We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Ranked #15 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

This relatively new hotel on the Riverwalk I highly recommend. We enjoyed the location, just a but away from the hectic part of the Riverwalk but not so far that the walk would deter you from going anywhere or seeing anything downtown.

We got a great deal on a 2 Queen room so we couldn't pass it up on a very busy week that included the Alamo Bowl and New Years' Eve. We were there as a family for a post Christmas get away with other members of our extended family. Everything was as expected.

Front desk was ready for us upon arrival and check in took less than 2 minutes. The room included all the extra amenities we had requested through Hilton Honors. The view was away from downtown, so nothing special but we had not requested a river view and knew what we were getting for the price.

The room itself had two separate areas, a bedroom with the two queens and a flat screen TV and a living area that included a sofa sleeper, desk area, TV, and bar with fridge, microwave and sink.

The room was well taken care of during our 2 night stay.

The morning breakfast is much better than the Drury properties with prepared to order hot foods and a huge assortment of cereals, fruit, breads, etc.

We did not partake in the Manager's reception (happy hour) so cannot comment but it is nightly from 5:30 to 7:30 I believe.

As others have mentioned valet parking is pricey but in line with other downtown San Antonio properties. The valet attendants were very attentive and had our car ready each time we called ahead to let them know we were leaving the hotel. There are lots across the street that are self-service, $10 for each 12 hours and you pay using a machine that accepts credit cards as well as cash. Beware, the machines do not make change!

Checkout was as simple as collecting our receipt that was slipped under our door on the final morning.

We have stayed at many of the properties on the Riverwalk and this one is very good. It is not a 5 star property with all of the amenities of a full service hotel but it is a step above mid-range properties like Drury in my opinion. We would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the river have no view to speak of. May be worth paying extra to get a river view if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gehrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,241
    546
    160
    68
    39
See reviews for
819
478
24
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

To start with the check in did not go very well. Granted we were early, so we went for a look around and came back after an hour. The front desk staff called the house keeping staff for a time the room would be ready. The house keeping staff said they would get back with a time. After standing at the desk for 15 mins. and nothing from the house keeping staff I asked if they were just ignoring us. We then took a seat in the lobby and waited for the room to be ready. Front desk staff came over and said it would be 15 mins. (remember 15 mins was mentioned before). They did offer us a tea, coffe or water. After waiting 45 mins. and it was then after 3 pm there check in time. We went back to the front desk. The person who was dealing with us had gone for a break and the person who took over said ' oh your room has been ready for 20 mins. but I did not know you were waiting'. The room was fine, view not so good. Better rooms with balconys and views of river walk. Thought we would have been given one of these as we are hilton gold card holders. Could not be bothered to argue the case after check in fiasco. Breakfast not so good. Hot food is always cold. Do not know if this is a Hilton group problem. I have stayed in Hilton Hotels in Oman, England, Abu Dhabi, Turkey, Denver and South Padre Island in the USA. Apart from the Conrad in Istanbul the buffet breakfast hot food is always cold.

Room Tip: Ask for a river walk view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamfanWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The location was perfect. The food was great as well as the service. I had a nice view of the riverwalk and lights. Everything was in walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizquincy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

The hotel was nice along with the room. The bathroom was larger than any of the other Embassy Suits I have stayed in. The managers reception was good but crowded , the only issue we had was a call at 5:00am telling me I needed to go down to talk with the PD about an issues with our car. Turns out someone got a fire extinguisher and sprayed a hand full of cars. The hotel did comp the parking and blew off the car but we still had to take it and get it washed. They probably should have done a little more. Overall the hotel was okay and we would probably stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this property for the first time. It appears this is a relatively new place. The entire place looks very different from a typical old fashioned Embassy Suites we come to expect. The rooms are relatively roomy and the decor is nice. The location was ideal.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_and_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineola, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This had to be the nicest Embassy Suites Hotel I have had the pleasure to visit. We had a River view room. Both the bedroom and living room had a view of the San Antonio River walk. It was beautiful! The amenities and furnishing was first class. The hotel staff was very helpful and will to go the extra mile. Be prepared to use the valet parking as it is the only option unless you park a few blocks away from the hotel in a public lot with limited security. The Breakfast Buffett was one of the outstanding with a wide range of fresh fruit. We will be returning to this hotel on our next visit to San Antonio.

The location is within easy walking distance to all the downtown attractions (Alamo, Market Square, Rivewalk)

Room Tip: Get the River view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bobwbrown83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The positives: new hotel, great location right on the riverwalk, large suites, great restaurant right downstairs (Lukes) , pretty friendly staff, pretty quiet hotel.

The negatives: I ordered the romance package for a birthday stay and got to the room with no champagne or chocolates as promised - had to call the front desk to have it delivered. Expensive parking - however directly across the street pay $ 20 for 24 hrs parking or pay the $ 27 valet hotel parking. Slow elevators had to walk down the stairs.

Overall I would stay here again the price was very reasonable and again the fact that the hotel is very new and the location is perfect outweighs the negatives.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite for a large room and pay a bit more for some upgrades. Still a great value compar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoreTravel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 355 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 355 in San Antonio
3,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
3,726 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205-2247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing