We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best best place to stay at Riverwalk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Ranked #112 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“best best place to stay at Riverwalk”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We usually stay at Hampton Inn while on vacation, but when the hotel gets too expensive, we go hunting for another place to stay. So this was the case for our latest trip to San Antonio. TownePlace was about $30 cheaper per night. This location, like Hampton is within walking distance to everything Riverwalk. Surprisingly it was much better than Hampton in every way. Everything looked more modern. The free breakfast was similar, but the breakfast room was much better looking. The hotel room we booked was clean and had a variety of amenities some of which we don't get at Hampton. Besides the usual, our room had an electric stove, microwave, refrigerator with freezer, dishwasher, kitchen sink & faucet, strainer, pot, dishes, forks/spoons/knives, cups, dishwashing detergent, scrubber, desk with chair, and a glass shower door rather than a curtain. We were amazed to say the least. The only problem we had was that the shower door didn't close all the way for whatever reason. The hotel staff was excellent and helpful. As for parking, unlike Hampton, this hotel did not have it's own parking lot. However, we decided not to use the hotel's valet service since it costs more than parking the car ourselves at the multilevel city garage 2 blocks away ($19 for 2 days with 1 overnight). Plus with valet parking we don't know where they parked our car in case we needed to take something out of the it later and all that tipping for a stranger to drive our car doesn't make much sense. After this experience, we will definitely look into TownePlace before looking at Hampton for each hotel stay. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhenOffRatRace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    165
    64
    17
    24
See reviews for
146
164
15
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked this Marriott hotel to save $30 a day over another hotel and was more than pleasantly surprised at everything. Location is great. Staff from front desk valet to housekeeping all very very happy pleasant and helpful. One staffer in the breakfast area, Maria, not only have us advice about going to the waterpark, she packed the kids a snack. So amazing to go out of her way.

Love this affordable place! Close to Alamo and river walk!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieinLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

First off, this is cheaper than the Marriott River walk. I am struggling to determine what more you get for staying at the river walk but it's looking like you are only paying for convenience. For the price, I'd be hard pressed to see how this hotel can be beat. Rooms are exquisite with refrigerators, freezers, stoves, and very nice showers that you would find on an upscale apartment: a full glass wall surrounds it. The service from every single employee was top notch. Very well trained folks here who obviously CARE about their jobs. Maria at the breakfast bar was amazing. If nothing else, stay here for the breakfast! So many options. I was blown away. I had French toast, home fries, sausage, a bagel, sugar free syrup, vanilla coffee, and orange juice. There are also two types of eggs and much much more. This is now my go-to downtown San Antonio hotel!

Room Tip: 3rd floor had a large window with a nice view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thenamesIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Close to everything! Service was fine! Room was great!
Breakfast was so-so, but would still recommend and will be back.
High numbered rooms are farther away from the elevators. Valet parking only or there are lots close by that are cheaper.

Room Tip: 420 was very quiet and on the end away from everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowdie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We called the hotel to help us find this place. Once we got there it was a really nice place. There was a complimentary breakfast (but we couldn't take advantage of it because of an early flight) and a complimentary light dinner. We couldn't stay for dinner either, but they had chili dogs, chips, a garden salad, and tea/lemonade to drink. Of course we found time to enjoy a couple of glasses of red wine! The staff was very helpful and friendly. You can tell that they liked working there.

Room Tip: We had room 212, near the elevator and overlooked the parking lot. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The first night of our stay, the shower would not work in one of our rooms. We were told that it would be repaired at 10:30 that evening. We waited until 10:30. An employee came later that night and simply confirmed that the shower did not work. The next morning, we had to attend our conference unshowered. When we came back at 4:00 the next day, it was fixed.

When we left for our conference on the final day, we checked out but asked that our bags be stowed until the conference ended. We had claim tickets for our bags, so one person submitted seven tickets for the luggage. The employees loaded the luggage in the car, we tipped, and headed out. When we got home we realized that one bag was never given to us. A call confirmed that the ticket had been submitted, but the bag was not given to us. We were told that no one could contact us until Monday and no promises were made that they would ship the bag.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank DebbieKaye6490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, what a great location! The hotel itself was clean and was so nice to have a kitchette. The valet staff was wonderful..really our only complaint is with housekeeping...we did not receive services 2 of the days we were here. While we did have our do not disturb sign out until about 9:30 am, we removed it after that and the cleaning service did not circle back to tidy up our room at all during the day. We had to pick up clean towels at the front desk and our garbage did pile up. The managers reception was also a nice added bonus on wed and thursdays. All in all the loctaion and price cannot be beat and we would recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elchuchoperucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Property: TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Address: 409 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#74 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$29.00 Valet Parking Charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing