotel liability to me.
We didnt attend the Managers reception or have the free breakfast so I cant comment on those. The area where both were held looked nice though.

We enjoyed the short walk to the Riverwalk and we didnt mind that we were off the "main" walk. We had a nice leisurely stroll to the restaurant we wanted to eat at and a nice quiet walk back to the hotel later.

Aside from the shower issue we enjoyed our stay and we would stay here again if in the area. But we'll ask for a lot of extra towels at check-in *wink*

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AutumnJoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Wow! I highly recommend this hotel. As others have said, it is in a great location. I had to find a hotel in a hurry and was not able to access TripAdvisor to read reviews. I really lucked out! Hotel is fairly new ( about 2-3 years old)' and is decorated very nicely. Lobby is open and spacious. Elevators have room key card security. My room was really very pretty. Nice walk-in tiled shower, very comfortable bed, and great "living room"area. Everything was very clean and well maintained. Hotel staff was very friendly and check-in was a breeze. Eating area for breakfast was HUGE. Breakfast buffet offerings of food was probably one of the most extensive I have seen at an E.S. the hotel is directly adjacent to a restaurant/bar with good food and a great bar menu ( happy hour daily from 3-6 if you don't want to wait for the manager's reception). This hotel definitely exceeded my expectations, and I have high standards. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank KittyAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

First of all, the managers reception and breakfast are a great deal! It makes it worth every penny if you actually go to both events. The place is decorated nicely and the staff are friendly. The beds are not the most comfortable but it is in a great walking distance to the riverwalk and overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything was right from the room, to security to location to the restaurant experience. The staff was friendly, Luke's Restaurant was a fantastic experience and the overall experience was awesome! I highly recommend the Embassy Suites in San Antonio, TX.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mundialista1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,204 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,982 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown

Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205-2247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $161 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing