We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Ranked #15 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Beautiful hotel, nice location. The only negative is the outrageous price for valet parking. Enhanced evening reception with great snacks as well as the cocktails. Overall good stay, but again, felt robbed by the parking

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L222j222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,033 - 2,039 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2011

We headed to SA for a fall weekend at Sea World and the Zoo. We had our 2 year old with us and needed a suite so we weren't going to be at 8pm every night. The room was great and the location was awesome. We were on the quite end of the river but the boats still drove by to see and there were ducks and the waterfall was great. My daughter loved walking by the waterfall and indoor water area every morning after breakfast. The room was clean (helped that the hotel was new). We didn't have dirty feet after walking around the room like I had read about some other hotels. My daughter isn't crawling anymore but she still sits and plays on the floor. The air conditioning was pretty loud as usual for a hotel and it was hard to get the right temp. It was either freezing or warm but that's typical for hotels. We would definitely stay here again and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else but on the riverwalk. It's so easy to walk to a restuarant at night or take a stroll in the morning before going out for the day. You wouldn't get that if you stayed at a hotel off the highway.

The only thing I thought was odd and I would suggest for the hotel is adding a safe. I can't remember the last time I went to a hotel that didn't have a safe in the room. It would have also been nice to have paper towels and/or some type of dish soap for the wet bar area. We had dishes and glasses and no way to clean them. Since there is a microwave, refrigerator and eating area people are obviously going to be eating/drinking and have dirty dishes.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if you want a little more space. The Queen vs. King room also gives you a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasMom717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Super location right on the Riverwalk. Rooms were super clean, spacious and decorated very well. Free cocktails and breakfast are always a nice touch. Valet parking is about $25 a day but oyu could find an outdoor lot for less with a little walk...I think the one right across the street is $20 but I saw many for $10. Pool was small but well kept and utilized salt water instead of chlorine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Riverwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RastamanInKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This was our second stay at an Embassy Suites Hotel. We will seek out Embassy Suites on all our trips from this point forward. We loved the location. We walked up Houston Street a few blocks and there was the Alamo. We walked out the door and went right down the steps to the River Walk. There was a water taxi stop right there. We had to walk two blocks on the River Walk until we hit the restaurants and shops but it was nice and close. There was a trolley stop right outside the front door, too.

We loved our room. We had a two bedroom suite and it was clean, nicely decorated and the mattresses were great. The shower had power and we received a free newspaper. We had a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and the usual amenities.

The breakfast buffet was great. The food choices were many. There was French toast, pancakes, sausage, bacon, potatoes, eggs, yogurt, fruit, bagels, muffins, English muffins, toast, pastries, cereal, oatmeal, juices and coffee. They also cooked omelets to order. It was yummy.

They had a manager’s reception every night between 5:30 and 7:30. We knew there was an open bar but we did not expect the food choices here as well. Every night we ate all kinds of munchies. We saved a bunch of money on our food bills because of it.

The staff was extremely helpful and nice. They assisted us with directions, transportation, and other general information. They had a computer dedicated to the airlines and printing boarding passes. That was really handy.

The pool and the hot tub were on the roof in a nice setting. My friend went in the hot tub and said it was really hot.

We heard from others (not personal experience) that the restaurant was really good. People on our tour suggested that we go to Luke. They had gone and loved it.

So, we loved it. We would stay here again in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trishy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed 3 nights for conference at Convention center. About 15-20 minute walk from Convention Center and the Mexican market place (great mexican resturants in the market and typical overpriced tourist trinkets). Hotel suite had a very small living room. Bedroom + living room about the size of a normal sized hotel room. View to back side of hotel (street and parking lot) dissapointing. Pay extra for a riverwalk view. Typical Embassy suites quality and in breakfast and managers evening specials. Staff receptive and nice. Good value with respect to free full breakfast and drinks/snacks in evening (pasta salad, popcorn, cheese, cracker mix, chips and salsa, etc.). If only closer to convention center or market place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve000137209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and I decided to go to SA on the riverwalk for just one night. We stayed at the new (under a year old) Embassy Suites Riverwalk. We arrived early...about 12:30pm and knew our room wouldn't be ready. The valet drivers suggested we leave our luggage in the car since their valet luggage closet was full. We were happy to do that. The front desk clerks were kind and informed us that our room wasn't ready, but we came to enjoy the riverwalk, so we went and found a place to eat and watch the 2nd half of the Texas A&M game (which they won!! whoop!).
We went back about 3:00 and were told everything was ready. After getting our luggage, we went to the room. WOW...it was awesome! We were so impressed! We vacation in Mexico on the Riviera Maya every summer and have always had beautiful rooms at any of the resorts we have visited. The Embassy Suites had the same exact feel. Everything was top notch! The bathroom was gorgeous. The living room was very comfortable and bedroom was perfect. The bed was so comfortable! Each room had a nice flat screen tv and the kitchenette had a nice fridge and micro. The seating area was a good space for 4 people if need be.
Our room was a corner room so we had 2 big sliding windows. One looked out on Houston Street, the other had a peek a boo view of the river. We had a balcony that we could sit out on if we had chosen. There was a wedding being prepared for and performed just one or 2 floors below on the rooftop area. We could have watched the whole thing, except we left for happy hour and more riverwalk excitement.
The weather was just perfect for a nice stroll along the water. It was a wonderful weekend and I am so thrilled we chose to stay at the ES on the Riverwalk!

Room Tip: Valet parking is expensive. If you do not plan on coming and going in your car, there is a parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlfromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Just came back from San Antonio yesterday. This was our fifth visit to the Riverwalk area, and our first stay at the Embassy Suites. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, quiet, and spacious. We requested a river view room with one of the larger balconies (request granted). When booking, ask for this...and an upper level room. Seems the higher your room, the quieter it is. The hotel is conveniently located ON the Riverwalk, and about a two-three minute walk to the Riverwalk shops and restaurants. At street level, there are a couple of coffee shops, some quieter restaurants, and some touristy shops. The Embassy Suites was, by far, our favorite hotel to date on the Riverwalk.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the quietest. Riverview rooms have beautiful views. Large balcony was a great bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wan2Travel960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,141 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,204 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,982 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown

Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205-2247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $161 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing