We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Natural Bridge Caverns

Natural Bridge Caverns
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.99*
and up
Natural Bridge Caverns Underground Walking Tour
Ranked #8 of 262 things to do in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come on down (way down) at the largest underground attraction in Texas! Daily guided tours allow guests to explore large underground chambers and see huge formations. The largest room is bigger than a football field. Above ground, discover rocks, minerals, and rough-cut gems at the Natural Bridge Mining Company Sluice. The Canopy Challenge will test your agility on over 40 different obstacles while you are on our 4 story, 60 foot high Adventure Course. Then you can fly across the scenic Texas Hill Country on our zip-lines! (Canopy Challenge is open daily but weather dependent.)
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Largo, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very fascinating and the price was reasonable and inexpensive! A total must see when in the San Antonio area, only about 20 minutes from the city.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,654
    816
    175
    41
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Branch, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Kind of pricey for a large family on a budget!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We decides to take the kids to check it out. It was a long walk, of course it was a little dark, it is located underground. Every part of this tour was just so beautiful. Walking shoes is definately a must, because we paid $35. a ticket for 5 people. I don't think this would be another purchase I would make. For that price, Schlitterbahn is only a few miles further for a full day of fun.

Helpful?
Thank Crizty_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow, what a great discovery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We toured both sides of the caverns. Don't miss the newest tour because that was better than the original one.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank stephaniestorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bat Flight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

A really great experience! I took my In-laws when they were here to visit from "Small Town, Texas." It was a very nice family outing. We went in September so the evening was a pleasant 76 degrees. The drive is an easy gravel road. Web site indicates high learance vehicles recommended. But it's not required. The road is well maintained. Wear comfortable shoes you have to walk a gravel road a short distance. It's not half a mile as the website indicates. It's more like a hundred yards. Take some binoculars so you can watch the hawks that are circling trying to catch some bat dinner. It's a beautiful place. It's set up like a rugged amphitheater. There are benches but you can also sit on different levels of large rocks. We arrived at the cave about 6:45pm. The well-versed guide did a very interesting presentation on bats. Then about 7:05 the bats started flying out. Watch for a few Albino bats. They look like cotton balls with wings. We left the cave at approximately 7:45pm. It was getting too dark to see anything. The guide said that it takes about three and a half hours for all the bats(six million) to leave the cave. Our eleven and our nine year olds really enjoyed it. As did we all. Teens might get bored after five minutes or so. At least the teens that were in our tour group did. That's when they started giggling, playing with their phones and doing everything but watching the bats. A little distracting since you're supposed to be very quiet so as not to disturb the bat flight. But all-in-all a great experience. I highly recommend it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seahawk39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bracken Bat Flight, Texas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This summer I went on the Bracken Bat Flight Cave tour. It was amazing! It runs May thru Sept. It is home to the largest Bat Colony. You can purchase your tickets on line they run $24.99 per person and worth it. You will meet up at the Natural Bridge Caves and caravan out to the Bat Caves at dusk. They have a seating area and millions of bats come out to feed. No you are not in any danger of having a bat come up to you! They have a guild who tells you about everything going on and the history of the bats. You will take a small walk on a trail to the top of the cave to get a better view of the bats coming out. It looks like a ribbon this is something you will never forget and you can take pictues. Make the time to check this out...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural Bridge Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Natural Bridge Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing