We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Ranked #85 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

From making the reservation to checking out, the experience my family had at the TownePlace Suites Downtown was perfect. Because we booked 2 rooms for the week of Christmas to New Year, called the hotel directly to double check all the arrangements and couldn't ask for a friendlier, helpful staff. We arrived way before the normal check in time, and BOTH rooms were ready for us - which was great since I still had so much Christmas present wrapping to do before our kids got in. Rooms were clean, well laid out and plenty enough room. Bathroom was spacious and very clean. Breakfast in the mornings was more than enough with fruit, yogurts, bagels, cereals along with eggs and different side dishes. Plus, location is fantastic. Just 5 min. walk to the Alamo or Riverwalk, 15 min. to Hemisphere Park or Market Square. Valet’s are great – there is a $25 daily fee, and noticed previous review stated cheaper rate for nearby garage, but you can’t leave your vehicle parked overnight and are charged every time you enter/leave. So hotel charge is good. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    150
    56
    12
    13
See reviews for
129
143
11
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were planning to stay just one night so that we wouldn't have to drive all the way back to Austin after visiting the Alamo with our kids and other relatives. It turns out we stayed for two nights because San Antonio offers so much to see and do.

The rooms were pretty basic, but clean, comfortable and modern. Staff were excellent and really well informed about local things to do and see and willing to share their knowledge in that regard.

The breakfast buffet was your standard hotel chain fare. Of course if you have small kids like ours, this is a good thing. They will always eat yogurt, toast with peanut butter, etc. Personally, if I were travelling alone or as a couple, I would've liked to see more Tex-Mex themed food; refried beans etc.

Nice middle America accommodations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Thin walls. Awake most of the night when police raided the hotel room a Ross the hall. Pretty good breakfast but check the milk expiration dates.
Great location for downtown but will probably switch to another Marriott property next time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricWsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

No real complaints. Everything was clean and the service was excellent. Unfortunately, the walls are paper thin. We could hear EVERYTHING going on in the rooms above and below us, as well as the noise from the street. Ended up sleeping with the TV on to drown it all out.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JagWife2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I had never heard of this new property in downtown. I booked online for a fantastic rate for 6 nights. They even extended the great rate for New Years Eve!! The entire staff was very kind. The valet service was top notch. Everyone smiled!!! The location is perfect for walking to all downtown tourist sites. 5 min. walk to The Alamo. The rooms are awesome too. All Suites and comfortable bedding with daily housekeeping service!! The complimentary breakfast was good also! I do not think there would be any reason for us to stay anywhere else when we visit SA.

Room Tip: 6th floor with a view of Tower of Americas was really really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We got a corner room, on the fifth floor and the room is not that large. The main annoying things are the lack of bathtub, not easy when you travel with a child, and the window set up. The windows starts 5 feet above the floor so it give a strange feeling. The breakfeast is not very good, with poor choice and like always those tasteless hard shell wafels (does anybody enjoy those?). The cheesy part is that they charge $25 for parking when a block away you can park for $9 a day (city parking with a green park logo on east houston street). Also the carpet smells in the corridor, in the room, it smells old fart everywhere. The location is good as you are or two away from the river walk. The manager reception is also cheap, you have the choice between duff or duff light, and cheap guacamole and salsa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambridge783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The staff is always friendly and very helpful. Breakfast Buffet is awesome. MY room is very clean and modern. Housekeeping does a great job keeping everything moving. Great hotel close to all the downtown attractions!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 357 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 1,361 reviews
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Property: TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Address: 409 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2615
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#74 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$29.00 Valet Parking Charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing