We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$266
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk(San Antonio)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$240
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni La Mansion del Rio(San Antonio)
$196
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni San Antonio Hotel(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
$159
$149
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crockett Hotel(San Antonio)
$242
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Contessa(San Antonio)
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Menger Hotel(San Antonio)
$214
$132
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveler rating
264
177
69
21
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
177
69
21
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationvalet parkingfront deskthe river walkmarriott pointsmini kitchenwaffleswithin walking distancefull size fridgetwo blocksthe breakfast areamajestic theatershort walkper nightsmall roomfree breakfastvalet service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 560 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I spent a lot of time researching hotels on or very near the Riverwalk for me, my husband, and our 17 and 18 year old sons. TownePlace Suites was very reasonably priced for a room with 2 king beds with a kitchenette and hot breakfast bar.
Our room was fresh, updated, and clean. The bedding, towels, bathroom and kitchenette were so impeccably clean and fresh. We have been to plenty of places where this wasn't the case. The bedspread was a lightweight cotton that probably gets washed after each guest, unlike disgusting spreads you don't even want to sit on, much less have near your face.
The hotel is only about a block to the Riverwalk, 2 blocks to The Alamo, and easily walkable to everything you'd need in a city.
We paid the $25.00 for Valet Parking, but the service was excellent and our car was safe, so we were happy with that decision. Our nephew, who met us at the hotel, parked his car in a 24 hour lot and fed the meter each day. I think it was about 3 blocks away, but he was happy with his choice as well.
Cons: The hotel coffee was cheap and tasteless, so I ended up walking to a Starbucks each morning for my fix, when usually I'm perfectly okay with hotel coffee.
Another thing was that the room was poorly designed. The ample storage drawers and 2 closets were nice, but every door, chair, and drawer interfered with the operation of something. For example, to go into the bathroom, the closet door and vanity drawer had to be closed; to open a dresser drawer, someone sitting in the nearby chair had to move out of the way. These were not deal breakers, but small annoyances for a family of 4.

Room Tip: We did not ask for any particular room location so we ended up with a suite that faced a wall, but that was okay with us because we spent very little time in the room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynTheLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sattdgm, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2015

Thank you for staying at the Towneplace Suites. We are so glad your enjoy your stay with us.
Dee Rullo Siers General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Close to the Riverwalk and restaurants. Breakfast is free, but get there early especially on the weekend when it's packed. The managers social isn't anything to write home about unless you just want snacks and drinks otherwise it's okay. Parking is $24 a day which worth it if you can afford it plan accordingly some people will call to have their cars brought around and hog the very small valet parking area forcing you to get leave your car in the middle of the street as the valet runs over to park it. The front desk clerk told us that sometimes employees park in the valet parking, because they don't want to walk...if this is true management needs to deal with this immediately as valet parking needs to be for hotel guest ONLY. We only had one issue with housekeeping 2 of the days we stayed here the housekeeper did not take out the trash or tidy the room by what I'd call basic hotel standards. On day two we called the front desk and the head of house keeping come up personally and took our trash.
The rooms are nice the kitchenette is perfect for when you don't want to eat out. Wish the trash cans were bigger and had trash bags in them to accommodate guest who actually use the kitchen. Plenty of table space. Beds are comfortable, sheets are light and don't have that over washed funky hotel smell to them. Overall this was a great value for the location for the amenities.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the back of the building there are a few bars behind the hotel that have noisy drunk patrons yelling at all hours of the night, might be hard for light sleepers. There is also a train that passes by around 11:30 PM that might bother some guests.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissPerkyAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This Hotel is in a very good location, walking distance of the River Walk and Downtown San Antonio. It is clean and the staff is very helpfull and friendly. The only negative is it is a little noisy, had to sleep with the A/C fan on to drown out noise.

Room Tip: Ask to be above the first floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MawMawSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel is located in a corner of a busy street, and the main door is literally in the corner, so it is easy to miss it. There is no place to park so a valet parking is a must. We waited hours to be able to check-in, trying to take a walk every time the lady at the counter was saying, "It will be ready in an hour." Nevertheless, several persons who decided to stay in the lobby got their rooms first, even if they arrived a lot later. After more than two hours we went to our room: the sleep sofa was never made, and they did not even leave sheets or a pillow for us to make it. The room was a spacious one, with a kings size bed, a small kitchenette, and a good size bathroom. We noticed that the bottom of the toilet bowl had residues of something that looked like vomit, that the house keeping missed and never cleaned. Our room faced a small street but the outside noise was loud. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to The Alamo, just a block from it, which is very convenient. They advertise an indoor pool, but it is not indoors, and the actual pool is more like a big jacuzzi. The breakfast, included in the price of the room, was not bad. This is the first and last time we book at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at this property to see the Riverwalk during Christmas! During our stay my daughter lost her retainer in the trash. One of outstanding staff members, Ruben S., dug through many bags of trash and found it! Rest of the staff was also very curious and helpful! When we come back to San Antonio, we'll definitely stay at TownePlace Suites.

Room Tip: It is not "on the Riverwalk", but is very close and a great value. Heated pool as also fun for the kids since we were there in December. Great property!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews