We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Natural Bridge Caverns
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.99*
and up
Natural Bridge Caverns Underground Walking Tour
Ranked #8 of 266 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come on down (way down) at the largest underground attraction in Texas! Daily guided tours allow guests to explore large underground chambers and see huge formations. The largest room is bigger than a football field. Above ground, discover rocks, minerals, and rough-cut gems at the Natural Bridge Mining Company Sluice. The Canopy Challenge will test your agility on over 40 different obstacles while you are on our 4 story, 60 foot high Adventure Course. Then you can fly across the scenic Texas Hill Country on our zip-lines! (Canopy Challenge is open daily but weather dependent.)
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Visiting the Natural Bridge Caverns was a wonderful experience!
My wife and I were visiting San Antonio for a short period of time, and this was one of the best activities we did while we were here.

The caverns are definitely a sight to behold.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ehrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,774
    860
    186
    42
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was such a cool experience! Beautiful! The gift shop had some awesome stuff too. Highly recommend for everyone. I'll definitely go back!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place to visit!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have been there several times, and have enjoyed it every time. Wear comfortable shoes that can get wet (if it's raining.) A long walk, but doable. Good for the family.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank So_Cal_Sporty_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardson
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Brave Grandparents Take 5 Grandkids to New Braunfels”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We went to the Natural Bridge Cavens in New Braunfels, just north of San Antonio. We went to the WIldlife Park first - as most animals are a bit more energetic in the morning. It was too expensive [paid per person, but only got one bag of food per car - others were $1.50 each.] and mostly consisted of deer - the zebras were cute and the ostriches and emus were aggressive about the food. The parks are independently owned, so just know this when heading over to the caverns. We chose the Discovery part of the cavern instead of the hidden treasures, because it is a bit easier to walk - I have a bad knee. I think this is the prettiest cave in Texas - have been to most of them. I have to say that it was a difficult trek for me - was pooped halfway through......walking out is tough - although the rest of my family did it easily......if I did it each day, I would really be in shape!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cool if you've never been inside a cave before”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Informational, pretty structures, and a good workout.

I've been to caves were there are no handles and safety is a major priority so going to a place like this with handles and a pathway is a let down but the sights were pretty.

Things to know...

Take either hiking boots or shoes with good traction (no Vans, Converse, flip flops, etc.)

Wear cool clothing and if possible bring a battery fan if you don't like warm humidity. I would advise bringing an extra set of clothing to change into afterwards if you can't go back to your room right away, I found it necessary.

Don't bring small children, it is much too dangerous if they get excited and forget that the pathway is damp and start running. There are however, activities for children to do outside the caves.

Bring water and if you like cool water make sure its still cool when you start because the tour is over an hour long.

This is not for people who can not walk on their own or wheelchair bound. It would be impossible to adjust it for handicap persons while keeping the integrity of the caves.

There are coupons for admissions in many of the San Antonio brochures at most hotels.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural Bridge Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Natural Bridge Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing