We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The best, cleanest, spacious and best service ever!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Ranked #98 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
2 reviews
“The best, cleanest, spacious and best service ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I would like to recommend TownePlaza Suites Hotel in San Antonio TX. I had an awsome experience on my stay there. It is super clean, spacious, good breakfast and the customer service is great. I be back soon!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pitomostro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    158
    62
    16
    17
See reviews for
140
155
12
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed Easter weekend, nice hotel near river-walk. Hotel is clean and modern. Rooms a bit on the small side. Valet parking is a bit high at $23/night. Breakfast bar is inthe basement, feels dark (no windows as you are below grade. overall no complaints, would likely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice for family visits to San Antonio. It is one block from the Buckhorn Saloon and the Riverwalk. This area of the Riverwalk is a happening area too so it is a perfect location. The pool is small but my kids enjoyed it even on a cool day. The evening happy hour on Wednesday & Thursday was nice with free hot appetizers and beer. The free breakfast was great with waffles, eggs, sausages, muffins, yogurt, etc. This is a great value for a family. I also travel for business and would certainly choose this hotel for business as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet_Wine_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just returned after a week and I would give it a high recommend,close to the Alamo,River centre and walk,mall,river cruises,Tower of America,Hemisfair park,Gonzalas convention centre,Majestic and Empire theatre,Alamo bus tours,trolley and electronic green and primo buses and retaurants..Landrys seafood,Texas at Brazil,and Lukes(a john besh restaurannt) with the 50 cent oysters at happy hour 4-6pm..kudos to all three with happy hour food and libations.What am I speaking of ?The restaurants are all within one block.,,Lukes turn right on Houston,.find the rest within one block left, turn right and you will begin to experience it all within less than a mile.The hotel has complimentary hot breakfast and all the usual fare,do not miss the managers happy hour 5m-7pm weds/thurs free wine/beer,appetisers.They do not skimp on one serving.The suites equipped kitchen done well.Also houses a small courtyard with soaking pool..need I say more all is wheelchair accessible and so are the sidewalks of san antonio..lovely ,lovely city full of culture and fiesta..and for the cowboy in you, kiddy corner to the old buckhorn saloon which moved 4 times to this location,old and meaniningful..across from Alamo,wax museum,ripleys,guiness house of records,tomb something or other,a whole 2 blocks for the kidos..buy a 4 dollar day pass ride the trolley and other buses all day long and feel the layout,ride the double decker and pay an extra dollarfor 2 days..go the the mexican market by bus the largest north of the Rio Grande,find the Marachi bar and cafe housed a a huge decorated mexican restaurant in the plaza across from the market.(not to be missed ,Terraza?Go to La Vallita a arts and craftsmen square just outsise and across from Hemisphere park after you do the tower..and more and more..AWESOME SAN ANTONIO I LUV YOU..and not to forget these Texans and visitors are very friendly and kind..

Room Tip: bonus discount for seniors/military and if you are 55 plus..rooms seem all ok and not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank awesometripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice in the last three years.It is still the best hotel value in the downtown area. Located one & one-half blocks from the Alamo & the Riverwalk, it's location can't be beat.The hotel is well maintained & the staff are efficient & helpful.Melissa is a marvel in the
breakfast room.We know where we will be staying on our next trip to San Antonio.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We want to thank you for the kind words you said about our hotel. Your thoughts are important to us, but we're especially pleased when the feedback is positive. We'll be sure to share it with the hotel staff. We try hard to provide the best possible service to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward. The more satisfied customers we have, the more our business will thrive. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Givat Ela
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I absolutely agree with the comments from other reviewers. The hotel is very well located, clean, modern and functional. The breakfast is standard but it has every thing needed for beginning a day. I got a small room, but it was enough for one person. the only negative comment is that the heating-air conditioning was noisy. Lastly,and always important, the staff was excellent, very professional and always willing to help.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edtani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles City, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We found this motel to be modern, clean, and quiet. We had a room by an elevator and didn't hear any noise from it or our neighbors. It is a better value than other hotels in this great location, within walking distance of the Alamo and the Riverwalk. We didn't need to take taxis at all. The only reason I'm not giving it a 5 is that we left some items in the room, and they were not mailed to us as promised. However, the manager took care of it quickly and nicely by giving us reward points on our account, so I was pleased. We will most likely stay here again. The free appetizers, beer, and wine were a nice touch on the days they were available. The breakfast is fine for being free, which I prefer. I'd also recommend walking to Zinc for a great burger.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montana_Traveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Property: TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Address: 409 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2615
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#74 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$29.00 Valet Parking Charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing