We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Ranked #120 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I stayed at TownePlace last week for a short recreational stop in San Antonio. It did take one trip around the block to find the parking area out the front for Valet, but that done the whole process was easy. Every staff member I dealt with was friendly and professional. I was offered information for touring the local area and where to go,places to eat. While I was originally concerned about lack of self parking, the Valet setup was very easy. The Valet parking is $23 per day compared to daily self parking across the road at $28. Some street parking is available but very limited.
All in all a great choice, position is great and right next to the River walk and Alamo, the check in was excellent, room spotless with all amenities provided for and the Valet guys were friendly and courteous. All staff were welcoming. The attention to detail in the room was excellent, even down to providing paper towels in the well equipped kitchen. I spend 7 months a year in hotels (mainly 5 star) with my work and can thoroughly recommend this hotel for anything from a short through to a long stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 545 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

Goods:
The room was nice and clean;
Good location;
Bads:
The staff is friendly, but my feeling was that they need more people in order to keep up with all the gests;
The sofa is not a good choice for a third person, very uncomfortable;
The breakfeast is a nightmare! There is absolutely no room for you and your family to sit down, only a few tables that do not fit even 1/4 of the hotel capacity. The line to get anything is always huge and the food is not tasty at all. The staff carries garbage throughout the breakfeast room while you are still there and that is very annoying.
Conclusion:
Eventhough the location is nice and the rooms are good, they should definetely work on their breakfeast. If they improve in this area, this hotel can become an excelent cost effective choice for families and couples.

Room Tip: If you have an infant or toddler, they will provide the crib, but be sure you choose the king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Here we go
1 valet $23 a day( or park your own Car- good luck)
2 very nice valet workers
3 Tracy at checkin is a super worker( tell ya why later)
4 queen queen suite is decent for 2 people not 4
5 bathroom small (bathroom could have been cleaner- I'm really picky)
6 small small pool ( one family at time type) not really indoor but the pool is surrounded by the height of hotel and heated
7 breafast is decent for free( don't expect too much) hard to get a seat
So it gets really crowded
8 Tracy was working the breafast too after checking us in the previous night.. Wow go girl!!!
9 one block from Alamo
10 try the deli (on Houston)
11 the whole city of sa visited the parade.. Crazy crowded ( beware)
12 David at check out was way over
The top for a no room service hotel!! Calm down and relax David
13 now someone said beware of Bryan... But I had no issues with him.. He was polite and very down to earth!!!
14 very nice hotel for price.. Nice presentation of decor.. But it's per friendly and not sure if house keeping can keep up later in years...
15 so for now.. It's a perfect location and clean hotel!!

Iheart travel

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ireviewyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I've stayed here on numerous occasions over the past two years, and this is by far one of my favorite hotels. Even though it's not directly on the Riverwalk, it's only a block away, and if you head a block the other direction you're at the Alamo. You can't beat the room for the price, with a mini kitchen with fridge, microwave and dishwasher. The bathrooms have a HUGE shower, and the free breakfast in the mornings is a great way to save some money and start the day off right. This hotel is also PET FRIENDLY!! There is a fee in order to bring your pet, but it's a flat rate for the stay, not a nightly rate which most of the hotels on the Riverwalk charge. Again, highly recommended hotel. Try it once and you'll be hooked.

Room Tip: I recommend one of the higher floors for your stay as there is a bar around the corner from the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMrsBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here four nights in November and had a great stay. Really liked the kitchen in the room with a full refrigerator, freezer, dishwasher, and microwave. Room was of average size but this hotel is pretty new and in great shape. Lobby is beautiful and breakfast area is clean and spacious on the level below the lobby.

The breakfast was well stocked and contained many hot and cold items. We ate breakfast every day and there was always seating available and the breakfast area was not insanely crowded either. However, I am not sure how booked the hotel was.

The hotel is located on the border of the nice area of downtown and a more run down area. North of this hotel I would guess is an area few tourists venture. However, we never felt unsafe and we walked many times at night. The hotel is less than a five minute walk to the Alamo or the Riverwalk and less than a block from the Buckhorn Saloon. There is a continuous fan in the room that will help block out any unwanted noise while you are trying to sleep.

Valet was decent, if a little bit pricey at $23. Usually took about ten minutes to retrieve the car as there is no parking garage in the hotel. They park your car about a couple of blocks away, which accounts for it taking some time for the valet to retrieve your car. The valet drop off is on the southbound Broadway St. side of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Thank you for a wonder stay at your hotel. All went well. The service was excellent. The breakfast was very nice and the happy hour was a pleasant surprise. The kitchen was great with the possibility to do some serious cooking, but the proximity to nearby restaurants was too inviting. The exercise room was well-equipped and the pool, while small, was fun. I will stay at the TownePlace again when I visit San Antonio.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

GREAT location, just 1 block from the Alamo and 1/2 to the Riverwalk. Plus the fact that these are suites is nice! The breakfast is very basic, but the rate was awesome (about 1/3 of the big hotels on the riverwalk. Great staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crockett Hotel
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
2,061 reviews
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Address: 409 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $115 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$29.00 Valet Parking Charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing