We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff, great hotel at reasonable rates” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Ranked #103 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful staff, great hotel at reasonable rates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just stayed here with my husband and our dog. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. They were friendly and attentive. The room we stayed in was perfect. Very comfortable and well appointed. They offer free wifi and complimentary breakfast. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone wanting a reasonable priced hotel with a friendly staff in a great location.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieMC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    160
    62
    16
    18
See reviews for
141
157
13
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Arrival experience: Arrived around 8:00 on a Monday morning. The front desk staff went the extra mile and asked me whether I’d like to check in. The only room available was 112, a room equipped for the disabled. I accepted the room so that I could securely store my bags.

Room (general): Overall the room is modern and well made. Kitchenette had all the essentials (microwave, stove top, refrigerator, dishwasher, toaster, coffee maker, plates, cups, cutlery…). Good sized and functional desk. Large flat screen LG TV. However, I don’t recommend room 112. First, it was dusty, which tells me it’s not occupied regularly. Second, the room’s windows face the back alley, and a delivery truck woke me up in the middle of the night. Don’t stay in this room unless you’re a deep sleeper.

Bathroom: Good size, but disability options reduced counter space. The shower is wheelchair accessible but allows water to go all over the place. The shower controls were broken, but I managed to fiddle with them and get them to work.

Bed: Good bed.

Houskeeping: This room needed a good dusting. Otherwise, housekeeping was average.

Restaurants: n/a The free breakfast in the morning is minimal. I stay at this hotel about 3 times a year, and on this visit during spring break the staff could not keep up with the demand for food. On the second morning the breakfast buffet ran out of yogurt.

Bar: n/a - Free happy hour (beer and wine) during the week. Snacks are minimal (chips and salsa and mix of bar crackers/pretzels).

Grounds: n/a – This is a city hotel with no “grounds” to stroll.

Pool: Tiny pool in center courtyard.

Staff attitude/service: Welcoming and very service oriented.

Perks for status: Platinum gift/points offered at check-in.

Parking: Efficient valet.

Misc: Small but gym on-site with good equipment. No bad porter is available. Be prepared to lug your luggage but luggage carts were available. Also, there’s a small “pantry” store in the lobby with snacks available for sale.

Room Tip: Beware rooms that have windows on the back alley. Delivery trucks in the middle of the night make fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utfiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castroville, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a nice surprise! We previously stayed at this property in April 2012.
We were so disappoineted. Checkin was a nightmare! Hotel front desk was apathetic.
The hotel hotel lobby was not well kept. Although, the room was excellent.

WOW! We stayed again on 8/17 it was like a different property!
Valets were great . Checkin was perfect.
I would recommend this property for a great stay downtown. Location is convenient.
Great improvement !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachse, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Everything was great: Location, cleanliness, service, breakfast! // Close enough to The River Walk to be right next to the action without the cost. One block from the Alamo. Front service desk personel were quite friendly and helpful with anything we needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoryC2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

First things first, the location is fantastic. You are close enough to The River Walk to be right next to the action, but far enough away to not pay the premium of a river front location. Excellent restaurants, entertainment, shopping, and The Alamo are just blocks away in a very walkable city.
The pictures on Marriott’s website are true to life. The lobby is very welcoming and comfortable. They’ve designed the hotel with a courtyard and small pool, which is nice. The biggest surprise was the breakfast selection. I was expecting a simple breakfast. Instead I was greeted with the smell of make-your-own waffles and other hot, goodies. In addition there is a wide selection of the traditional cold items.
The rooms are large and fairly clean. There is a very nicely equipped kitchen. For our two night stay we never had use for such a luxury. One downside was that there was no in-room safe, which we typically like to use.
Parking is a little tricky. It’s valet only, which is $24/day, and there are only three spots out front of the hotel. Of our three days in San Antonio, we had to circle the block a few times to wait for a spot to open up. Because your car is parked in a different location, it takes a little while for valet to retrieve your car. But if you plan ahead, it’s a fairly minor inconvenience.
I’m starting to wonder if we are magnets for noisy neighbors. We had another perfectly nice hotel room in which we got poor sleep. All because we could hear the TV of tenants next door every night. And those people watched a heck of a lot of late-night TV. The room across from us had a small dog which was very vocal about his displeasure of being left alone all day.
Overall we found the hotel to be above average. Our poor luck with noisy neighbors is certainly no fault of the hotel. The major pros of the location and spacious, well-appointed rooms far outweigh the petty inconveniences. As avid Spurs fans we visit San Antonio often for playoff games. We’ve never stayed in the same hotel twice. The TownePlace Suites might very well see us again next playoff season.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c_happyplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our stay at TownePlace Suites Downtown was very pleasant! We arrived at a late hour and had some hitches but Victoria at your front desk went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. It is people like her and her attitude towards customers that make us feel welcome. Even our dog Twinkie had a memorable birthday and enjoyed the attention she got.

Room Tip: Just remember you have to walk a bout a block to "walk" your dog at the Travis Park. But i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kannangator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The whole family accompanied me on a business trip. We had not stayed at this new hotel before. I think Marriott is one of the outstanding hotel chains out there, so I had high expectations for this trip. Prior reviews of this specific hotel plus the very reasonable cost for downtown led me to pick this place for our annual July trip. There are definite pluses and minuses for this hotel. A savvy traveler can check out the reviews and make an informed decision!
First, the location in mid-downtown is outstanding. You are one block from Alamo Plaza, one block from the Riverwalk, and three blocks from the convention center. The trolley runs in front of the hotel, and you are across the street from the nearest cab stand. Second, Marriott provides a clean, comfortable room. We slept very well here. The room is beautifully appointed. We did wish there was a sofa sleeper in the room for our fifth party member, but we made do. There is an LCD tv in the room with all the cable channels. The shower provides a pleasant strong stream of hot water, and it seems to be the right temperature any time of the day.
Second, while the hotel offers valet parking at a bit of a steep price, the peace of mind of not having to drive around looking for a parking place in downtown S.A. seems worth it. A call to the valet 10-15 minutes before you need it plus a $3 tip seems okay to me. Plus, everything you need is a short walk or trolley ride fro. Your location here.
Third, the fitness room here has what you need to keep your exercise regimen going, but every Marriott I've stayed at offers this consistently. The pool area is pleasant. The pool is SMALL. No getting around that fact. No diving. More than a half dozen people and you'll be feel like you're in a bathtub. The ambience here is nice though, but the courtyard feels like you're surrounded by windows, and there's virtually no sun unless it's high noon. Towels are plentiful, and there is a phone to the desk in case of a problem. Tiles are slippery when wet!
Fourth, the basement lounge offers a breakfast with hot and cold items. There were powdered eggs, waffles, bacon/sausages, pastries and cereals. Coffee/tea/juice all are available (the coffee is good). It is not a gourmet breakfast, but it can give you a quick start until lunch. Compared to other chains like Holiday Inn, this is lacking in quality. There is plenty of room in the lounge, and flat screen tv's offer all the news channels and morning shows. This is a pleasantly appointed area. Long term plans include adding a bar down here.
Finally, I believe the nightly rate is extremely reasonable for a downtown San Antonio hotel. I should expect to play at least $150 per night to get a decent hotel room in San Antonio, and you definitely get what you pay for. Even with valet parking, this is a reasonable hotel. Okay for families, excellent for business travelers, okay for couples or singles.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Rambotuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Property: TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Address: 409 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#74 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$29.00 Valet Parking Charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing